We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beehive

The Beehive
Ranked #1 of 263 Restaurants in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a Wonderful place to dine! You can eat a wonderful salmon plate or even a chicken fried steak!! The food is great and the service is impeccable!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexasBlingJeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    93
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Fried Steak in Town”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

There are a lot of great things to eat at Beehive, from their lamb to the Beef Oscar, but if you are a chicken fried steak lover, this is the best one in Abilene. The service is great, the owners are present and friendly, and the atmosphere is good for casual dining or date night. Plus, it's only a block or two away from the Civic Center and the Historic Paramount Theatre, two of Abilene's best attractions.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpchristianson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing Service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had heard many wonderful things about this restaurant. Totally agree. Food is excellent! Unfortunately we were introduced with a waiter that probably needs to more training. We had to ask another waiter about specials of the day. Our original waiter never told us choices in salads. I also over heard the other waiter recommending Caesar Salad. Disappointing to see all good posts and experience the horrible service. Would go back again though!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went for an early dinner so the place was quiet. The waiter was very informative, the wine and beer selection was excellent. The portions are rather large so, I shared my dinner. Price was a little steep, but the steak was a great memory.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“favorite place”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We try to go there at least once a week since it opened several years ago and not one time have I been disappointed in the food or service. Great place!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smartin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing