We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better the second time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites University
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights while dropping our son off at university for the semester. We choose this hotel because we had such a nice experience here in May. This trip was no different. The manager, Mary, even remembered our names and welcomed us back! She was obviously busy, but took a few minutes to speak to us, and to ask my son about his classes. Such personal, dedicated service is so refreshing! The entire staff is great, and the hotel is clean and nicely decorated. We will certainly be back again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

My first time to stay at this Sleep Inn and Suites. What a great surprise! Very clean and open lobby...extremely friendly and helpful check-in person...exceptionally clean rooms and lobby...my family had 2 rooms and this was a fantastic choice. I would highly recommend the Sleep Inn and Suites in Abilene.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stopped because we try to use Choice Hotels whenever possible, they have a great rewards program and this place looked pretty new. I was kinda looking forward to the cool showers that I've seen in other Sleep Inns that I've been to but this one had the tub/shower combo which was ok. It was very clean and nice. We had a nice quiet stay.
There are a couple things they need to work on. One is the laundry part. There was a washer and dryer but couldn't find laundry soap. A sign in the laundry area said "You can purchase laundry soap in the vending machines on the 1st & 3rd floors" So I went to both...there was none. Actually on the 3rd floor there wasn't even any vending or ice machines as the sign stated!
Other then that it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thenewhalfofme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel is very new and located right on I-20. The lobby when you walk in is very clean and the staff were very helpful. However, the first room we checked into the room was not very clean and we asked to be changed. They were quick to resolve the issue. The 2nd room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There are few things they need to work on - the walls are very thin, we could hear our neighbor snoring; the pool area had trash and dirty towels that needed to be picked up and we were there 2 days & it was still there when we left.

We had to check out early to get back home and they offered us a discount for the 2nd day, which was AWESOME as this never happens.

I do wish they would give this new property a little TLC and make it great....so I'm curious to see what others think.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetterwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

All staff friendly - woman running breakfast top notch. Morning front staff knowledgeable and cheerful. Evening staff friendly, but had her laptop out and turned up, which I found rude.

The rooms are wonderful! They are clean and smell nice. The shower was different, but fun.

A lovely little place to stop, especially since they were busy and we encountered no true problems.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed for two days at the Sleep Inn on I-20 in Abilene, TX while we were having construction work done on our home. This is a newer hotel, with a sign on the side of the 3-story hotel that says "Now Open." However, if some attention isn't paid to maintenance and cleaning issues, the hotel will not continue to look new for long.

First, the positives: The staff was very kind. The location is convenient to I-20, ACU, HSU and Hendrick Medical Center. I loved the large, tiled walk-in shower.

Now the negatives: The deadbolt on my door was very finicky, and it took quite a bit of fiddling with it to make it work. There were large, inky-blank handprints on the upholstered bench in my room. That made me wonder if other areas of my room were dirty, so I removed the bedspread and left it in the floor. The bed was flat and squishy - not what I would have expected in a newer hotel. The sheets are cheap. The electrical outlet above the desk was not anchored to the wall and instead hung out from the wall by the wiring. Bathroom needed mopping, and the bathroom door was hung improperly so that there wasn't enough clearance between the bottom of the door and the floor - it couldn't be opened all the way. The layout of the bathroom was odd, with the bathroom door (if it would have opened all the way) blocking access to the shower. I wasn't able to log on to the wifi network. Check out took forever and I never got a printed receipt or the promised email receipt. There was an odd odor in the hallway and I couldn't get past the thought that I was sleeping in a place that wasn't very clean.

You get what you pay for. Pay a little more and stay across the interstate, a couple of exits down, or near the mall area - there are several other better hotel options in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abibh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I actually stayed at the Sleep Inn on Danville Rd in Abilene but that location does not come up TA. I checked in after a long day of driving and the y behind the desk was helpful and quick. Room was clean. breakfast was good.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
Thank Mrjimcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#12 of 37 in Abilene
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Regional Medical Center
6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#16 of 37 in Abilene
164 reviews
6.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Abilene
Candlewood Suites Abilene
#24 of 37 in Abilene
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University

Address: 250 Killough Cove, Exit 286, Abilene, TX 79601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Price Range: $70 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites University hotel in Abilene, Texas near Abilene Christian UniversityPerfect for both business and leisure travelers alike, the Sleep Inn & Suites® University hotel provides warm and inviting accommodations close to many area attractions. The surrounding area offers many recreation opportunities and outdoor areas where you can enjoy golfing, hiking, biking and horseback riding. A number of entertainment venues, movie theaters and shopping malls are nearby. Ranging from fast food to family-friendly, area restaurants offer something for every taste and budget.Business travelers staying at this Texas hotel will welcome additional conveniences like a business center, and access to copy and fax service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing