We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special, Overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abilene Seafood Tavern

Abilene Seafood Tavern
Ranked #166 of 260 Restaurants in Abilene
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing special, Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I ate here and more than likely won't come back. The inside is dark and gloomy with the typical nautical decor. The hostess and server seemed to be going through the motions, not really going out of their way. The food was average and I felt it was overpriced for what you got. Disappointing.

Helpful?
2 Thank Walkingzombie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were just in this evening. My family was in the mood for seafood, so we decided to check it out. The food was really good, my husband and I had the lobster bisque, wonderful flavor!! We also had the beer battered shrimp and my daughter had crab legs. Needless to say, there was nothing left on our plates! The service was also to par, Rachel was our waitress and she was excellent! When we go through Abilene again, we will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubblytdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This Restaurant is a Hidden Gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is a delightful surprise! They have great food, friendly staff, the owner is 'hands on' much of the time and their prices are very reasonable, especially at lunchtime. Great atmosphere and an overall enjoyable dinner out!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No Thanks to Seafood in Abilene”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The atmosphere was gloomy, the food was frozen I ordered a steak medium and it was well, but you can tell it was frozen when they cooked it. The bread was burnt, the only decent thing was the lobster bisque.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place was such a nice surprise! The lunches are excellent and we liked the dinner too. The food tastes good and is well prepared. I love the look of the restaurant, very cozy and tavern looking. The menu has a wide selection of seafood and drink options and the prices are good. Our servers seemed a little overworked but I know a lot of places are short handed. I am so happy to have another quality seafood place in Abilene.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abilene Seafood Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Abilene Seafood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing