We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eh it was ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Abilene Mall
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“eh it was ok”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

i was told before check in that i would be guaranteed a room at 1pm. when i arrived at almost 230 i still didnt have a room ready. i had also asked ahead of time to get a first floor room and that was available either. the hotel wasnt full or anything. but the staff was very nice and did feel bad so that was a plus. i have stayed at many hotels in my day and i felt like this one was lacking something....i feel as if it needed some kind of managers reception or something to make it stand out a little bit...anyways, i probably wont be staying at this one again, nothing horribly wrong, ill just check out another hotel next time when im traveling through this area....(which i always am)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennsastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    66
    36
    18
    5
See reviews for
94
56
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Very nice motel. Everything seemed new. Suite was large with comfortable bed and sofa. Desk and chair were also comfortable. Large flat screen TV. Didn't try the breakfast but saw that it was more than most offer. Front desk was outstanding when we arrived very late, and noticed the person in breakfast area was also doing a good job the next morning.
Good grassy area for walking dog and very pet friendly.
I thought the area was safe and convenient. Pool appeared very clean. Very pleased with this location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

This is what you would expect from a new La Quinta suites property. Rooms were nicely done and beds were comfortable with good linens. The free wireless was fast and easy to access. Fitness room was pretty limited. Location is good, near the mall and several restaurants. We stayed here twice in February, once planned and once as a result of the ice storm. Monica and Paresh, the manager and GM, couldn't have been more welcoming when we arrived in the ice storm, giving us cookies and bottles of water. We did have a fire alarm go off in the middle of the night when the pipes to the sprinkler system burst but it was all handled very well and we were able to return to our rooms fairly quickly.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saqsaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, ok
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

This new La Quinta is what one expects in new La Quinta. Center Hall entrance and very nice accomidations. Although not quite the luxury feel of Wingate by Wyndham next door I stay here anyway because it has all teh same amenities but I have a La Quinta credit card and more likely than not I usually have enough points for a free stay. Besides it is also right close to Rosa's Cafe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_phil_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

This new La Quinta is close to the Abilene mall area so there are restaurants and shopping near by (not within walking distance though). Right across the parking lot is a Wingate and across the street is a transmission shop. I'm not sure if I would feel safe walking around the neighborhood at night alone.

I checked in, requested and was given a larger room. The room was very nice with hardwood (probably faux) in the entry and bath. The bath had granite counters and shower surround. The bed was comfortable and the room had a fridge and microwave. The larger room had a sofa, chair and ottoman, and work desk. The tv was flat screen and located centrally in room. It was mounted high on a wall so it can be uncomfortable to watch after a while.
Because this is a new property, there were some issues with our room: the light fixture in the entryway was missing the glass cover, the ceiling mounted light fixture in the bath did not turn on, the tv shut itself off and the only way it turned on again was by unplugging and replugging into outlet. The weather was fairly mild during our visit but I'm not the a/c was sufficient to keep the room cool. However since it was not hot, it was comfortable enough for us.
The breakfast is limited continental: waffles, couple cold cereal selections, yogurt, oatmeal packets, bread, bagels, bananas. They had a good selection of teas. The fitness center was limited to a treadmill, bike and a two weight machines. There was no tv in the room.
The place seemed pretty empty when we were there and the service was good. Besides the upgraded room, we requested and were also given a late check out (although our cards quit working and we needed to have them re-keyed). It is a good place to stay with dogs because there is not pet fee.
I requested a first floor room because we were traveling with our dogs and was told there were only 6 rooms on the first floor and the second floor was the designated pet floor where they routinely did extra cleaning. However, we met some fellow travelers with a dog that were in a first floor room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
6.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
0.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
1.2 mi away
MCM Elegante Suites
MCM Elegante Suites
#15 of 37 in Abilene
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abilene
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Abilene
Hampton Inn Abilene
#4 of 37 in Abilene
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Abilene Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Abilene Mall

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Abilene Mall
Address: 3018 Catclaw Dr, Abilene, TX 79606-1500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Abilene Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Abilene Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing