We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend in Abilene” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Abilene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Abilene
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend in Abilene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The whole family enjoyed our stay here! I love newer hotels that are cleaned & maintained nicely and this one fit the bill. Nice amenities like newspapers in the lobby and an outdoor pool that is actually usable in cooler temps because it's heated! Even though our rooms were supposed to be next to each other, we were placed on different floors. One of our rooms was on the first floor and was close to a room where people must have been cooking (was probably delicious, but not enjoyable to smell it all evening & still the next morning!) This is the down side to staying in an extended stay hotel, but having the full kitchen in our room was wonderful! There were no offensive odors upstairs at all - our room was perfect! Breakfast was delicious, but there was not enough seating for everyone at all (it was a busy weekend.) Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okieqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darla Y, General Manager at Residence Inn Abilene, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at the Abilene Residence Inn. We hope to have you return again soon. Thank you for letting our future guests know what to expect when choosing the Residence Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    70
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
123
56
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

At first I was skeptical of all the 5 star (or dot) reviews, but I got a decent deal and wanted to treat the family to a nice place on the last night of our spring break vacation, so I pulled the trigger on Expedia for $129. Part of the reason for spending a couple of hours more on the road, was the ridiculous prices for rooms in Midland-Odessa as mentioned by someone else. We got a room with a king bed and sleeper sofa for the kids. The only disappointment was that there was no divider between the sleeping areas, as shown in one of the room pictures. Room was very nicely decorated and extremely clean (even the grout in the shower was unnaturally clean). My wife mentioned that she could "live here", which is an unusual comment for her. A very rare treat was a large, outdoor heated pool! This is a VERY rare treat and the kids loved it. Usually a heated pool means some sort of little indoor hothouse. Also has a basketball court. This place is also pet friendly, but we saw no evidence of soiling from animals anywhere. Breakfast was great. Waffles with whipped cream and fruit compote, granola yogurt parfaits, fresh pineapple, scrambled eggs and Canadian bacon, etc. Keep up the good work! Would almost (just almost) plan a trip to Abilene just to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SL418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alecia L, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Abilene, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy that we were able to make your family's Spring Break more enjoyable. We would love to have you back to relax and enjoy anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have stayed here several times since last August. The staff has always gone above and beyond in every way.. The hotel is cleaner & more accomodating even than other, more expensive hotels.
Gretchen, Jackie & everyone have always been pleasant and taken care of my every need.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darla Y, General Manager at Residence Inn Abilene, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay at the Residence Inn while in Abilene. We strive to do our very best and then some, so that our guests will look forward to returning. We are proud of Gretchen and Jaki for showing awesome hospitality during your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Every member of the staff we met was helpful and pleasant. Our room was a corner studio king with two large windows. The bed was comfortable but softer than we liked. The kitchen was stocked so we where able to prepare a home cooked meal for ourselves. The outdoor pool was heated, but the weather was too cold and stormy to use it. It was nice to have a social hour with complimentary wine or beer, soup, sandwich and salad. The breakfast was one of the best we have had in a hotel of this price point. I am happy we stayed in Abilene.at this hotel.


We ended up in Abilene because we could not locate a hotel further west in Midland, Big Spring or Odessa for anything less than $250 for a standard room that would normally cost $80-90 anywhere else. Do to the oil boom and all the oil workers using the hotel in that area they have jacked up all the rates, and stick it to average travel.

This Residence Inn in Abilene was a good choice for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadDogs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darla Y, General Manager at Residence Inn Abilene, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We enjoyed having you part of our Residence Inn family and will miss having you around! Good luck with your relocation and we wish the very best for you in your endeavors. Come have dinner with us again soon! Thanks a million!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Made me feel right at home & relaxed. Every interaction was with courtesy, kindness & professionalism. The complimentary breakfasts & dinners are excellent ! Especially liked the belgian waffles in the shape of the state of Texas. lol! I'm relocating from Az to go back & finish my college degree & the staff was sooo helpful in giving me referrals & advice! I've been here now for over 30 days & am checking out today, so I've had the opportunity to see this place & it's staff over a long period of time and I would unquestionably recommend this hotel as one of the best places you can stay -anywhere! View from one side overlooks picturesque pastures & farm houses (think currier & ives) and the other side offers a spectacular view of the city. Can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: -Rooms are extremely quiet. Choosing a one bedroom eliminates the cycling on & off of the refri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darla Y, General Manager at Residence Inn Abilene, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Wow, it is with great pleasure to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for spending the time to write about your experience so that other potential guests will know what to expect when choosing the Residence Inn Abilene. We hope to have you back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is amazing ie..immaculate upkeep, friendly staff, delicious food (included at no addl. charge) and overall superb service! I stayed only one night on business and didn't want to leave.. Yes, it is just that comfortable! I am 100% certain that no other hotel will do but the Residence Inn Marriott Abilene for all my future visits. Thank u immensely for making my first visit to Texas a memorable one!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Avis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darla Y, Manager at Residence Inn Abilene, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We appreciate your kind words about your recent experience while our guest at the Residence Inn Abilene. On behalf of the entire staff and management, we want to say you are a key ingredient to our success! Thank goodness we have awesome guests such as you! Please come back and see us real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My daughter is a student at a nearby university and we were visitng her for an event. We have stayed here before and were very pleased with the space, cleanliness, and the staff.
Enjoyed having the kitchen to prepare a home cooked meal for our daughter. The road construction makes it a little tricky getting to the hotel when arriving from the west. We had to cut thru the lowe's parking lot and then the wrong way thru the Wendy's parking lot to even check in or park each night.
We love this property and have stayed numerous times , but were disappointed they raised their prices "special event" for this weekend - felt like I was in NYC instead of Abilene, Texas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side away from the interstate seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvtotravellinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darla Y, General Manager at Residence Inn Abilene, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you staying with us while in Abilene. We are glad you feel it is your home away from home. I am sorry about the citywide event going on during your stay making discounts not available. Hopefully next time you are able to enjoy the ACU special rate if it is available. We hope to have you and your daughter back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
6.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Abilene Northeast
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Abilene
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Abilene Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Abilene

Property: Residence Inn Abilene
Address: 1641 E Musgrave Blvd, Abilene, TX 79601-2140 (Formerly Residence Inn Marriott Abilene)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abilene
#4 Business Hotel in Abilene
#8 Family Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Abilene 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Marriott Abilene Hotel Abilene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing