We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was pleasant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Abilene
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    120
    84
    51
    29
See reviews for
227
89
40
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andrews, TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

My experience was not bad at all, but based on the previous reviews, I was disappointed, so my review is going to explain why I wasn't impressed.

Here are the things that were less than desirable:
- The lid to the ice bucket was filthy. It looked like it had mold on it. I left it face up and unavoidable (I thought) so the housekeeper would clean it. It was ignored.
- There weren't enough towels in the room, and similarly, there weren't enough towels by the hot tub (only 2 both places).
- I asked at the front desk for the room safe to be unlocked. I explained that I was leaving, but that it was fine for them to go in and unlock it so that I could use it that night. They called me several hours later to ask if they had my permission to enter the room to unlock the safe. I assured them they did. When I returned to the room, the safe was still locked.
- The cordless phone was beeping and displaying a message that the battery was bad. I just unplugged it and reported it before I left.
- The door to the room was very hard to open and close. I had to throw my shoulder into it. Kind of ridiculous.
- Lastly, on the second night, there was an unpleasant smell in the bathroom.

It was a comfortable and spacious room, though, with nice furniture. Good location. The breakfast was good, and at the times I went, there was adequate seating.

I got this room through a blind booking on Hotwire for $75, so it was satisfactory. Otherwise, having stayed several times each at the Hampton, Fairfield, and Hilton Garden Inns in this immediate area, I would always choose the Hampton for most consistently good stays.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXsandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingatebyWyndham1, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Abilene, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
I want to apologize to you for your unpleasant experience. Your comments helped us develop a more complete system in managing the housekeeping and maintenance service. I assure you that if you would be kind enough to give us one more chance you will see the difference a couple of words made to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife and I arrived in Abilene late (around Midnight), after a fairly long trip from Texarkana. We had difficulty locating the hotel, so I called the hotel to ask for directions. I admit that I was feeling tired and irritable, but the hotel employee wasn't helpful with the directions. Once we arrived at the hotel and came to the front desk, we waited a bit, and then she appeared. She brushed the crumbs off of her shirt and apologized that she was just eating.
My wife and I didn't feel that she was very pleasant. In the hotel room, we noticed scuff marks on the walls. It appeared like the room had been treated roughly by former guests. The next morning, we noticed that the breakfast area had a limited amount of food available. It appeared that the staff tries to be a little stingy with the food items. The TV was playing loudly and I asked the hotel attendant from the breakfast area to turn down the volume. I admit that I didn't ask pleasantly, but the attendant was also sour in her reply. When she turned the volume down, another of the guests complained sharply that the volume is not loud enough for her to hear. When the attendant said that another guest asked for it to be turned down, she replied, "whatever." Admittedly, my mood could have been better, but the hotel staff could have treated us better as well. Especially for the nightly rate charged by this hotel chain. We will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingatebyWyndham1, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Abilene, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
I apologize for the way that you were treated while staying at our hotel. It has been a month of training and trimming the staff so that your experience would never be experienced again. Thank you for you honesty and I would like to assure you that if given a chance the Wingate By Wyndham would love to redeem ourselves to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Spent a night here while on the road. Very nice hotel! Great decor, Very large room, with sitting area, and microwave and frig in the room, indoor hot tub, nice looking outdoor pool. Nice breakfast area with good free breakfast. Very accommodating staff, who recommended restaurants to walk to, including one that gave free appetizer with a room key from the hotel. They also had a small "store" with frozen meals that could be used in the microwave in the lobby or in your room. Although we only stayed one night due to travel, I could easily have been happy staying longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDH_AustinTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingatebyWyndham1, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Abilene, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that your family enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
1.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Suites
MCM Elegante Suites
#15 of 37 in Abilene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
6.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Abilene
6.6 mi away
Residence Inn Abilene
Residence Inn Abilene
#5 of 37 in Abilene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Abilene Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
Address: 3010 Catclaw Dr, S.Clack St, Abilene, TX 79606-1500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Abilene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Abilene Hotel Abilene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing