We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful hotel,Shame for the pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Abilene
Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel,Shame for the pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

It's a beautiful place and exterior as interior looks very nice and new.
Room is very nice and cosi ,lovely decorated.
Bathroom also perfect with very good showerhead.
Breakfast also ok , but nothing special.
But then they lose points with the pool.
What a disaster!!! The pool is very cold ,full with sand and stinks.The outside Spa is GREEN,discusting.The inside Spa didn't work.
What a shame,get this fixed and you'll probebly have the best value for money hotel in Abilene.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cossieguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingatebyWyndham1, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Abilene, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
I'm very sorry that our pool was not up to it's regular standards. The city of Abilene usually closes all of the pools right after Labor Day. Due to the unusal cold and warm temperatures we were in the process of closing our pool for the season when you came to stay with us. Once again I'm very sorry that you had to see our pool not in it's superb glory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    107
    78
    43
    26
See reviews for
209
82
38
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at several hotels in the area. Found the one what will be my hotel of chioce for all my future business travels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUSTANG
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We enjoyed ourselve. Great place to stay. My son really loved the breakfast. He enjoyed the waffle maker.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank DAVID D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at the Wingate in Abilene for the first time. The lobby and staff were very impressive and made us feel we had made the right choice in hotels. We only stayed one night but it was nice. When we arrived in our suite it was extremely hot. The A/C was not on. The living room cooled nicely but the bedroom was hovering around 90degrees. We called the front desk and Zach came to our room within minutes and fixed the unit. He stayed until he was sure the room was cooling down. We were pleased with how prompt and thorough Zach was. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spotless and the service was great. Thanks Wingate for a good night's rest. I'll recommend you to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallsville, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hi we are from East Texas and every Labor Day weekend we travel to West Texas to go bird hunting as well as other times thru out the year due to family there.. in the past we have stayed at several different hotels... but for the last couple of years now we have stayed at your Wingate in Abilene Texas.. we usually get anywhere from 3-6 rooms when we come.. i would just like to let you know the staff at this hotel is one of the best we have encountered... Marty the manager always is happy to accomadate us in whatever we need..my mother requires the handicap room and she just loves it... the staff are all so nice and friendly and because of this is why we will continue to use the Wingate whenever we travel to Abilene Texas..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
1.3 mi away
MCM Elegante Suites
MCM Elegante Suites
#20 of 39 in Abilene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
6.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Abilene
Hampton Inn Abilene
#4 of 39 in Abilene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Abilene Mall
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Abilene
Candlewood Suites Abilene
#24 of 39 in Abilene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Abilene

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
Address: 3010 CatClaw Drive, S.Clack St, Abilene, TX 79606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Abilene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Abilene Hotel Abilene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing