We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Barbecue”
Review of Up In Smoke BBQ - CLOSED

Up In Smoke BBQ
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Russellville, KY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The barbecue is excellent with several choices of pulled & sliced. They offer numerous sides from which you serve yourself. There were also appealing desserts, which we were unable to sample because of the generous entree. The restaurant is not fancy & is somewhat in a rural area just off I-35, but the employees were very friendly and welcoming. If you are traveling & want an abundant meal for a very reasonable price, you will be very pleased.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had stopped several times when it was the Turkey Shop and made our way around Abbott to get to it due to construction. Cafeteria style line service was friendly but the food was disappointing. Part of my wife's brisket was so tough she choked on it. My sausage was good, as was the spicy sauce, but the brisket was poor by Texas standards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomRuthWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned Texas BBQ”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Visiting from California. This place was the Turkey Shop when I was a young man. Now it is really good BBQ. There are good BBQ places down around Austin but the farther north you go they are hard to find. This place is not a fancy place with whiskey sauce or that black stuff that looks like motor oil for sauce. Up in smoke is near Abbott, Texas right off the I 35. The beef melts in your mouth-tender. Sausage is very good. Try the beans. Sauce is mild or you can get the hooter one. This is the kind of barbeque I ate as a kid. Real Texas and hard to find this good even in Texas. Prices are very, very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth BBQ”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The signs going south from Dallas made us hungry and luckily it was lunch time. The drive through the construction to get to the other side of the highway was worth it. Very plain, nothing fancy, but very clean and inviting. Staff very friendly and helpful. Several locals there ( including fire fighters supporting the fallen fire fighters from nearby West). The brisket melts in your mouth with the tasty spicy BBQ sauce. Good selection of sides -- our fav was the pea salad -- hadn't had pea salad in ages. Wish we would have brought a pound or two of that BBQ home with us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KDG_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talihina
Level Contributor
344 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not bad Bar B Q”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I have ate here 3 times in the last 2 months and found their food consistently good with a wide variety of sides. ( get the jalapeño brown beans ) road const makes it more difficult to find when going south. No wait staff so you stand in line and order from food bar then get your own drinks and refills.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 182p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up In Smoke BBQ also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing