We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Breakfast in a Down Home atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Down Home Cafe - CLOSED

Down Home Cafe
Cuisines: Diner, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Atoka, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast in a Down Home atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The restaurant visually looks run down and very dated- Inside not much difference, but their breakfast is very good and pretty quick too! Very reasonably priced. I have never been for lunch or dinner, but looks like it would be very good based on the dry erase menu board.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandidale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sounthern Eating That's Finger Licking Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

If you really want Mama's southern cooking, go to Down Home Café. Really it is a small place that is dated but the food is tops. We have gone there twice in a day. The daily menu is listed on a dry erase board and changes as food items are depleted. So go early for the best selection. They do have a menu to order from but why use that when the specials are great! The desserts are out of the world delicious! Their breakfast menu is certainly full of traditional favorites. this is one of our favorite place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shay_Shay70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Never again will I take my kids to eat at this place.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The family wanted to go out for breakfast so my husband suggested this place. From the outside in this restaurant was Nasty! The food that did arrive at our table was cold and burnt. I love to support local business / family business but I just can't say I will ever be back to this one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
394 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Good Comfort Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We tried Down Home Cafe several years ago, and while the food was good, the place was smoky and seemed dirty so we hadn't been back for a long time.
Now that the place is non-smoking we tried it again. We are glad we did. They have great breakfasts including omelets and other egg dishes. Since it is no longer smokey, it seemed much cleaner. This place is definitely worth a shot if you are in the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jcstich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atoka, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I Didn't Know What to Expect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My father and I decided to go somewhere we hadn't been before. We both ordered hamburgers, so I cannot give an opinion on other items on the menu. However, the hamburgers were fantastic! The place isn't somewhere you go due to the inviting appearance. In fact, it is old, unpainted and just "there". The interior is the same. But, it stayed quite busy while we were there, with "regulars". It was fun to watch the interaction of the people. If you want to go to a small-town cafe, this is the place to go.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DLavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down Home Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing