We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating, but clean with great service”

Americas Best Value Inn Athens
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Athens
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Rooms need basic remodeling, but everything was clean and the service was great both times I stayed there. Really enjoyed checking in and getting lots of local info from Sherry at the desk! Overall, a really great stay for the price.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has no walking noise, 1st floor has a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviathens, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Athens, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Tiffany771,

On behalf of the staff of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to personally thank you for sharing a review with us. Sorry for taking so long to respond. I am glad that you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly service. That is what separates us from the rest!


Regards,
Sherri,
Americas Best Value Inn-Athens, TN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed at this motel for 15 months and was treated very well. Never had a hard time with any problems. Everyone there was helpful. Would stay there again if working in that area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalteRMIDDLETON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviathens, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Athens, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Dear Walt,

Thank you for sharing a review with us. We are so pleased to have you as our guest. If you should ever return to the area, we would love to have you stay with us again.


Kindest Regards,
Sherri-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Athens, TN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

we stayed there last sun night , ,we got the room food and drinks in fridge from before ,not 1 towel ,matreses are brown ,we ask night shift for an extra sheet ,they said they werent allowed giving extra ,we had to use our own toilet paper ,very rude service stayer BEWARE

Room Tip: Dont stay here ,we had to keep lights on all night to keep critters away ,thought we seen a roach re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shandam911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviathens, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Athens, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Dear Shanda M,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. I am sorry to hear about the negative experience you encountered during your stay. Please know that all complaints will be further investigated and the appropriate action taken. We hope that give us another opportunity to serve you.


Regards,
Sherri-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Athens TN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

America's Best value Inn in Athens, Tennessee is an affordable and modest motel. Nothing fancy, just clean. It is a good value but what puts it over the edge is Sherry the night desk clerk! She makes you feel at home! I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good value on a budget or if you just don't want to spend a lot of money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear D R,

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service. We hope that you stay with us again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns across the Country.

Regards,
Sherri-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Athens TN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I know alot of guys staying here due to the construction work in this area....i am writing this on their behalf.....AS STATED ON WEBSITE...they have a pool...ITS BROKEN...they have a laundrymat on premises....NO THEY DONT....roaches are in the rooms....the continental breakfast is.... COFFEE AND SNACK...THATS IT...lady at front desk is very rude....microwave went out in room...replaced with a much smaller one....THE FRIDGE WENT OUT IN ONE ROOM...ONE GUY LOST ALL HIS FOOD....owners will do nothing about this at all.....THE PLACE SMELLS REALLY REALLY BAD...OTHER REVIEWS ON GOOGLE MAPS SHOWS ITS KNOWN FOR METH LABS...BUT NOT REALLY SURE OF THIS...JUST A REVIEW I READ....DONT STAY HERE...IT MAY BE CHEAP BUT ITS NASTY.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bamagirl7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherri H, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Athens, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

We are sorry this guest had a less than perfect stay. We strive to maintain our property in a neat and clean manner. We hope this guest will stay with us soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Torn curtains, holes everywhere..in furniture, in rugs, in bedspread, in door, walls, you name it! Stunk to high heaven. Thin sheets, pillowcase had to be replaced on request. Drunks staying in other rooms...If I hadn't been so tired I would have RUN...YOU DO THE SAME>>>RUN...LEAVE SKIDMARKS!!! DO NOT STAY HERE> AHHHHHHH!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baltimoremd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Athens
2 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#6 of 11 in Athens
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scottish Inns Athens
Scottish Inns Athens
#7 of 11 in Athens
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 11 in Athens
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Athens
Motel 6 Athens
#5 of 11 in Athens
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Athens
Super 8 Athens
#4 of 11 in Athens
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Athens

Address: 2808 Decatur Pike, Athens, TN 37303-6901
Location: United States > Tennessee > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $49 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn welcomes you to Athens, Tennessee, known as the "Friendly City". Nestled in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains, Athens offers a southern hospitality that grew during the years when it was a small agricultural center. For the adventurous, we are a short drive from the Smokey Mountain Cherahola Skyway and the famous Dragon Back, boasting more hairpin turns than any other 13 mile stretch of road in the United States. Nearby is the Fort Loudoun State Historic Area which provides a glimpse of life during the time of the French and Indian War. The historic park also offers hiking, boating, fishing, picnicking, and special events. Our hotel is also near the Tennessee Wesleyan College, Rhea County Courthouse (famous for the Scopes monkey trial), and McMinn County Living Heritage Museum. The Congress Crossing Mall, Galaxy Skate Center, and Classic Lanes Bowling are also minutes from our hotel. Local restaurants include Captain D's Seafood, Ming Dynasty Chinese Restaurant, Papa John's, Ruby Tuesday, and Waffle House.Start your day with our free continental breakfast available daily from 6:30am - 9:30am. Breakfast items include donuts, orange juice, and coffee. Enjoy a family barbecue in our picnic area. Appreciate the convenience of our vending machine, and ice machine. Our front desk and lobby are open 24 hours/day. Pets are welcome for a daily charge of $5 per pet. Rest easy in our spacious guest rooms with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, cable TVs with HBO, mini-fridges, hairdryers, and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Athens, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing