We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trrrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hampton Inn Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Athens
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“trrrible hotel”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stay at this hotel frequently. The quality, smell, food, fitness area and overall experience each time are awful. If there were better choices in the area id use them. For a "Hilton" property, this specific location rates at the bottom of the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    86
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
91
108
27
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel was great. Diane at the front desk was our decisive factor in choosing this hotel. The pool was wonderful. The breakfast was good and the staff throughout the hotel were friendly and very accommodating. The rates were comparable with other hotels until Diane asked for AARP, AAA, etc. We were able to actually get a cheaper room. It was a great trip. This was my husband's first time at a Hampton Inn and he was very impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willard, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great staff! Very clean, up-to-date lobby! Rooms could use an upgrade- the carpet in our room was stained pretty bad and the bathroom needed new molding along the bath tub. However, our overall experience was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very noisy with the baseball teams there. The doors shake the room when they close. I could not get the room I had reserved. The front desk staff seemed very untrained (maybe they were all new). The location is god as it is close to the Interstate and there are places to eat nearby. With the proper training and some in house issues changed this could be a nice hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Cary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Although this hotel had been renovated, you would never guess that. It was extremely clean and comfortable, with modern-style rooms. There were no stains on the carpet and no musty smells. We had a king bed. Wanda checked us in at the desk and was extremely helpful and friendly. The next morning, she was the breakfast lady and was all smiles there, too. We kidded her about being the "Jack-of-all-trades"! Unlike some hotels, where they start cleaning up breakfast 15 minutes before it ends, she was bringing out fresh trays of food and coffee. This was a very stressful time for us, as we stayed on our move from GA to MI. Thanks to Wanda, it made the trip much more enjoyable and less stressful. I would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdklik80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The only issue I had with this property was that there were not queen beds available in the two bed rooms. AS usual, the facilities were very clean and well kept.The desk staff was very friendly and informative, both evening and morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotels exceeded my expectations. I always read reviews before I make reservations at a hotel. Believe me when I say you will be very pleased with this hotel. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was delicious, and above all the hotel was clean and comfortable. Loved the decor and furniture. Very classy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 9 in Athens
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 7 in Sweetwater
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland
Hampton Inn Cleveland
#1 of 23 in Cleveland
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Athens
Days Inn Athens
#7 of 9 in Athens
135 reviews
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sweetwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Athens

Property: Hampton Inn Athens
Address: 1821 Holiday Dr, Athens, TN 37303-4951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Athens Hotel Athens
Athens Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing