We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice if Price is Right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Alcoa
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel does not have enough handicapped rooms; we were not able to get one. The bedroom area was standard. In-room Internet was free. The bathroom was very small; the sink was outside the bathroom. The batteries in the smoke detector died at bedtime; we called the desk and someone soon came and replaced them. The desk attendant was pleasant. The breakfast provided was standard. The lobby was attractive and had adequate space. This hotel is a good choice if it priced significantly lower than competitors such as Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccobb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites, Knoxville Airport. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be your hotel of choice when visiting the Knoxville/Alcoa area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 265 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

we stayed twice here, both coming and going on our vacation. They pick you up at the airport, which was terrific. The rooms were clean and comfortable, offering a fridge and a microwave, as well as continental breakfast, which was good, and free internet, which was also good. The staff was very friendly, and it's right next door to Ruby Tuesdays, where we ate both times, also very good.

Room Tip: very quiet a/c too, and you can't beat the convenience to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites, Knoxville Airport. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be your hotel of choice when visiting the Knoxville/Alcoa area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I expected more and was not very happy with my stay. The room wasn't the cleanest. The shower curtain rod was pulling out of the wall and was ready to fall at any time. They also had a bug problem by the elevator on the main floor. There were ants everywhere. Breakfast was just ok and didn't have nearly enough room for everyone to eat. I won't return to this location in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesley7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I really appreciate your comments,as they help us to see what areas of the hotel operation need improvement. I will investigate and take action to make sure future guests do not experience these problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was about 15 mi off I-40/i-75. Other area properties were booked with youth groups and sports teams. Rate was $15 less than other Country Inn's in area, and stay was quiet and uneventful. Breakfast was standard biscuit, gravy, sausage, apples, oranges, bananas, oatmeal, cereals, etc. Minor complaint was attendant was also housekeeping and kept getting called away, so coffee, OJ, and other items kept running out for others during peak time when we were leaving. Wait for refills looked to be 10-15 minutes at most.

All in all, a good solid stay in clean basic rooms with basic amenities and reasonable breakfast.

Room Tip: Go early for breakfast to avoid peak rush delays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyKampersToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites, Knoxville Airport. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be your hotel of choice when visiting the Knoxville/Alcoa area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Simply put, this place is pretty bad.

I'm a Club Carlson Gold member and found the condition of the room we received to be insulting.

There was about a 12-15" diameter stain on the box spring that looked like a brown vomit color.

TV was the old vacuum style and the remote that accompanied it was hard to use, considering the numbers were printed on the buttons and most of them had rubbed off.

Room smelled very musty. I'm sure the A/C needed to be cleaned.

The bathroom had two toilet paper holders. One was empty and one had 1/4 of the roll remaining. It lasted for a total of three squats between myself (2) and fiance (sorry for calling you out on here, hun).

The hair dryer didn't work. Well, at least we thought it didn't. My fiance ran down to the front desk (flying out soon from TYS) to inform the front desk agent about it. He asked "are you sure it doesn't work; have you tried all the buttons?" Really?!? He came up and tried it. Didn't work. He then took it OUT of the GFCI outlet and plugged it into a normal outlet. Suddenly, it worked. I don't think the fire marshall or OSHA would look kindly upon a nonfunctioning GFCI outlet in a place of business such as this.

If you need the shuttle service (we did), then there could be a big issue. If needed, the front desk agent is the one that drives the van. We requested it at 6am. Being an airport hotel, if I went down to the lobby at 6:05am to request a ride, I would be rather irrate that no one would be back to help me for another 10 minutes. The route they take (due to traffic) to the airport adds a good 6-7 minutes to the commute as opposed to how long it takes on the way back to the hotel. Fortunately, we did not have to wait this morning and didn't wait too long upon pick-up. From reading the other posts, nothing is being done about the driver/desk issue.

Seriously, this is just a bad hotel. The lobby may be nice, but everything else was pretty bad. Avoid it. There are several other hotels in the area in this price range that would have to be better. FWIW, they also own the Candlewood Suites next door. Based on that info, I won't be staying there in the future, either.

Room Tip: Just don't get a room here. That's my only tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrredskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thak you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize for the concerns you had while staying with us. We are in the process of a complete renovation which will include flat screen TV's and new furniture. I'm sorry my staff handled the GFCI outlet situation in a poor, unprofessional manner. I have addressed that with my staff to ensure it does not occur in the future. We take great pride in your loyalty as an elite Club Carlson member. Once again, I apologize we did not meet your standards as what you would expect from a Country Inn & Suites by Carlson. Once our renovations are complete I hope you will visit us again in hopes we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Booked the hotel for 2 nights. Had to wait 20 minutes to get checked in because the front desk clerk was also driving the airport shuttle. When she returned to the hotel she was very nice but was very agitated because she had 4 people waiting to be checked in. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was alright.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Country Inn & Suites, Knoxville Airport. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Picked this hotel for the price & location close to McGhee Tyson airport & because it had a free shuttle. Let me start by saying we really weren't there long so we didn't get the "full" experience, but not overly impressed. Apparently the front desk clerk also drives the airport shuttle so we had to wait about 15 - 20 minutes before we could check in since no one was there! (Really? You can't have one other person in the building as a back up??). The "business center" was really just 2 computers & a printer that didn't work. So much for printing out my boarding passes... The room wasn't bad. Not too big but it did have a microwave & fridge which I always like to have, although we didn't really need it this time. Wasn't crazy about the bathroom sink being out in the room as opposed to actually being in the bathroom; a little strange. No problems with airport shuttle; the airport is literally across the street. Within walking distance if you didn't have to lug around your baggage. Adequate for what we needed but not a place I'd want to spend more than a night or two.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay. I apologize you had to wait to get checked into your room and that you were unable to print your boarding passes as our printer was not working in the business center. Thank you for your feedback, we will use it to fine tune our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alcoa hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Airport
1.9 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#5 of 15 in Alcoa
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Knoxville Airport
0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#10 of 15 in Alcoa
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport

Address: 162 Cusick Rd, Alcoa, TN 37701-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Alcoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Alcoa
Price Range: $75 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport, TN! Find a warm greeting and a comfortable hotel room or suite when you book a stay at this hotel's convenient location near the Pellissipi Parkway in Knoxville, TN. Get out and explore fantastic attractions like the Blount Mansion, the Knoxville Museum of Art and the University of Tennessee-all just minutes away-and take advantage of free 24-hour shuttle service to McGhee Tyson Airport (TYS). Whether you're visiting for a business conference or vacation, you are sure to feel right at home thanks to the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet, rooms with refrigerators and microwaves, and free high-speed Internet access. Ensure yourself an incredible visit to the Knoxville area by booking online today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Carlson, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites, Knoxville Airport
Country Inn & Suites, Knoxville Airport Hotel Alcoa
Country Inn Alcoa
Alcoa Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing