We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for long stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Alcoa
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have stayed here twice now, this time I was with three other coworkers. Our rooms were clean and well appointed. My room was very quiet even though it was next to the elevator. Staff is friendly, attentive and very helpful. Their bed are ultra comfortable. The wireless worked well, which is often not the case at other places we've stayed. I like the kitchen in the room and complimentary guest laundry...
I was praised by my coworkers for finding such a nice place. We will definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobPatNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 103 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is not a fancy place, but it has everything you need and it is very clean. Everything worked, including the little kitchen, the full size refrigerator, the WiFi internet (with a cable option!),I had a wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend this hotel especially if you expect to spend time in Alcoa.

Room Tip: Great Mountain view from third floor back side of the hotel.room 326.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had to move out of our house because of smoke damage and this was one of 2 hotels close to the house that was pet friendly. I called both and made the decision based on my phone conversations with the front desk.

My husband, 2 dogs (not small dogs) and I moved into a double room which is all the insurance would pay for. Shortly after moving in I became ill and was keeping my husband awake. I talked with the manager and he worked to set a price for adjoining rooms that the insurance company would accept.

This hotel has made our little disaster a whole lot easier, much less stressful, and much more restful than it could have been. Without their willingness to work with us it could have been an incredibly miserable couple of weeks.

For the price the rooms are great with a full kitchen. The staff has been helpful and friendly and the manager, Doug, has been very willing to work with us. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Lots of construction types with heavy boots. Stay on upper floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The standard single was much roomier than I"m used to. Bathroom especially, you can take a shower with door open and it doesn't hit you in the back when you step out of it. Also very clean and quiet. The pillows were awesome and could get a good work out on the weight machine in the work-out center.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I recently stayed there for a week. Imagine my surprise when I went and checked out that my rate was changed and I was paying more that what I had reserved the for and was told at check in. The room was ok, not up to IHG standards nd not the cleanest. Some of the staff tried to help but we actually saw the manager yelling and arguing with him. Not real professionsal.
Stay away until they get their act together.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Lynn100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was there on a quick 2 day business stop right before Thanksgiving. Was pleasantly surprised with this Hotel. Rooms were clean, bed was very comfortable, internet was great.
Overall was a good, comfortable stay and will surely stay there again. The staff were attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: I was in King bed room - room 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here 6 nights while awaiting my long-term lease availability. I'm surprised this place is still an ICH group property. It won't be for long. They just don't meet the Intercontinental standards.

Yes, they have updated fixtures, appliances and solid surface counter tops. But it stops there.

My first room was not clean. I couldn't hang my shower towel on the hook provided because the wall beneath was filthy. The once nice ceramic tile floor in the bathroom was growing mold. It's sad really, that they took such a nice property and let it go down hill so fast. They cater to blue collar workers, which is fine by me. But the workers are dirty after a hard day's work, and the staff here just don't wipe down the walls, utensils, etc., after each check out.

There was no water pressure, and it was luke warm at best.

I changed rooms mid-stay in hopes of something better. The second room had a king instead of a queen, but something had soured so badly in there that it was almost not inhabitable. The bathroom wall under the towel hook was just as filthy black as the previous room. They still have "bedspreads". In the second room I moved to, the bedspread was covered in cigarette burn holes! I called to have housekeeping replace it and it took hours. When they did, it was the pattern of the "other" side of the spread. Not sure if they just came in and flipped the spread over or what, but I threw it in the floor where it stayed.

As a platinum priority club member, I always receive so many more amenities at their properties. Not this one. They charged me $1.00 for a toothbrush! Everything there is very cheap. Even the toiletries, what few were provided. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner, as theirs is a single bottle of "shampoo and conditioner in one".

I think this place was bought out and the new owners have cheaped out.

The front staff spend all their time outside smoking. Literally. But at least they're friendly. When the "owner staff" come in to occasionally relieve the local staff at times, the "owner staff" were rude and not accommodating.

I would guess this hotel will soon be some name like Extend-O Suites or the like, because they do not deserve the Candlewood name. They simply don't hold up to the standards necessary.

It's a shame, really. The property is fairly new and was quite nice when developed. Now, the property is being ignored and everything good about it is being ruined by cheapskate owners who could care less about service and cleanliness.

It was a complete waste of my Priority Club reward points. The last night without points cost $90 with tax. What a joke.

I pricelined and got a Best Western for my last three nights for less than half the price. I've never been a big Best Western fan, but boy was I relieved at check-in there. It was like Park Place vs. Baltic Ave. I may have to switch to Choice Hotel rewards from my long-time priority club status after this stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alcoa hotels
1.9 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#5 of 15 in Alcoa
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Knoxville Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#10 of 15 in Alcoa
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa

Address: 176 Cusick Rd, Alcoa, TN 37701-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Alcoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Alcoa
Price Range: $82 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Extended Stay Hotel in Alcoa, TN Searching for a relaxing setting in the Appalachian Mountains with a convenient location near downtown Knoxville? Then look no further than the Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel in Alcoa - Knoxville Airport. Our hotel's amenities include a free shuttle to McGhee Tyson International Airport TYS, also known as the Knoxville Airport. Our hotel's guests enjoy a variety of attractions, from seeing a game at UT's Neyland Stadium to a movie at the Palace Theater and Espresso Bar. For some outdoor fun, try a round of golf at the Pine Lakes Golf Course or a picnic at the Springbrook Park & Duck Pond, the largest park in Alcoa. Our hotel's location is also convenient to the Air National Guard, Alcoa Aluminum, Denso, Coca Cola Bottling Co, Kimberly Clark, the University of Tennessee and other businesses in downtown Knoxville. Business travelers can work efficiently in the 24-hour business center or at each suite's over-sized desk with a speaker phone and free high-speed Internet access. We go beyond other extended stay Alcoa, TN hotels to offer you great amenities, like free laundry facilities, a relaxing pool and a 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable bedding, a 32in TV with a DVD player and a large workspace with free Internet access. A suite awaits you at one of the best pet friendly Knoxville airport hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Knoxville Airport-Alcoa Hotel Alcoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing