We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Think - Elsewhere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites Airport
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Alcoa
Auburn, AL
Level Contributor
266 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Think - Elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The experience started slowly and got worse. Front desk clerk divided time between hiding behind wall and smoking outside. Side entrance door is broken and propped open with a 2x6 block. Then, got stuck on 3rd floor in room with zero wireless. Matress sagged like an olde grey mare. Cool to have phones so old plastic has turned colors and one is completely nonoperational but present for decorative effect. Desk chair reminds you of the matress in that back is completely broken but may just be tribute to low riders. Room appeared decent to start with but reminds me more of a stuffed raccoon that looks life like but you quickly find out that something is wrong.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    31
    18
    10
See reviews for
39
25
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very nice Hotel, friendly staff and they provide a free shuttle to the airport. Room was clean and comfortable the King size bed was just right. We will chose this hotel again especially when we need to fly out of town. This hotel was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is about 3/4 mi (1km) from the airport gate, but only coupla tenths of mile from runway. That said, airplane minimal noise in our room which was on the airport side of bldg.

Although a bit shopworn, the place was clean, mattress fine...and there were 5 pillows on our king bed. Pullout sofa in our room.

Bathroom in the wheelchair-access room had only one sink. Our son and family were down the hall--two sinks, one inside bathrm, one out, if memory serves. His room had two beds plus sleep sofa.

Wi-Fi worked fine.

Pretty lobby area--we relaxed there when youngest kids were napping.

Breakfasts nothing to rave about, nothing to fuss about: they offer make-your-own waffles, either hot eggs/sausage or biscuits and gravy daily, along with bread/muffins for toasting, cold cereals (including raisin bran and corn flakes for those seeking healthier selections), and fresh fruit every day (bananas, oranges, all pretty decent).

The pool area, whilst again showing its age a bit, was clean. We enjoyed hours at the pool with the young grandkids.

The evening staff were warm and friendly. The gal named "Joy" at the front desk was a tad less than eponymously named.

Bunch of fast food and casual dining options within walking distance. The Applebee's there delivered terrific service.

Wheelchair issues: none: grab rails around toilet and in tub/shower. No roll-in shower (frankly, a roll-in shower usually means the whole bathroom is rolling in water! So, it's absence is fine by this wheelchair user!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davioAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you like anything other than a flat pillow, better bring your own. We had a king suite which was very nice with two sinks. One in the full bath and one just outside which allows one person ability to be getting ready if someone else needs the bathroom. It was also nice to have a love-seat to sit in instead of trying to prop up in the bed to watch tv.
My only negative comment would be that some of the front desk staff could use a lesson or two in hospitality. No one at desk when I first arrived and no note or phone to contact anyone. I finally had to yell down the hall to see if I could get someone's attention. Then the gentleman did not give me any info on pool hours or breakfast etc.. I chose to overlook the hospitality issue because the hotel overall was nice. FYI: we did stay at an excellent Country Inn & Suites on Saturday in Cartersville Georgia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGW1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were in town for a class reunion and chose this hotel for its central location to local attractions. Staff was absolutely great. Large clean room with a sofa/sleeper. As with all of our Comfort Suites stays the bed was just right. Beautiful glassed in pool. Breakfast included eggs, meat, oatmeal, and yes grits, biscuits and gravy on Sunday morning. Fruit juice, hot coffee, etc. If you are looking for a great property away from the hustle/bustle in Pigeon Forge, this hotel might be to your liking.

Room Tip: All floors are easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I guess you get what you pay for! The location was good for our purpose, which was attending the Destination Imagination Global Finals Tournament, and getting to and from the UT campus was super easy from this location. There are multiple restaurants in the area and Starbucks across the street, so that was great. Breakfast was fine and my kids liked the blueberry waffles. Kids had fun in the pool, too. However, the hotel is OLD, dirty, and in dire need of a renovation. I think the air conditioning unit in my room was from the 70's! It was super loud and never shut off, because there is no thermostat. I like the layout and very roomy size of our king suite, including nice sized fridge and microwave. I liked having a sink both outside and inside the bathroom. The bed was hard, the water pressure was terrible in our first floor room, carpets need cleaning, wallpaper was peeling in places, and instead of replacing it, they simply painted the toilet SEAT! The tub had been painted, also. Staff was obviously at a bare bones level, including housekeeping staff, which was plainly obvious from looking around the hotel, as well as when you went to look for assistance from someone. And, no, you can not hear any planes or road noise from the hotel. It served our purpose and was economical. But, I will not stay here again until renovations are done.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasMomOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I travel alot and use the Choice Hotels very often. By far, Comfort Suites, Alcoa is my favorite.
The owners and kind and helpful and I really am pleased with the whole staffs customer service. I always look forward to seeing them when I come to town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knoxgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alcoa hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Airport
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#6 of 15 in Alcoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Knoxville Airport Alcoa
0.8 mi away
Hilton Knoxville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Airport

Property: Comfort Suites Airport
Address: 140 Cusick Rd., Alcoa, TN 37701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Alcoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Alcoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alcoa
Alcoa Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing