We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super clean, nice upgraded room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport)
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Alcoa
Certificate of Excellence
Folly Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“super clean, nice upgraded room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

would recommend this hotel for sure over double-priced downtown. you can be at UT or downtown in less than 15 minutes. great breakfast, free wifi!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MzAdventure22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    44
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
30
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneseo, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Great value, I used PCR points+cash for our stay. I booked the hotel from the priority club iphone app a few hours before arriving. Everything was ready for us when we checked in. The room was small, but we weren't staying long so it wasn't a big deal. Breakfast was good, kids enjoyed the pool before leaving, but was too cold for myself.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murfreesboro, tn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We arrived late into Alcoa and we had reservations at the Hilton- thinking that it would be nice. The Hilton was horrible unless you like smoky, musky rooms when you were guaranteed a non smoking room. We had stayed at this HIE before last year and remeber it is a good stay and Thankfully when we called around midnight, their front desk Tiffany and Debbie were very friendly and accomodating. The room is better and more spacious here, than at the Hilton. Definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgriswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

I stayed for four nights on business. I found this Holiday Inn Express exceptionally clean and the service outstanding. I would return here on vacation due to the cleaniness, location and caring and knowledgable staff. The rooms were a great value. They even have discount cards for area resturants! I also had their complimentary breakfast every day - which was fantastic. I could not have asked for a better place to stay for four nights - in the heart of the Knoxville / Smoky Mountains area. Bravo!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cds209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

I chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Alcoa because of their reasonable prices, their nicely furnished rooms, and a reputation for quality service. After this unpleasant experience, I will no longer choose Holiday Inn Express. Reasonable prices mean little when the front desk staff does not answer billing questions honestly or accurately, nicely furnished rooms with broken or faulty appliances lose their luster, and a reputation for quality service is easily ruined by the indifference and incompetence of the Alcoa staff.

This opinion is not based on one incident, but on a series of events that demonstrate a lack of customer service training and a lack of maintenance. When we arrived at our assigned room, it was already occupied by another guest. We opened the door to clothes hanging on the rack, personal items laying about, and a heavy smell of smoke and stink. I returned immediately to the front desk to get another room, and the clerk doubted my explanation. She seemed befuddled. I don't know if it is common practice to have squatters at this hotel, but the front desk clerk indicated that the room was not occupied by any paying guest. Another room like the one we reserved was not available, so the clerk kindly offered us an upgrade to a jacuzzi suite. When we arrived at our second room, we realized immediately that the A/C unit in the front part of the suite was not working. We called the front desk to report the problem and were told that there were no other rooms available and we would just have to deal with it. The maintenance man would not be in until Tuesday (this was Sunday), and he would look at it then. She suggested that we turn the A/C unit on high in the bedroom and maybe that would help cool the front room. Tuesday came and went with no repair work. The unit was not working on the Friday when we left. The problems with the room did not stop with the A/C unit. The toilet barely flushed and had to be plunged repeatedly, the "expanded" cable with HBO had just nineteen channels (all with very poor reception), and the mini-fridge barely cooled and often drenched the carpet with water. All of the amenities so highly praised by HEI were in most cases faulty or broken.

Despite these problems, the most distubing aspect of our stay was the lack of customer service. The night front desk has apparently not been trained adequately and cannot answer billing questions accurately. They are also not concerned with keeping a customer's business or they would work harder to make sure guests are comfortable and satisfied with both the room and the billing.

The only bright spots in our stay were the clean rooms and the breakfast. The housekeeping staff is competent and friendly, and the breakfast lady was equally hospitable. The breakfast selection was varied, and the cinnamon rolls were a personal favorite.

Despite the delicious cinnamon rolls, I will never recommend or stay at the Holiday Inn Express chain again. The price and good location are not worth the hassle. Next time, I'll stay at the Marriott, and I recommend you do, too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacherwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, missouri
Level Contributor
261 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

It is a nice hotel but a roach crawled out of our towels on the bathroom counter and in the morning we found some sort of bug on the bed.

No one else on tripadvisor posted this problem so maybe it is isolated. However I cannot give it a good review based on this.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank socntytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past month. It is very nice and clean. I would stay here again but my biggest gripe is that the wireless internet is horrible! I lost connection often and since I am there for business and work out of my room quite a bit, it is very annoying. I figured the first time I stayed it was a fluke, but I noticed a few weeks later, I was having the same problem and so were my co workers. I would love to stay here again but I need a trusted internet connection. Other than that, the rooms are nice and big. The staff is OK, never really said hi or bye when I walked through the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alcoa hotels
0.1 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#6 of 15 in Alcoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Knoxville Airport Alcoa
1.4 mi away
Hilton Knoxville Airport
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Knoxville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport)
Address: 130 Associates Blvd, Alcoa, TN 37701-1944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Alcoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Alcoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located in Alcoa at the Knoxville Airport off Alcoa Highway. We have 80 beautifully renovated guest rooms which include business and Jacuzzi suites. Enjoy our new Stay Smart beds with soft quilted duvet, fresh white linen, and the feel of Egyptian cotton. We have a colorful new throw with your choice of soft or firm pillows. There is free wireless high-speed throughout the building; if you did not bring your laptop, please use our business center with free Internet and printing. All rooms offer hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, coffee makers and new 27' televisions with over 40 channels to surf, including free HBO. As always, a Hot deluxe complimentary breakfast is served each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM Monday- Friday and open on weekends till 10 AM so you can sleep late and enjoy your stay. We offer a newly remodeled indoor pool with an outdoor veranda for summer time fun in the sun. Our new health and fitness center is located on the first floor for your convenience. We have 2 large meeting rooms for your next event, family gatherings, or business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Alcoa (Knoxville Airport) Hotel Alcoa
Holiday Inn Alcoa
Alcoa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing