We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Best Western was extremely helpful with our accommodations and needs. They went above and beyond their duties taking care of our business trip and last minute changes. The reservations staff and the meeting room staff didn't hesitate at all when we needed to change times or arrived late.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Bridget H.,

Thank-you so very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am delighted that you found our reservations, sales and event team exceptionally helpful. As a leader in Aberdeen for wedding, meeting and convention space with seating for over a thousand it's always great to hear from our event attendees and organizers regarding their experience. We're so very grateful for your business and look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Randy J. Grismer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 257 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hot tub was cold and the bathroom door in our room was warped so had to leave open after getting stuck! Very dangerous if a small child would have used!! Strange odor in hallway but could have been guest rooms across the hall??

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shannon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Shannon E.,

Thank-you so very much for staying with us. We deeply regret that our whirlpool heater was on the fritz during your stay. Our engineering staff worked tirelessly for several days in an effort to keep the Whirlpool functioning for all our guests as we awaited parts to be shipped from New York. We deeply regret that you were not fully able to enjoy our facility but are pleased to let you know that the repairs were made and the hot-tub is once again hot! I share your concerns regarding the safety of each guest and I have also asked our engineering team to repair or replace the bathroom door you made mention of. Thank-you again for your vist and for taking the time to share your comments.

Randy Grismer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

After staying at the Ramada across town the past 3 years, we needed more room and bigger beds, so we reserved our 3 night stay all for the Ramkota. Glad we did, as it was much more roomy and accomodating for our group. The breakfast was fresh and warm, although not very quick, but we got it fairly reasonable with the breakfast coupons from the front desk. The hotel is super close to the fair location which was why were there. The bar/lounge food was spectacular, will be eating there again for sure! Hotel was very quiet and large, so plenty of room no matter the occasion. Beds as always are so comfy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Kari L,

Thank-you for staying with us during the Brown County Fair. When it relates to family fun at either Wylie Park or the great activities during the Brown County Fair, Stock Car Racing, Horse Racing or Hockey we have the IDEAL location. I'm glad you found the room comfy and clean and had a chance to enjoy the restaurant and I'm so glad you'll be returning soon.

Sincerest Regards,

Randy J Grismer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Because I travel with presentation equipment and handouts, my luggage can be heavy. Arriving at this hotel to find that I have to get that luggage up to the second floor via the stairs, since there is no elevator, was not a great experience. Next I decided to return to the lobby, where there was a computer at which I could check in for my flight the next day, and print my boarding pass. The computer is so slow, and it kept getting hung up, so I wasted 30 minutes and never accompished that task. The room was just average. On the other hand, the on site restruant, Minerva's, is excellant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Karen M,

Thank-you so very much for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to hear of your trouble with our lobby computer, and will definitely have it checked immediately. I'm not certain if you were made aware that there is also a bank of 3 work stations with printers near our convention center for guest use as well. When coupled with our free wireless internet service throughout the building we have few difficulties like those you encountered so I was disappointed we weren't able to fulfill your needs.

It is also true that we don't currently have an elevator, and I apologize for the inconvenience it caused. I'm not sure how often you travel but it may be helpful to know that in South Dakota many 2 story hotels were constructed without elevators as they are not required by building code. Of course as we continually work to improve our property, the ease and convenience of our guests in accessing their rooms remains a high priority.

With 154 rooms and suites we proudly offer 77 ground floor rooms with 7 public entrances. Amazingly enough of the 77 ground floor rooms, 19 have personal exterior entrances as well, additionally, two are handicap accessible and two have whirlpool tubs. When coupled with our fantastic restaurant, meeting and event space which you mentioned and our spacious guest rooms we believe we are an excellent choice for business travelers and hope the lack of an elevator would not dissuade you from using us again.

Thank-you again for visiting and for taking the time to share your thoughts with us!

Sincerely,

Randy Grismer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It just What I said " Best Western Is the Best for service and Staff and great Food and great Smile" so I am happy with Best western and that the place for me and for me and business stays and family stays. Lou Michaels " The Photo Guy" " I Cover All The Angles'

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s):

*Respectful of Personal Privacy
No speculation as to the identity of the reviewer. Personal information of any person, including names, addresses, phone numbers or other information that may be used to identify an individual is prohibited.

Please consider resubmitting a response which meets our posting criteria using the management response form on our site.

Please let us know if you have further concerns.

Best regards,
TripAdvisor Support Team
[302]




---original management response-----

Subject: Best Western Ramkota Hotel
Location: Aberdeen
Title: Owner response
ID#: 172103891

Dear Photoguy:

Thank-you so much for your recent visit, and your kind words. Our staff works exceptionally hard every day to ensure all our guests receive the best possible service and it's always rewarding to hear when we have met the goals we set. We look forward to your safe and speedy return.

Best Regards,

Randy J. Grismer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Recently we had the pleasant and memorable opportunity of staying at the BW Ramkota in Aberdeen SD -- staff was very courteous, helpful, prompt, kind, and very busy -- perhaps understaffed, but very efficient. The accommodations were clean and cheerful, tastefully decorated, and gave that "homelike" feeling. It was quiet and comfortable. Keep up the good work -- and kudos to GM Randy (do I remember correctly?) and those in charge. Thanks! k

Room Tip: Give all pertinent/special needs information to staff upon requesting info and reservation(s).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Kay G,

Thank-you so very much for taking the time to complete an on-line review of our hotel. We're always grateful to hear from our guests. I was especially pleased that your experience was everything we hope it to be for each of our guests. We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations every time! It was a great pleasure having you as a guest, we look forward to your quick return!

Randy Grismer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

There is no elevator so if you are handicap or have a stroller make sure you mention this when making reservations. I did not and was put on the second floor and then the staff made me feel like I was the silly one for not mentioning I'd have a stroller when I made the reservation. No handicap accessible doors anywhere in the hotel either. My room smelled like a casino. It may be smoke free now, but it doesn't appear anything has been done to get rid of the stench, including the bed still smelled. Pillows are also horrible so bring your own if you still select this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Tera M,

Thank-you so much for taking the time to complete an online review. I want to begin by apologizing for any discomfort or discontent. We have been a smoke free hotel for many years. We have no smoking disclaimers and steep penalties for guests who violate the policy and strict cleaning procedures for how we clean a room which smells like it had been smoked in. I'm disheartened with all of that in place you encountered this problem and will work with you to make it right. It is true we don't have an elevator so those with special needs or mobility issues as well as those with small children are well suited to the main floor. This is also much more convenient for speed of access to the front desk, restaurant and our indoor water play-land.
Thank-you again for taking the time to share your comments.

Best Regards,
Randy Grismer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Aberdeen
3.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Aberdeen — Event Center
3.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Aberdeen
TownePlace Suites Aberdeen
#5 of 10 in Aberdeen
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Aberdeen
Quality Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 10 in Aberdeen
65 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen
2.9 mi away
My Place Hotel-Aberdeen, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Address: 1400 8th Ave NW, Aberdeen, SD 57401-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: $102 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
154 Room hotel with small town hospitality. Let our staff take care of your needs so you can relax and enjoy your trip. Award winning restaurant and lounge located within the building. New complimentary continental brekfast, updated guest internet access, and an indoor water playland that kids love. Let us be part of your next travel plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aberdeen
Aberdeen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing