We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I traveled to this property for a mini-vacation with a few friends from Minneapolis. When there was a problem with our door lock that upset our schedule (we were in town for a show) the entire staff including management went above and beyond to make things right. Really great service, comfortable environment, awesome beds. This was our second stay here and we will definitely stay again the next time we come to visit. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsea w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Chelsea W,

Thank-you so very much for your exceptionally kind words. We work every day to ensure our guests receive exceptional customer service. It was my distinct pleasure getting to meet you and your friends. I sincerely hope all of you had a great time in Aberdeen and very much look forward to seeing you on a return visit in the near future. It's good to know that Aberdeen, SD is now competing with Minneapolis, MN as an entertainment and vacation destination. :)

Sincerely,
Randy Grismer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    67
    47
    18
    11
See reviews for
99
22
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Here on business for my second time in a week, and had some special accommodation needs specifically needing a first floor room, and a late check out. Tony at the front desk went in my opinion well beyond the call of duty and not only adjusted my room to a first floor (near a door), also was able to make arraignments for a late checkout. Tony's professionalism and politeness was truly outstanding as well as his friendliness and willingness to assist in meeting my needs. Tony is a TRUE asset to the Best Western Ramkota.

Room Tip: rooms on the interior are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Andrew S,

Thank-you ever so much for your exceptionally kind words. Tony is a brand new employee who had only worked with us a short time prior to your arrival. I am very pleased to hear of how well he treated you. We strive daily to ensure the complete satisfaction of each of our guests and it is always very rewarding for our individual employees when they are personally recognized for their commitment to our success.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Randy J. Grismer
General Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel - Aberdeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We decided to give the Best Western Ramkota another chance for a quick family get together on a Saturday night. The kiddos (6,5,3) really wanted a kiddie pool/play area, and this hotel was the best option on short notice.

The front desk was able to accommodate us with adjoining rooms which was much appreciated and check-in was efficient. Rooms were spacious. However, we question the effort housekeeping staff put into cleaning our room, as we found half-full plastic soda/tea bottles on the floor and near the bed-in plain sight. Once again, the pool area was full of kids, and a bit chaotic. Our kids loved it and had a great time, but the cleanliness of the pool area is questionable at best. It's hard to blame hotel staff for this, the volume of kids in and out of the pool area is astronomical. Some hotel guests seem to have more courtesy than others--leaving food/trash/pool towels behind.

We slept well, and had a great time at nearby Wylie Park and Storybook Land, which means the hotel overall met our expectations.

I would recommend this hotel to families with children who would enjoy the pool area. I would hesitate to recommend it to couples or business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear jdrosty,

Thank-you for staying with us again. We continue to try to improve our guest experience with a keen eye on our guests expectations and needs. It's true our pool area is one of the best in the market for children. Featuring an indoor lilly-pad play area, mini frog slide for the toddlers and at only 3 feet deep it's ideal for most families. We do work very hard to accomodate the large volume of swimmers we see on a day to day basis and with 154 guest rooms we see a wide range of guests. While families enjoy the pool area and convenience of poolside rooms our business travelers enjoy the comfort of king size beds, rooms with interior and exterior entrances, oversize chairs and the convenience of on-site restaurant, bar and catering options. I deeply regret that your room was not in order when you arrived and will most certainly be working with our staff to prevent future similar circumstances. Thank-you again for your patronage and your comments.

Sincerely,
Randy J. Grismer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Overall, this is an OK place... since I was staying for work on the State's rate the choice of hotels is limited. This is one of the better available in Aberdeen. In general things are clean more or less from what I could tell, but overall this place really could use some investment and updating. It's a real mixed bag and not one of the best Ramkota's I've been in now after staying in 3 of them. Like others have mentioned, the bathroom and tub is not the most appealing and the finishes are flaking from some bad attempt at updating from 20 years ago or something. The bed was decent and comfortable and when you're asleep you don't see the dated decor and furniture anyway!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-here-there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear travle-here-there,

Thank-you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We strive daily to exceed our guests expectations. While I'm glad you were pleased with the comfort of your bed and the cleanliness of the facility it is clear we did not meet your expectations for guest room improvements. I want to assure you that with the many updates already made including the flat screen televisions, we're not resting at all. We continue to work towards updates for all 154 guest rooms with a focus on our guest expectations and needs. We hope you will return frequently to see those improvements first hand as they happen!

Sincerely,
Randy Grismer
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This would not be my first choice in Aberdeen. Stayed because work paid for it. No refrigerator in room. No breakfast included. The ice machine didn't work. The bathtub had damage to it that looks like it had been painted over, but was flaking off. The worst part was the towels and wash cloths. They were the grungiest I have ever seen at a hotel. Every one of them had brown dirt stains on them. They were more grey than white. On the plus side, the room was nice. It looked like the carpet had been updated not too long ago. Big room. The staff was friendly and helpful. While I could hear people's doors slam and hear them in the hall, I didn't hear anybody through the walls or above me (if there were any), which is a good thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear BrentB24,

I want to thank you for your business and for sharing your thoughts. While it is true we don't have refrigerators or microwaves in every room, they are available upon request and free of charge. The Best Western Ramkota Hotel does not offer a complimentary continental breakfast however it does feature the award winning Minerva's Restaurant; which provides a first class dining experience. Many patrons choose to take advantage of this great dining option for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I will most certainly visit with our housekeeping staff regarding your guest towels which is not a circumstance we want any guest to encounter. I am pleased you noticed the updated carpets and to your point specifically tubs and bathroom areas are next on the list! Thank-you again for your stay and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is always a standby if I can't get into the Holiday Inn Express. But it is rapidly becoming my hotel of choice when I'm traveling for work. It has a great location on the north end of town and the staff is always very friendly. The TVs in the bedding in the room are very nice. The bathrooms are a little dated but I know that it would require a lot to redo them but they're not bad. Their Internet service is pretty decent and they are priced very reasonably.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purrplehelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Purrplehelmet,

Thank-you so very much for your kind words and high praise. We're always grateful for your business and look forward to the day we finally convert you fully from a "standby" guest to a full-time regular patron. Please know that we plan to begin remodeling of guest bathrooms in the near future and we hope that will tip the scales permanently in our favor. Again our sincerest thanks for your patronage and praise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neepawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after driving through snow. Front desk help was great and quick. Room was a good size. Great little restaurant attached. Food was wonderful. Also friendly little bar for a late night drink. Great sleep followed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJGnpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear EJGnpa,

Thank-you so very much for taking the time to write a review. We are grateful for you patronage and your safe travels. I was exceptionally pleased to hear that our guest service staff was accomodating and professional. I was also pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy our dining and lounge and follow it up with a good nights sleep. We welcome your speedy and safe return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Aberdeen
3.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Aberdeen — Event Center
2.9 mi away
My Place Hotel-Aberdeen, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen
3.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Aberdeen
TownePlace Suites Aberdeen
#5 of 10 in Aberdeen
58 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Aberdeen
Quality Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 10 in Aberdeen
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Property: Best Western Ramkota Hotel
Address: 1400 8th Ave NW, Aberdeen, SD 57401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
154 Room hotel with small town hospitality. Let our staff take care of your needs so you can relax and enjoy your trip. Award winning restaurant and lounge located within the building. New complimentary continental brekfast, updated guest internet access, and an indoor water playland that kids love. Let us be part of your next travel plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aberdeen
Aberdeen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing