We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after driving through snow. Front desk help was great and quick. Room was a good size. Great little restaurant attached. Food was wonderful. Also friendly little bar for a late night drink. Great sleep followed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJGnpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear EJGnpa,

Thank-you so very much for taking the time to write a review. We are grateful for you patronage and your safe travels. I was exceptionally pleased to hear that our guest service staff was accomodating and professional. I was also pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy our dining and lounge and follow it up with a good nights sleep. We welcome your speedy and safe return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 252 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was surprised when we opened the door to our room. We had a very spacious room with a great bed. The TV was a good match for the room size. It is an older hotel but it is furnished nicely. I graded this hotel 4 out of 5. It is a hotel that will see me back again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience. We always appreciate our guests feedback and are pleased when we exceed our guests expectations. We are exceptionally glad that you found your room spacious and comfortableand we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Ramkota Hotel in Aberdeen, SD was one of the worst experiences I ever had I was charged for smoking in the room and I never smoked in the room itwas a suite the manager was very difficult to speak to the hot tub was broke and the diningroom table leg was broken when i checked in i reported it to the manager and for what i paid for the bi level suite and being charged for smoking was a rip off i would never recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Aberdeen SD. They have terrible service and very poor management

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Customer30095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

We sincerely apologize for any items you found in disrepair. While we were not made aware of any issue with the hot tub, we are pleased that the damage to the table was immediately reported, a loose table leg is not something we wish a guest to encounter. The timely reporting of the damage allowed our staff to quickly respond and provide a replacement table.

Each day we make a sincere effort to ensure the satisfaction of our current and future guests. When a guest room shows evidence of smoking, (extinguished cigarettes, foul odor, ash) we must take additional steps to ensure the room is properly prepared for future guests who have been promised a smoke free environment. In a time when many people suffer from asthma and allergies we always try to go the extra mile to ensure their comfort.

Ultimately the registered guest of a room bears the cost of any additional cleaning which is necessary because of the presence of smoke. It is a policy we strictly enforce and while the additional charge can be frustrating for those who must pay it; it greatly reduces the potential discomfort of our future guests by discouraging smoking in the hotel.

Once again thank-you for sharing your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I had a late flight so I didn't arrive to the hotel until after 11:30pm. The night clerk was very friendly and checked me in without incident. The room was spacious but definitely a little older. It was fine for a quick stay-over. However, at 8am the next morning, I was awakened by housekeeping knocking on every single door saying "room service - room check!" WTH? I heard the gal halfway down the hall before she even made it to my room. Plus, I was still on California time (so 6am my time). I have never experienced this in my life. Unacceptable. Other than that, the hotel was fine for one night. I did come back the next night for dinner at Minerva's with colleagues. The food was great as was the service. Unfortunately, we had to contend with a group who let their kids run around at the next table. Also, the pool here has toys specifically for kids so if you're looking for some quiet time at the pool, it's not going to happen. Location is a little outside town and 4 miles from the airport. Others are closer but at least this one isn't by the train track like the others near the airport. Definitely consider what your needs are before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Next to an entranceway can get a little noisier but wasn't so bad that I needed to switch rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljinbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for the inconvenience of an unintentional disruption by a member of our staff and will most certainly make efforts to prevent it in the future. We are glad you had an opportunity to enjoy Minerva's menu despite the distraction of a neighboring table. While it is true that our pool is not specifically designed for business travelers we take great pride in the spaciousness and family friendly set-up our pool area offers including: zero-depth entry, a large child-friendly area, and for our adult patrons a full exercise facility and hot-tub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Older hotel, rooms are clean but dated (esp. the bathrooms). Staff is friendly and helpful, but hotel is located across town from shopping, restaurants, etc so be ready to drive to get to anything. Pool area would be good for smaller children. Didn't eat in the restaurant but it was busy and seemed to be a popular place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SturgisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review. The bathroom areas are on our capital expenditures list for the near future. We will continue to try and improve our hotel, unfortunatley we can't improve our location with reference to the shopping. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This its the second time my family has stayed at this hotel. Both times the pool was very crowded. There are many poolside rooms and several birthday parties going on in the pool area. There are many unmonitored kids as the adults are in the rooms or visiting in groups amongst themselves. Always kids roughhousing on the lily pad area inn the pool. We choose this hotel because of the kids play area at the pool but both times my child got hurt by other kids because of the chaos. It would be nice if the hotel would either limit the number of children parties they allow or have a staff person monitor the pool area.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. We certainly will continue to monitor the pool situation and see if we can come up with a way to take care of the problem. I certainly apologize that your children may have been hurt while trying to play on the lilly pads. Please accept my apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nancy366
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bwgmAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Aberdeen
3.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Aberdeen — Event Center
3.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Aberdeen
TownePlace Suites Aberdeen
#5 of 10 in Aberdeen
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Aberdeen
Quality Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 10 in Aberdeen
65 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen
2.9 mi away
My Place Hotel-Aberdeen, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Address: 1400 8th Ave NW, Aberdeen, SD 57401-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: $101 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
154 Room hotel with small town hospitality. Let our staff take care of your needs so you can relax and enjoy your trip. Award winning restaurant and lounge located within the building. New complimentary continental brekfast, updated guest internet access, and an indoor water playland that kids love. Let us be part of your next travel plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aberdeen
Aberdeen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing