We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Max & Erma's

Max & Erma's
Ranked #10 of 78 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great bar staff good wait staff. Everyone that works there seems to enjoy what they do and have never had anyone been arnery because of a bad day

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmielke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    37
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Food was average but nothing to get excited about. Service was inconsistent. There's a lot of blue hairs dining here but I still think the music was too loud. I felt like Rick James was giving a concert right behind me. I asked the waiter if he could turn down the music a bit and he said he'd ask the manager. Nothing changed. It'll be awhile before i return to give them another chance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giardialamblia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
186 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food, priced a bit high, terrible waitress.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We've eaten here before and the food is very good. Kids love the sundae buffet!!

We had a clueless waitress??!! Very surprised... Nothing indicating she had just started 5 minutes ago, except she didn't know what is going on.

When we sat down I asked if they had any happy hour specials, hoping to get a deal on some appotizers or drinks. She said no we don't really do that.

So we ordered drinks. Then ordered meals. While waiting for our food, saw a "newspaper" at the table that had among other thing as ruin about happy hour, ask you waitress for details. I asked when she came back and she said she would go find out if they had happy hour and the details were. Comes back and says apps are just $5 5-7 and there was a drink special. Totally clueless!!!

Food was very good, priced a bit high.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SenatorMcCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I continuously receive great food here. It's a fairly new restaurant in Aberdeen. Tortilla soup is great--give it a try! The restaurant is decorated beautifully.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We felt the menu selection was very limited. The food we got was good though. ESPECIALLY the FRESH BAKED cookies!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyTraveling_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max & Erma's also viewed

 

Been to Max & Erma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing