We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the park”
Review of Seewee Restaurant

Seewee Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Awendaw
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
199 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Out of the park”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have been eating at Seewee for at least 12 years and have rated it before. My most recent visit, March 8, 2013, was the best ever! The usually excellent she crab soup was superb! Fried oysters were plump, fresh, sweet. Fried green tomatoes and eggplant were to die for! Service always great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michael43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    121
    38
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I am not a big shrimp fan but the waiter recommended - and I enjoyed - the sautéed shrimp with a side of whipped sweet potatoes and delicious fritters. Bathrooms are outside which is kind of weird but in keeping with this friendly little roadside diner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rfbcville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,004 reviews
766 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“Always consistent... good seafood”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

One of MANY time here. Good place if you travel between Charleston and Myrtle Beach. Order the Bucket of Oysters for $10 and SeeWee Grill w/ Oysters or shrimp. Select the SeeWee seasoning it is TOPS. Most desserts are HOME made.

For this very casual dining establishment they get a Saleeby Score of 7/10. Bathrooms need a bit of work to rank any higher.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Southern food fix”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is the REAL DEAL folks. Ate here with a friend after a day in Charleston. Had the fried catfish, fried okra, fried green tomatoes, and sweet potatoes. My dining companion had the shrimp & grits, which were the best I have ever tasted (and I've eaten a LOT). This food is made with love and it shows. I wish my mother could cook like this, I would never have left home!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunny7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“REAL southern seafood..”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Seewee restaurant is a hidden gem. If you have traveled hwy17 from Charleston to Myrtle beach you have passed it. Food is an exemplary example of southern seafood. Great service as well. I am a very well traveled southern foodie and this place is one pf my favorites! A must try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bldggreenville2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seewee Restaurant also viewed

McClellanville, Coastal South Carolina
McClellanville, Coastal South Carolina
 
McClellanville, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Seewee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing