We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

McGee's Irish Pub & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
McGee's Irish Pub & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 268 Restaurants in Anderson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main St
Description: Tucked into the heart of downtown Anderson, SC, McGEE's IRISH PUB & RESTAURANT offers a distinct alternative to regular eating & drinking establishments. Diversity is the key to McGEE's special appeal. Business people appreciate the quality & value of our lunches, as well as the speed & friendly manner in which they are served. Others prefer to linger, quietly enjoying the afternoon and forgetting the world outside.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I decided to try something different and stumbled onto this place. We loved the food and the atmosphere! Fun place to grab a drink and some dinner and listen to some live music!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JNelly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    68
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Surprising Find!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by our local business contact. After discovering that Anderson was much larger than we expected, we found the restaurant snuggled in the downtown area. The restaurant is decorated with flags from all over and it is interesting to take a look at them. But the best part was the food quality. The menu had a number of Irish options. I ordered the Shepherd's Pie. It was fantastic! My co-workers ordered different items and made a number of comments about how good it was. They also had some beer varieties that my co-workers enjoyed. I am recommending this to any of my co-workers who may go back to that area and I will be sure to dine there should I ever return to Anderson.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TXLATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartwell, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“No Longer Impressed”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I totally loved this place before our visit 2 weeks ago. No more Mini Mutton Bridies and not as many choices on the menu. They also don't have the same wings as they had before. The bridies where the best thing on the menu! When I asked about them the server told me that they hadn't had them in over 2 years.......uh, duh, they had them less than a year ago because we always got them at each visit.
Sadly we felt rushed and the food just wasn't up to par as it has been before. There were also a lot less people there, the table across from us returned their food twice, and no music that Friday night. Just wasn't the same. Please come back as you were McGee's!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Best Reuben around. The sauerkraut was good and was not overpowering. Service was prompt, friendly and attentive. The corned beef was very tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Volzmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartwell, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Return to McGee's”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We always enjoy the food at McGee's. Their fish special is REALLY special and the salmon entree' is delicious. This is a good place to meet friends for a casual evening.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Char C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGee's Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to McGee's Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing