We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun!”

McGee's Irish Pub & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
McGee's Irish Pub & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 270 Restaurants in Anderson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main St
Description: Tucked into the heart of downtown Anderson, SC, McGEE's IRISH PUB & RESTAURANT offers a distinct alternative to regular eating & drinking establishments. Diversity is the key to McGEE's special appeal. Business people appreciate the quality & value of our lunches, as well as the speed & friendly manner in which they are served. Others prefer to linger, quietly enjoying the afternoon and forgetting the world outside.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Love this place! Great fun and friendly atmosphere. They have great food and drinks. Great place to meet up with friends and just hang out.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    67
    23
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“thought i was in dublin”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

this pub is located in a century old gagare that used to part of a car dealership. the old brick walls add to the irish atmosphere. great beer selection including irish drafts. the food is really good especially the fish and chips and irish stew. very authentic. friendly staff and quick service. go on a night when they have live music. spending a whole evening here is wonderful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank gene k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dinner at McGees”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Food is always good - Wednesday night trivia is fun.
Waitstaff very friendly. Nice pub atmosphere and fun Irish/English foods.
Anyone for bangers and mash? :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shatzymaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food, diverse menu, dark atmosphere”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I purchased a goupon to McGee's. Otherwise we may have never found it. But we are glad we did. Nice, interesting menu.I had the corned beef and cabbage and hashed potato casserole. Corned beef was very lean, cabbage was fresh and not over cooked. Very filling.
My wife had the bangers n hashed mash. Again, good lean sausage with good flavor. We both liked what we had, but picked out several other dishes we'd like to try such as Shepard's Pie, fish and chips, tavern burger to mention a few. Service was very attentive and friendly. Bar had that dark, wooded atmosphere, similar to so many bars in Ireland. Will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just your average neighborhood bar”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

But it is one of the few places to get draft Guinness around. They do have good food for a bar and I will probably return at some point - but there is nothing really special to go for really.

Helpful?
Thank Zoogirl1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGee's Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to McGee's Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing