We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependably consistent”
Review of Tokyo bay sushi & grill - CLOSED

Tokyo bay sushi & grill
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dependably consistent”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Tokyo Bay never dissappoints in the sushi department. My daughter and I have always been cold there and so this time we brought our jackets and guess what ? we did not get cold. We sat at the sushi bar and the service was impeccable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

service a little slow probably because of being a new place, but the 4 times we have been there the sushi is out of this world. and the wait staff is very friendly and helpful for us sushi amateurs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Wonderful dinner but it was difficult to pick from such an extensive menu. Food and service were excellent. All of us loved our experience there and would highly recommend it. I had the Chilean Sea Bass as my entree which was to die for. I think y'all should check it out. Nami finally has some competition.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

For the longest time, Anderson has had only one decent sushi choice...NAMI Bistro, which I happen to love. But Tokyo Bay is a wonderful new addition to our restaurant offerings in Anderson. If you are looking for the Japanese Hibachi experience/"show"--a chef cooking for you, the smoking "volcano" of onions, etc...this is not where you need to go. They do offer very tasty hibachi choices of steak,chicken and fish accompanied by the typical soup, salad, rice, veggie sides that you find at Japanese restaurants. But their main focus is SUSHI....We have been traveling to Clemson to eat sushi but now they are finally in Anderson! Thank goodness! This is a great place to eat--it's classy, it's friendly, it's good and it's reasonably priced. This would not be a place though to take very young children if you are wanting to entertain them with hibachi chefs because they don't do that.
My favorite rolls so far are the Geisha Roll, the Negi Maki Roll and i love their spicy baked mussels. Also, worthy of noting are their grilled veggies. YUM!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCParrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High hopes for the new location”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I visited the owner's Clemson location (Tokyo Grill) often until I started to get bones in the sushi and mandated we would not be patrons there anymore. When we decided to check out Tokyo Bay, I had no idea the two places were linked.

That having been said, our experience there was pretty good. The service (as was true with Tokyo Grill) is excellent and the sushi--bone free!--was up-to-par with their previous establishment. The added experience of the lake view was quite a perk.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo bay sushi & grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing