We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ With Attentive Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pompous Pig

The Pompous Pig
Ranked #3 of 269 Restaurants in Anderson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: THE BEST BBQ! Smoked Pork, Ribs, Chicken, Beef Brisket and Sausages. The meats are smoked daily for 8 to 14 hours in our on-site BBQ Pit using a mixture of woods (Hickory, Pecan, White Oak) combined with unique blends of spices and rubs. Our traditional southern side dishes are cooked from scratch in-house each day. Come on by and visit us early 'cause when it's gone, IT'S GONE!
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great BBQ With Attentive Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

My wife and I eat here regularly as we believe they have the best BBQ in town. I've yet to have anything that I could complain about. The pulled pork with the sweet hickory bbq sauce is my favorite, accompanied with their homemade style mac&cheese and sweet potato casserole. Some of the other more unique items are the Brunswick Stew and the German Sausages, which are also excellent. They have desserts as well, but I'm usually too stuffed by dinner to make it that far. Typically the owner, as well as one or two other staff members, will stop by the table and ask how everything tastes, which is nice. My one gripe would be the prices, as they've gone up since we first started eating there.

The restaurant itself has mostly table seating with a couple of booths up against the far wall. They also have an outdoor patio area for dining when the weather is nice. Definitely one of the best establishments in Anderson, if not the entire Upstate.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XxMerlinxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    62
    22
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Who knows if they are good or not?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We made TWO 70 mile round trips to go to this place because our son told us we had to try the ribs and brisket. We would have loved to but the first night we went they were out of all meat except chicken. Okay. So we'll go back another night. When we did, they were out of everything but pulled pork and chicken. Now I like pulled pork but what kind of joint can't anticipate and over plan for a Friday and Saturday night? Ribs and brisket are the true test of a BBQ joint. I just don't get it. Mashed potato casserole was weird. Wouldn't get it again. Fried corn is really grilled corn, so-so. okra was okay but seemed to have been sitting around for quite awhile. Interesting sauces. Yeah, the owner came by and the staff was friendly but why would I even think of going back when they've struck out twice? And very pricey for what you get.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NBethS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, Great Sauces”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

The BBQ pork, chicken, and sausage, were all good on thier own. adding some of their sauces made them much better. Six sauces to choose from, some vinegar based, some tomato based, and a mustard sauce, some hot, some mild. Small portion of OK mac & cheese, large portion of some great fried okra accompanied my plate. My wife's BBQ nachos were covered with cheesy yum. Prices were OK, the folks that work there were all friendly and attentive

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best BBQ ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I think this place has the best BBQ in town. Friendly staff and the owners make a point to come speak to customers. We always enjoy the brisket. Yummm

Helpful?
1 Thank Doggiedoc1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I had the brisket melt sandwich with the sweet potato side. It was very good. The brisket had very good flavor and was very tender. The sweet potatoes were very good and complimented the sandwich well. Unfortunately It was overpriced for what I got. I understand BBQ can get expensive, but the sandwich and side was 11.99 (which after reviewing my receipt after I left i was charged 12.99). After adding a drink and tax (as well as adding an additional $1 charge for having sweet potatoes) my sandwich, sweet potatoes, and tea was over $16. That's a pricey lunch. Other than the price though, the food is excellent. The staff was friendly and I received my order very quickly. I would return, but may not be an option when on a budget.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilipM290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pompous Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Pompous Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing