We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class all the way!”
Review of Bleckley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bleckley Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Anderson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at the Bleckley on June 29, and could not have been more pleased! This may be the best accommodations we have ever experienced in an Inn and the memory will forever be etched in our minds. We would not change a thing and HIGHLY recommend the Bleckley for a wonderful romantic stay. We also ate breakfast and the praline bacon is the best I have EVER had. Steve and his staff have done a great job we look forward to our next stay at The Bleckley.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 11 and it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 311 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

Impeccable service, extremely friendly and helpful staff, overshadowed the comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A glowing, memorable experience in a one-of-a-kind establishment worthy of overall description as SUPERB!. Rooms A-1 in every respect. Newness exemplified. Prime center of city location.
The Bleckley is individual, not a unit in a worldwide chain of albeit fine hotels.. Do you appreciate a staff noted by itsexcellence? It's there. What a treat spend my 93rd birrgday at The Bleckley with my wife who discovered it. Central staircase augmenting modern elevator depicts vision of Scarlett O'Hara facing Rhett Butler in the final scene in Gone With the Wind.
Harry and Violeta Gleason

Room Tip: Fifteen rooms on two floors, any one of which a satisfactory selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

If you're staying in Anderson, the Bleckley, hands down, is where you want to be! They're wonderful to work with and the service is incredible. I planned a few months in advance and Shelby didn't seem bothered at all with the questions I had and promptly responded to my calls and emails. Planning a trip for 20+ people can be high stress but they were so flexible in making sure that we had exactly what we needed!

Meeting Space:
Completely willing to give us access and set up space for what would accomodate our needs. Our group size changed from one day to the next and it wasn't an issue at all to relocate. I also love that they don't charge you an extra $500 a day to use additional spaces...huge perk. We first started off in the dining room area where meals are served. Our group was just a bit too small for the larger spaces but just big enough to make the conf. room stuffy the first day...so this suited us perfectly. They set up a U-shape with tables and chairs-what you can imagine for a make-shift meeting space. My favorite part was when we were relocating after the first day, they completely took care of making sure that our snacks/drinks were put into the conference room and iced down for our return...incredible service!

Once our group shrunk a bit we were a good size for the conference room..and it was perfect; seats plenty, has comfy chairs, right across the hall from the bathrooms, quiet and tucked away. It has a room attached that allowed us to leave drinks iced down and snacks out without being a distraction when they came in to replenish coffee. I love that the Bleckley staff took care of having plenty of water and coffee on hand.

Rooms:
Literally the most comfortable bed I've ever been in. I'm serious when I say, if you were to try to make your bed at home feel like this, you'd have to pay $800+ to get the highest quality linens, pillows and fluffy things to get it just right. I'm sad we didn't get more time to lay in the beds :) The only downside: b/c they're incredible, they're also warm. We cranked our air down to 60-65 degrees to sleep at night, comfortably. Otherwise, you'll wake up sweating...
The rooms (and hotel in general) were so clean with high quality furniture and decor. It feels like you're staying the night in your rich friends guest house...things that are tastefully done but still personal. The owner's wife must have classy taste :)

Food:
We only ate there for breakfast and it was an incredible spread. Good options for healthy eaters and not so healthy eaters---def. not your standard continental....it was like your grandma's cooking, in the best possible way. The rumors are true-the bacon is to die for. The best I've ever had. And they're super attentive to clean up behind you, always taking your plate and making sure that the food stays coming if it gets low.

Location:
Downtown Anderson doesn't have a whole lot to offer-but what it does, the Bleckley is in the middle of it! We were able to walk to Mellow Mushroom and Sullivans for meals which is awesome if you're not wanting to load up carloads of people. It's also awesome that they don't charge you for parking during your stay. Most cities have a standard rate for parking at their hotel while you're there.

Gym:
Access through Lilia Day Spa is a stones throw from the hotel. Small, but really nice with new equipment. 8 of us ladies woke up and went there while there was still another person in there with her personal trainer. If you're into cardio (treadmills, ellipticals, etc) and machines, this is perfect. If you're looking for strength training with tons of weights and space then this won't be the best.

Overall:
Shelby is incredible. The interns were so helpful. The owner eats breakfast in the dining area so it's really nice to support a locally owned business. The Bleckley has all of the charm of a B&B but married with your favorite things about a hotel. My husband and I will come here for a little weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacayBae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Only 15 rooms and one night, I was the only person there -- so I received very personalized attention at cookie time and in the morning at breakfast!

Beautiful rooms. Hard wood floors. Bed you just sink into. Everything brand new. Free wifi (thank you)! Walking distance to eating establishments. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This place is EXQUISITE! From the comfy beds to the wonderful woodwork! Impeccably clean and fresh with old world feel! ONLY place to stay in Anderson!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The room was exquisite & comfortable at the same time. A 5 star property at a 3 star cost. Attention to detail abounds.
The staff - Jordan, Shelby & Lolly (the chef who makes bacon that will probably spoil you from ordering it elsewhere)- were extremely attentive to every request.
Little touches abound like complimentary cookies & beverages which make you feel you are at home, not at a boutique hotel.
Ask to speak to Lynn Kay, the owner, who as an Anderson resident for many years, has so much knowledge to offer regarding Anderson's history .
It is clear to anyone who comes to this special property, that what she & her husband Steve have done has very little to do with business, but everything to do with enhancing the town they so love.
Lewis Sternthal

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anderson hotels
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Anderson
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Anderson
Holiday Inn Anderson
#7 of 27 in Anderson
182 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Anderson
Hampton Inn Anderson
#2 of 27 in Anderson
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Anderson/ Alliance Business Park
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 27 in Anderson
164 reviews
6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Anderson Clemson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bleckley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bleckley Inn

Address: 151 E Church St, Anderson, SC 29624-1616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Anderson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Anderson
Price Range: $132 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bleckley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bleckley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bleckley Hotel Anderson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing