We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty gross”

Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Anderson
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty gross”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I frequently stay at La Quintas on our twice yearly cross country drives, because we have 3 dogs. We had intended to stay in the Duluth, GA LaQuinta, but missed the exit, so headed for Anderson, SC. Had I had a chance to have read the reviews first, we would not have stayed here. But we got in late after 13 hours on the road, and did not want to have to repack and hit the road again. I have found that there are 2 kinds of La Quintas: those that are built specifically by the chain, and those that are older, retrofitted hotels/motels (usually in the southern US). This is one of the latter. It is very rundown, the carpet is filthy, there is mold on the bathroom ceiling, and even the bathroom floor and walls are dirty. It is a non-smoking hotel, so everyone smokes outside, and there are cigarette butts strewn everywhere. We have only stayed in one La Quinta that was worse, in N. Little Rock, AK. My standards are not that high, as I am only looking for a decent place to crash overnight. As long as it's clean and has a comfortable bed, I'm satisfied. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank howard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ8011, General Manager at Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are deeply sorry for all the issues you experienced while staying as a guest at our hotel, but we do thank you for bringing them to our attention. While we are aware of some of our shortcomings, we rely on feedback such as this to be able to know what our guests need from us in order for our hotel to be successful. We recently purchased this hotel from an ownership group that had allowed the hotel to deteriorate to the sub-par level which you unfortunately witnessed during your recent visit. There is a lot of work that has to be done to the property in order for it to be up to the standard that guests such as yourself deserve. While these changes cannot happen overnight, we can assure you that if you give us another chance once our renovations are complete, you will not be disappointed. They say you only have one chance to make a first impression, but we genuinely hope that you will see the challenges we must face as new hotel owners, and will one day give us a second chance to impress you. Please forgive us for your negative experience, and believe in us as we work toward a bright, new future.

Sincerely,

La Quinta Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    48
    52
    33
    19
See reviews for
88
33
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Came from Georgia to visit family, this hotel was in the perfect location, right in the middle of town. Everything I needed was close by, the room was clean and newly redone, and the staff was incredibly friendly! It was quiet, and the beds were super!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I work out of town and stayed there for 3 weeks the young lady that cleaned my room was excellent real nice. And cleaned my room very well thank you Jennifer.The rooms are fairly old but I seen some remodeling being done.my over all stay was nice.The lady at the front desk was also real polite.I will be staying here again if I have work out in anderson.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruffneckcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesburg, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After staying once before christmas eve, i decided to give la quintia a second chance. well we stayed two night and paid 190.00 which isnt bad but isnt great for the quality but any we walked into our room and the overpower odor of mildue and mold was overpowering. well atleat we had body spray that worked for the first few mins...... it was late and we decided to get in to the bed well i am normaly not a complainer but..... the sheets couldnt have been freshly placed on the bed there were ketcup stains and dirt in the bed still looking past this the next morning we got and went to take a shower and i must say walking to the bathroom from the bed well you would think that you would be able to make it there without having black feet in such a short distance well (Think Again) make sure you bring flip flops to walk around the room in.. So after the black feet i got in the shower with my flip flops. after getting out the shower at 7: am we went for breakfast (The Best Part of the Hotel). and left for the day returing that night at 11:55pm so we didnt have to stay in the room beacuse of the condtions. so then check out day comes in we got up sunday morning showerd and breakfast all before check out. all togather we stayed in the room maybe 12hrs if that. ( we dreaded comming back to the room after being gone). So wished that we would have took our family up on staying for free.. Table Rock Room belive it or not is was cheaper for a cabin. ...... Should have did my reasearch and went with my gut and not have choosen this room.... down near the interste is the same price for newer nicer hotles.....( BEST ADVICE FOR COMMING TO THIS HOTEL CHECK ROOM / CONDTIONS BEFORE YOU PAY ..... PLEASE PLEASE LISTEN )

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FYI2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anderson hotels

Dixon, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our non smoking room smelled of smoke with burns on the dresser . The hotel other than the Lobby was badly worn. We have stayed at La Quinta hotels for years but are going to switch their hotels have gone down hill.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank C3156CNjmesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Dirty Carpet. Run down motel; not an Inn & Suite at all. Warped bed that made us feel like we were in a hole with our heads going down hill. I won't be staying at this particular LaQuinta again. There are better motels on this exit in SC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank larry02014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ8011, Manager at Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are deeply sorry for all the issues you experienced while staying as a guest at our hotel, but we do thank you for bringing them to our attention. While we are aware of some of our shortcomings, we rely on feedback such as this to be able to know what our guests need from us in order for our hotel to be successful. We recently purchased this hotel from an ownership group that had allowed the hotel to deteriorate to the sub-par level which you unfortunately witnessed during your recent visit. There is a lot of work that has to be done to the property in order for it to be up to the standard that guests such as yourself deserve. While these changes cannot happen overnight, we can assure you that if you give us another chance once our renovations are complete, you will not be disappointed. They say you only have one chance to make a first impression, but we genuinely hope that you will see the challenges we must face as new hotel owners, and will one day give us a second chance to impress you. Please forgive us for your negative experience, and believe in us as we work toward a bright, new future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anderson hotels
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anderson/Clemson
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Anderson Clemson
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Anderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Anderson/ Alliance Business Park
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Anderson
Holiday Inn Anderson
#6 of 27 in Anderson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Anderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area

Property: Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area
Address: 3430 Clemson Boulevard, Anderson, SC 29621 (Formerly La Quinta Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Anderson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anderson
#7 Business Hotel in Anderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anderson Clemson Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Anderson Hotel Anderson
La Quinta Anderson
Anderson La Quinta
La Quinta Hotel Anderson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing