We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Aiken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed March 15, 2007

This is a cute bed and breakfast. I stayed in room 11, which faces the main road. If you are not used to street noise, you may find this distracting to your sleep pattern. However, the bed was clean and comfortable.

The breakfast was incredible. And, even though I am not a coffee drinker usually, I found the coffee to be incredibly smooth and I could not get enough.

The room overall was clean, but there was a bit of dust behind some of the end tables. I did wish that I had control over the temperature as another reviewer noted. One night the room was a bit cold and the other a bit hot.

Overall, it was a pleasant experience. The downtown area is very nice with interesting shops to visit.

  • Liked — Tasty and unique breakfast
  • Disliked — Street Noise
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ribar1en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    24
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
55
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 30, 2006

I recently stayed at the Carriage House Inn and had a wonderful experience! The staff was so helpful at reccommending places around town to visit. I had a wonderful breakfast and my room was very comfortable. The decor of the inn was excellent with antiques in every room. I am looking forward to my next trip to Aiken to stay at the Carriage House Inn again. I travel quite a bit and my stay at the Carriage House Inn was very refreshing. The southern hospitality of the staff and the excellent downtown location make this a place that I can't wait to go back to.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 25, 2006

We stayed in a wonderful jacuzzi suite located upstairs the Inn. Our bed was so comfortable we never wanted to get up! The room was beautiful, the bathroom was great with a double whirlpool Jacuzzi tub and we had a wonderful back porch that overlooked a fountained courtyard. Before we left, we toured other rooms for future trips and they all appeared as wonderful as ours. Also, every staff member we met was so friendly and helpful. Another great aspect of the Inn is, it is located in on the main street, downtown Aiken. We walked to the local restaurants, shopped, antiqued and explored Aiken! What a great town! We loved the Inn, enjoyed the staff, slept soundly and comfortably in our room and can't wait to go back! We highly recommend the Carriage House Inn!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 4, 2006

We stayed in a very small room upstairs. A straightback chair in the room was so old, (not antique) you felt it would fall apart if you sat on it. The room temperature was around 80 degrees. The AC was controlled in another guest room, and the ac cover was locked. (The one unit controlled several rooms.) After much debate with the clerk who was preoccupied discussing her upcoming wedding with three of her attendants, she adjusted the temperature down by about four degrees. The temperature was warmer than we liked, but we have been to places with no AC, so what can I say. We slept in a "feather bed." The feathers came through the sheet like little sharp objects all night long. I kept pulling feathers out during the night. Not a comfortable night. The room had a 12" TV. If you go you might want to be sure to bring shampoo. The positive part of the stay was a lady named Jackie who prepared breakfast. She was nice and served a satisfactory breakfast.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
0.4 mi away
The Willcox
The Willcox
#2 of 20 in Aiken
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aiken
Hotel Aiken
#11 of 20 in Aiken
148 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#4 of 20 in Aiken
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: 139 Laurens St NW, Aiken, SC 29801-3845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House Inn invites you to enjoy comfortably elegant accommodations amidst the charm and abundance of Aiken’s many fine dining, cultural and shopping opportunities in historic downtown Aiken, SC. This luxuriously restored historic Inn caters to all - Equine enthusiasts, couple in search of romance, corporate traveler or tourist exploring our charming town. Recently listed on National Geographic Traveler's 2009 Stay List as one of the top 129 Hotels We Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing