We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Inn with a Wonderful Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Aiken B&B and Inns
Ohio
Level Contributor
205 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quaint Inn with a Wonderful Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the Carriage House inn for two days and it was just delightful. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques, and are very roomy. The breakfast is just incredible, and the women who made the terrific meal were friendly and helpful. The Inn is located in the downtown area, and there are many wonderful shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjkines1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    23
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
51
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Carriage House Inn is the perfect place for quiet relaxation. The staff are friendly and welcoming in a kind and sincere way. I first stayed alone for two days then two months later with my family. When alone, I stayed in room 16 that was lovely and very clean. The staff effortlessly accommodated my work schedule that I'm sure had me in my room when they otherwise would be cleaning it. The location is perfect for walking to the best shops and restaurants in town. For my second visit we chose a much larger suite behind the main inn that was perfect for our family of four. Again, the staff were wonderful. I'm not sure if it is the contrast from typically staying in business hotels or the southern hospitality, but this Inn is special. I would highly recommend staying at The Carriage House if traveling to Aiken.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Carriage Inn definitely added to our love of Aiken. The staff were warm and friendly, going out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The inn was very inviting and our room was perfect. We stayed in room 23 which had a cute screened porch. We sat there for hours in the evening sipping our wine and enjoying the fresh air. Breakfast was very good each morning, especially the blueberry pound cake. The location of the inn made it perfect for strolling the streets downtown to check out the shops. Our stay was absolutely delightful

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sadiecat2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tewksbury, ma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed at the Carriage House Inn for a week in October while in the area on business. What a great place! The main entrance and dining room was very welcoming. I had a very quiet room in the back of the property. Walking distance to a bunch of restaurants and bars in the downtown area. We was out the door before breakfast was served, but the nice women preparing for the breakfast offered many times to make me something.

I will definitely stay here whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennish124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We just spent 2 wonderful days at the Carriage House Inn. The room was lovely, the bed comfortable, the staff was friendly and the breakfasts were so delicious. I wish I had the recipe for the grits!!!! It was very clean and updated. We enjoyed the large jacuzzi and spacious rooms. The location was great. Walk out the front door and you can enjoy a nice stroll downtown to nice shops or to get a cup of coffee across the street. Mostly we enjoyed the quiet the Inn afforded us. We would recommend this Inn to others and will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the Inn are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Songbird1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

While the Inn is nice it needs work. The uncomfortable bed was greeted by okay breakfasts. Worse the WiFi failed to keep connection in the room (at top of stairs). Rates are higher than they should be and street noise too loud (at top of stairs). Interesting place but...

Room Tip: Avoid room at top of stairs too noisy, uncomfortable bed and WiFi is horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Big D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIAiken_SC, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your trip to the Carriage House Inn. I am sorry that you had difficulty with your internet connection. We have plans for many upgrades in 2013 and our internet connections in the rooms are on our list. The weekend you visited we had a large group staying at the Inn and I am sorry if the noise level was higher than normal. Once again, thank you for staying with us. It was an honor to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

When traveling with the wife to visit her former homeland, Aiken SC I had the opportunity to stay at The Carriage House Inn for a couple nights in the middle of downtown Aiken. From what i understand the place is an old property converted to a B&B. The staff was nice, rooms decent, and location awesome! Exactly what I had in mind when thinking of what a Deep South B&B would be like in a charming town. The only inconvenience was that during check out I was in a hurry and the attendant at the desk was on the phone for a while but this was so minor it really did not factor in on my opinion of the place. If I find myself staying in Aiken again I will be going straight back to The Carriage House.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lostshaker2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aiken
Hotel Aiken
#11 of 20 in Aiken
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#3 of 20 in Aiken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: 139 Laurens Street, Northwest, Aiken, SC 29801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House Inn invites you to enjoy comfortably elegant accommodations amidst the charm and abundance of Aiken’s many fine dining, cultural and shopping opportunities in historic downtown Aiken, SC. This luxuriously restored historic Inn caters to all - Equine enthusiasts, couple in search of romance, corporate traveler or tourist exploring our charming town. Recently listed on National Geographic Traveler's 2009 Stay List as one of the top 129 Hotels We Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing