We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would return here in a heartbeat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Houndslake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Houndslake
Ranked #3 of 7 Aiken B&B and Inns
Portugal/Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would return here in a heartbeat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here as I was in town for a surprise birthday party..The wonderful staff made this a wonderful experience. My room was spacious with all the amenities you would need. I would highly recomend it.

Room Tip: My room was 211 spacious with nice view of Golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dijoaguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
15
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Guest House at Houndslake for the past two years for a golf tournament. It has been a great experience in every respect. The hospitality of the owner and Greta at the front desk, made our stay even more delightful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roberto08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have just completed a 12 month working assignment in Aiken, SC and stayed the whole time at the Houndslake Guest House. During my stay I enjoyed the great hospitality afforded by the owner and all of the staff who work tirelessly to cater to the needs of the guests. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were always on hand to provide directions and advice relating to the local area.
As a resident I had access to all the facilities, including the 3 nine hole golf courses, tennis courts, and a very large swimming pool as well as the restaurant / bar in the club house. There is also a pro store and a breakfast / sandwich bar ready to serve the eager golfers such as myself.
The Houndslake grounds are in excellent condition whether you are playing golf or just out walking. It was a pleasure to be surrounded by the beauty of nature.
So, if you are looking for a few days away or even a longer stay like mine, I recommend taking a look at the Houndslake if you want to feel like family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyB35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We reserved a suite and an adjoining room for a sleep over for eight nine year olds! It was perfect . We arrived at 4:00 PM on Sat., swam in the pool until 6:30 PM, had Pizza delivered at the pool and then returned to the rooms to shower and do crafts. The rooms are large and inviting; plenty of towels for all. In the morning the breakfast was great.
The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Just a lovely experience ( the girls were really well behaved)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a great alternative to a conventional hotel if staying in Aiken. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Many cable channels, very quiet. The only demerit is the bathroom, which is an older style with separate cold and hot taps. But, this is not a big deal and the positives far outweigh this single negative. Staff are very friendly and attentive, it is much quieter than any nearby chain hotel, and the ambience is simply superior. I have stayed here several times, and will likely do so again.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jza80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have used this small hotel as our extra bedroom for house guests. This week we needed several rooms. Every person was complementary about the rooms and service. The staff went out of their way to make everyone comfortable.

We used their meeting room and it was comfortable and private. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rpfrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I was a long term business client staying at The Guest House from January of 2012 until June of 2012. Your hotel was wonderful. The owners and staff were excellent, professional and very friendly. They made me feel at home the entire time. The nicest people I had the pleasure to live with. The accommodations and amenities were top notch. From the great continental breakfast everyday and the variety of cookies awaiting you every night to the pool plus the use of the golf course. The grounds are beautiful and you truly feel like you are staying more at a family run B&B/Inn or a resort. The beautiful area of Aiken SC had all the shops and restaurants and charm of the South. My room was always immaculately cleaned and the new flat screen TVs was a nice touch. The single biggest complement I have for this Inn is the staff. They made the entire stay wonderful. Sharing a Super bowl party with them, regular mixers and other events plus the day to day friendship are an aspect of a hotel that doesn’t see communicated in feedback polls. A wonderful group of people running the hotel and it shows. Anything I needed they were there to help. It was difficult to leave and say good bye to my new friends. A staff like this is a rare jewel in hotels today and they deserve the kudos for making me feel welcomed and taken care of for six months. The owners are great folks who will work hard to ensure your stay is wonderful.

I would recommend The Guest House at Houndslake to anyone heading down to SC for golfing, equine activities or business if you are working at the SRS facility.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jsicuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
1.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#3 of 20 in Aiken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Houndslake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Houndslake

Property: The Inn at Houndslake
Address: 897 Houndslake Drive, Aiken, SC 29803-5921 (Formerly The Guest House at Houndslake)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Houndslake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Houndslake is a 34 room hotel beautifully situated on a golf course in the heart of a residential resort in the city limits of Aiken, South Carolina. Most all our rooms have lovely golf views and our friendly staff will make your stay a memorable one. As a guest you receive privileges to use all of the amenities of Houndslake Country Club, dining, golf, and tennis plus swimming in the Olympic sized pool during the summer months. We currently offer an individual golf package at $99 per person based on double occupancy. This will give you the opportunity to stay and play without the need for transportation. Customized golf packages are available to include play at other courses in the surrounding areas. Susan Lott, a licensed massage therapist and personal trainer has her studio located on site and is available by appointment. Our guests have rated us the number #1 Inn on TripAdvisor! Whether you are planning a weekend golf outing, a family visit or a company meeting, you and your friends will appreciate the comfort and convenience of the unique Inn at Houndslake! We offer corporate, government, and group rates and look forward to helping you plan your special event. If you need lodging for an extended stay, we provide special long term rates. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, golf retreat, cultural weekend or just a place to enjoy the peace and quiet of nature, The Inn at Houndslake is the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Houndslake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing