We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Rose Hill Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aiken
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Hill Estate
Ranked #2 of 7 Aiken B&B and Inns
Okatie, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at Rose Hill July 30, 2013 on a sightseeing trip to Aiken for our anniversary. We had a delightful time and the property was fascinating. The owners and staff were very accommodating and the breakfast was outstanding. We found Aiken to be a unique and charming city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
21
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Rose Hill is such a beautiful place from the grounds, to the buildings, to the beautiful interior. Old World Charm describes both the Estate and the owners! Stephen and Eva were so accommodating, organized, and friendly. Stayed at Rose Hill for one night and had dinner at the Stables restaurant. The room we stayed in was fabulous -- very comfortable beds. My favorite room in the main building was the wood paneled room where they have a huge fireplace. So Downton Abbey!! We sipped our cocktails and enjoyed the atmosphere while sitting in the overstuffed leather chairs. Heaven! The dinner at the Stables was fabulous and the service wonderful. I loved wandering around the Estate exploring the beautiful gardens -- truly one of a kind outdoor space. Hearing the history of the gardens from Stephen was extremely interesting -- he took the time to take us all around the Estate. They have done a fabulous job maintaining the gardens -- very, very impressive. Eva prepared a wonderful breakfast for us -- it was really a huge spread. She not only prepared the traditional fare (bacon, eggs, potatoes, grits, biscuits) but ALSO a continental breakfast (pastries, meats, cheeses, jams and jellies). I ate too much! We loved walking into town and strolling through all the fabulous stores -- the Aiken downtown is really bustling and quite charming. I can't say enough about how much I loved staying at the Rose Hill Estate and exploring the Aiken downtown. What a great couple of days. We will definitely return to the Rose Hill again and again -- this is a very unique place run by wonderful folks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bamcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

All contact leading up to the wedding (outdoor wedding and reception) was superior. Kena and the rest of the staff were marvelous! The average rating comes from the the actual event. Knowing the weather (rain and cool weather--high of 60 degrees) was to be a factor for the wedding and reception, we rented a tent which was erected on the grounds. The owner and his wife could have handled the entire day a whole lot differently. I was on site at 9am and remained all day as point-of-contact for my daughter's wedding day. Most of our guests retreated to the inside of the estate to escape the weather and cool temps. The DJ was playing inside (as planned). Dancing began in the main room. The owner of the estate continually placed and table and chairs in the middle of the rug on the dance floor. He never approached me to discuss why he continued to move the table. After the fact, I am told that he didn't want anyone dancing on the rug. That could have been handled differently--i.e., he could have approached me earlier in the day to say that he felt it necessary to put down a dance floor over the rug and to let me know how much it would cost me. As a result, I had many guests talk to me and tell me how rude he was. The entire staff continually expressed the apologies to me regarding the owners (both of them) actions. If you are merely staying as an overnight guest, perhaps your experience might be much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SweetPea2bk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We chose to stay at this B&B because it was the venue for the wedding we were attending. We ended up being the only guests in the whole estate, so it was quite wonderful! The beds were very comfortable and the down comforters were fantastic! Bathrooms are shared by 2 or three rooms, but they are very spacious and pleasant. Everything was extremely clean and well-maintained for a house of almost 200 years old! The staff was very wonderful and overly accommodating. Eva, the housekeeper, is a very lovely German woman who cooks an absolutely wonderful breakfast. It was almost two meals in one. Overall, the house is beautifully decorated and maintained, and everyone makes you feel like family. This is certainly a repeat destination.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoscba85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a better layout for two couples traveling together. We each had our own spacious bedroom, and shared one bathroom. Breakfast was absolutely awesome! Eva is VERY accomodating and will make anything you'd like for breakfast. You won't need lunch after one of Eva's excellent breakfasts.
The on-site restaurant is incredible - the best food and service we found in Aiken.
There's a lovely bar/TV room with overstuffed leather chairs for watching TV or playing cards. This was a great place for us to hang out and watch the Masters when we weren't at Augusta.
The story of this historic site is wonderful, and Steven and Eva are wonderful hosts. They're very flexible, accomodating, and clearly enjoy what they're doing.

A couple of small improvements would make this spot even better: Because there are so few employees, it was occasionally hard to find Eva, Steven, or Kena. Some method of contacting them from the main house would be helpful. And the main house would benefit from a little more time spent cleaning the common areas - carpets especially.

If we get back to Augusta/Aiken, we'll stay again at Rose Hill Estate. It's only 20 minutes from Augusta National, and it was wonderful to be staying away from Augusta itself. There's nothing quite this unique, quiet, or quaint in Augusta. Well worth the drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Terrific downtown location ; beautiful gardens; classic southern accommodations; food in the restaurant - outstanding***
Within walking distance to downtown shops; homemade desserts (even ice cream) to top off gourmet meal!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tompremotor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
243 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Our server was not very organized, food left a lot to be desired, food was not hot, but Luke warm. Eva was very hospitalble, and made the rounds in the lounge and dining room. Too, bad the chef doesn't know how to prepare The German food on the menu. Prices are high for what you get.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
0.6 mi away
The Willcox
The Willcox
#2 of 20 in Aiken
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aiken
Hotel Aiken
#11 of 20 in Aiken
148 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#4 of 20 in Aiken
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hill Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hill Estate

Property: Rose Hill Estate
Address: 221 Greenville Street NW, Aiken, SC 29801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Rose Hill to experience the charm of Aiken's most originally preserved "Winter Colony" estate. This downtown property encompasses a city block, yet the ambiance is intimate and timelessly elegant. Rose Hill is a regional treasure located on the highest elevation of the original Aiken plateau just two blocks from the downtown main street. Enjoy your stay in one of our fine rooms or suites, or treat your family to the comforts of our recently renovated Guest Cottage. Spend the day exploring our historic gardens or walk two short blocks to downtown. Aiken’s legendary golf courses, horse district, the Hitchcock Woods and unlimited equestrian activities are just minutes away. Rose Hill Estate is one of the finest homes of the Winter Colony and the first house in Aiken on the National Historic Register. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Hill Estate Hotel Aiken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing