We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding accommodations exceeded only by super friendly and efficient staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose Hill Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aiken
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Hill Estate
Ranked #2 of 7 Aiken B&B and Inns
1 review
“Outstanding accommodations exceeded only by super friendly and efficient staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Terrific downtown location ; beautiful gardens; classic southern accommodations; food in the restaurant - outstanding***
Within walking distance to downtown shops; homemade desserts (even ice cream) to top off gourmet meal!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tompremotor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
21
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
243 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Our server was not very organized, food left a lot to be desired, food was not hot, but Luke warm. Eva was very hospitalble, and made the rounds in the lounge and dining room. Too, bad the chef doesn't know how to prepare The German food on the menu. Prices are high for what you get.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We just stayed at Rose Hill Estate and it was the perfect place for friends to get together. The Rose Hill Estate is a remarkable historic property within the beautiful area of Aiken SC. The current owners of the Estate Eva and Stephen Mueller made our stay both comfortable and enjoyable. Eva, a remarkable woman, whose age I will not reveal, is son Stephen's "secret weapon". From Day 1, both Stephen and Eva made us feel like we were family on our visit to their beautiful estate. The grounds on the estate are so unique and a lot of history in Aiken starts with this property. There are a number of buildings on the property which includes a chapel, guest cottage and stables that was converted to a restaurant. We ate dinner there twice during our stay and it is as good as any 4/5 star restaurant in any city including New York. Clayton, the chef, is a talented gem and friendly and he is more then willing to meet any dietary restrictions. If you visit the property - dinner at the Stables is a MUST. We stayed in the Victorian mansion which has eight bedrooms uspstairs which are both decorated very nicely and are clean. Both Eva and Stephen were quite knowledgeable and always willing to share the history of the property and the Aiken area. There is a minimum of 14 fireplaces throughout the house and we were able to see all most of the rooms on our visit. Every bedroom is unique and tastefully decorated. Eva personally cooked our breakfast and made it a very warm and enjoyable experience. Eva only cooks when less then 10 people are staying on the property. After breakfast, go out and enjoy the beautiful gardens on the property. Both the Rose Hill Estate and the Aiken area offer visitors a enjoyable getaway. The Aiken Golf Club is just a few miles from the property and also offers golfers a significant challenge. If you are a golfer add this one to your bucket list. There is also the newer Cedar Creek Golf Course about 20 minutes outside of town. If you like golf, plan on playing both courses. I do not think you could meet two friendlier and warmer people then Eva and Stephen. They both made our visit a wonderful and enjoyable experience. I would highly recommend a visit to the Rose Hill Estate if you visit the Aiken area.

Room Tip: Only three rooms of the eight bedrooms in the mansion have private bathrooms attached to the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPF154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We held a small family gathering at the Rose Hill Estate and the food and service were outstanding! The table in the main room we were in was set up beautifully. We also had the use of the adjoining room where the bar was located. It was the perfect place for us to gather and take pictures before and after dinner, as it was full of comfy chairs, tables and a big fireplace. It was a very cozy room with a door that led out to the garden. The Rose Hill is a charming place, with gardens and a little chapel. We did not stay overnight, but our dining experience was a memborable one and the evening turned out perfectly. We hope to visit them again sometime when we are in the Aiken area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Rose Hill Estate is a beautiful old Victorian mansion on the outskirts of downtown Aiken. The setting is luxurious and peaceful.

Whether it was because most of their visitors come in the fall, winter and spring, I don't know, but when a problem arose, there was no one to speak to in the house about fixing it. Our shower head broke and as a result the shower was unuseable.

We were the only ones in the house. Also, there were no locks on the doors, including the front door, which allowed anyone to walk right on in if they so desired.

We didn't experience the onsite restaurant, but hope to try it next time we're in Aiken.

The breakfast - prepared by Eva - was a very pleasant surprise and filled us up, lterally, for the day. Eva, I think, made the experience that much more pleasant.

All in all our stay at Rose Hill was pleasant and the room was spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast very satisfying.

Room Tip: The suite we were in was roomy and comfortable. Even though the air conditioning hadn't been tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slcrgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Charming cottage with lots of room for my family to meet during the holidays.
Each bedroom had a bathroom, two bedrooms with sitting rooms. Roomy kitchen so everyone could participate in cooking Christmas dinner and a lovely dining room to linger after dinner. Perfect!
Welcomed our three dogs...who could ask for more?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We loved our two night stay at Ros Hill Estate. We were in town for a Saturday wedding that took place in their lovely garden. The hosts were very accommodating to us and our two well behaved children, ages 8 and 10. We reserved two rooms at the back of the house, the kids room had two twin beds and our room was actually two with a king bed in one and a queen in the adjoining room and shared a very large hallway bathroom with them. Our bed was so comfortable, I didn't wake up once. There is air conditioning and also a fan in the room. The price was reasonable considering all the space we had, the delicious homemade breakfasts, the huge yard that the kids enjoyed exploring, and the gorgeous old house.

We could walk to the downtown shops but it felt like it's own far-away oasis.

See my photos. I had such fun checking out the entire house. This is a fabulous place for a wedding with so many versatile indoor and outdoor options.

Room Tip: Rooms over kitchen may be less noisy if event on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoolieBoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aiken
Hotel Aiken
#11 of 20 in Aiken
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#3 of 20 in Aiken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hill Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hill Estate

Property: Rose Hill Estate
Address: 221 Greenville Street NW, Aiken, SC 29801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Rose Hill to experience the charm of Aiken's most originally preserved "Winter Colony" estate. This downtown property encompasses a city block, yet the ambiance is intimate and timelessly elegant. Rose Hill is a regional treasure located on the highest elevation of the original Aiken plateau just two blocks from the downtown main street. Enjoy your stay in one of our fine rooms or suites, or treat your family to the comforts of our recently renovated Guest Cottage. Spend the day exploring our historic gardens or walk two short blocks to downtown. Aiken’s legendary golf courses, horse district, the Hitchcock Woods and unlimited equestrian activities are just minutes away. Rose Hill Estate is one of the finest homes of the Winter Colony and the first house in Aiken on the National Historic Register. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Hill Estate Hotel Aiken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing