We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Comfort”
Review of Swamp Fox - CLOSED

Swamp Fox
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We would like to Welcome you to Swamp Fox, please come by so we can greet you with a smile and serve you the best of Aiken voted 1st place by the Aiken Standard Readers Choice Award. Bring the family we'll make you feel right at home. Thank you, Aiken Readers...For the best of Aiken, compare us to any chain restaurant or our compilation and you will find you will only receive the best for your dollar, we make the best dishes in Aiken. An award winning restaurant.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently had lunch at this new restaurant in Aiken. The service was warm and knowledgeable. The shrimp and grits were a nice portion size for lunch. We are interested in trying dinner here and have heard favorable reviews from neighbors. Let's hope dinner is a success.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbottRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice lunch stop in Aken, GA”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We happened to drive past this place on our way to downtown Aiken. I was taking two girls (one a horse addict) and their mother on a day trip to visit all of the painted horses of Aiken and really wanted them to experince the special charm of Aiken, SC. This turned out to be the perfect stop. Two of us split the "special" of chicken pot pie and vegies. One had a grilled cheese with bacon and tomato and the other had a club sandwich. Everyone enjoyed their meal but I would skip the cheddar grilled cheese and go for another cheese. I did not like the texture of the shredded cheddar and wondered if it was prepackaged shreded cheese. The sweet potato fries were excellent. Pass on the hot tea unless they have gotten a better selection (no true black tea, all with spices). Atmosphere was great and the people were friendly and helpful. Our 8 year old in attendance remarked at how nice the people in Aken are.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traceyembly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly Southern Food”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Right now, giving a 4, may go up to a 5 with my next visit. A new restaurant in town (formerely Olive Oyl's). Open for breakfast, weekend brunch, lunch and dinner. We recently tried it for a late lunch. Sandwiches, burgers, dogs, salads and specials. Everything was freshly made, portions were generous service was good. Met the owner who gave us copies of menus - many things sounded very interesting. Will definitely return and provide an update.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank queen231c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“BEST steak I've had in years!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

After some business downtown, we decided to stop in and try this new restaurant open on Chesterfield Road. "Fine Southern" was its claim. We love the outdoor dining and the small wine & beer selection were just enough to get us going.
Relaxing a bit before we ordered, the patio slowly began to fill, but we never felt rushed and our waiter was attentive without being overbearing, willing to wait for us to order when WE were ready.
I chose a grilled fish & found it nicely prepared, plenty enough to take home for more the next day.
However, my husband made THE BEST CHOICE, the ribeye. OH MY! It was a wonderful piece of meat, superbly grilled, simply the best piece of beef we have had in YEARS! (And we have a steak at home or out nearly weekly).
Hopefully this restaurant makes it. I have enjoyed the two predecessors in this location (Cajun, Italian) but the slight walk from Laurens St. downtown... seems to make it difficult to be successful..
C'mon, let's ENJOY/support this one!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyCSterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing