We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Prime Steakhouse

Prime Steakhouse
Ranked #14 of 177 Restaurants in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (803) 642-4488
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
461 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Our party of 6 recently ate at Prime for my daughter-in-laws birthday and we were not disappointed! I had the bone in filet which was tender, succulent and cooked perfectly. Everyone loved their meal, service and ambiance!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lbouknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    41
    16
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Don't expect your kids can sit on your table”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We wanted to take friends for a special dinner to celebrate a birthday. No problems with the reservation, but when the manager showed us our table we were shocked. We asked for two high chairs for a 3 year and 14 month old kid. We got a bar table for four adults and there were two high chairs for the kids. I should have taken a picture - the heads of the kids would have been at the level of our shoes!!! If children are not welcome, the restaurant could have told us before taking our reservation. That's just not a way to treat customers! It was the most unpleasant and rude experience we ever had. Do I have to say we left without eating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabiSchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tewksbury, ma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Visited Prime Steakhouse while in town on business. I usually get one of their fantastic steaks, but this visit I opted for an appetizer and salad. The salad is always great, fresh crisp lettuce and fantastic house-made salad dressing. The app I had was the Thai Chili Duck Tacos, what I great app! Generous slices of duck breast, slaw and just the right amount of spice.

The restaurant was busy and the service was very attentive as usual. The whole staff works seamlessly to provide great service for their guests!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennish124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Varied Menu, Great Prime Rib Special, Very Loud on Weekends!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We finally made it to Prime last night. Not huge red meat eaters but can appreciate a good steak every now and then. My Primerib was medium rare as expected, very tasty and came with mashed potatoes, a small spoonful of veggies, au jus and horse radish on the side and 2 delightful onion rings on top. A family sytle salad made mainly with iceburg lettuce and a small side container of blue cheese came to the table first.
Each glass of house wine was decent and generous. Our server Jennifer was outstanding. She remembered to ask about the little things, e.g. horseradish vs. the creamy sauce for my Prime rib. As busy as she was, she checked on us frequently.
Others at the table had salmon, veal parmesan and the deboned rib eye. All were pleased with their choices. I asked for the eclair desert to go. I was disappointed in that it was filled with whipped cream. As much as I love that, I am old fashioned and was expecting a creamy filling inside to make my night complete. The pastry was also a bit dry.
An expensive night out with a bill of about $220 for 4 (excluding tip), with no appetizers, 4 glasses of wine, 2 desserts and no coffee.
We'll go back again but during the week for a special night out.
The restaurant was quite full and Everyone was screaming at each other to be heard. The topper was when the poor waitress had a large table next to us and she had to yell the specials at the top of her lungs so everyone could attempt to hear her. We heard her fine!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LGV2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and delicious food from a party of 8!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Our group tried the pork chop, steak, and chicken piccata. Delicious and huge portions--everyone raved! House salad served with a light dressing was excellent! Owner and waitress were both accommodating. A wonderful evening was enjoyed by all! We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lightshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing