We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent our Wedding Weekend here”

The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate
Ranked #8 of 177 Restaurants in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, German, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: After three years of extensive renovations to make the turn of the century horse stables (one of four in America)into a beautiful and cozy place for diners, The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate opened in the fall of 2009. The restaurant and catering is directed by two experienced and creative culinary school graduates. The Dinner menu is freshly prepared with premium ingredients featuring seafood, steaks, plus German and Italian dishes. A smaller menu is available for casual dining in the bar, screened porch, patio and beer garden. The Stables Restaurant moves to the Mansion Inn from Dec 31-March 17
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spent our Wedding Weekend here”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We got married in the chapel, rented the guest house for the weekend and had dinner for our wedding party & guests in the Stables. Everything was lovely. The food is to die for!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    23
    22
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Neat find”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

My first visit to Aiken and I discovered this place. Atmosphere is neat, dine out and enjoy fried green tomatoes and shrimp and grits. Just relax and enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abeily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Get The Pork Belly!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

On a recent trip to Aiken, we dined at The Rosehill Stables Restaurant twice - the second time because the first time was so fabulous. They've recently chenged their menu, and every thing we orderrred was nothing short of incredible. We had double orders of the carmelized pork belly appetizer both nights - - that alone was worth the trip from Michigan!
The service was awesome, and we found no better food anywhere in the area. A little hard to find due to signage regulations, but well worth the effort.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trixien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Good food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Kudos to Chef Nate at Rosehill Stables Restaurant! Creme Vichyssoise Glacce and She-Crab Bisque appetitizers, Black Forest Schnitzel and Chicken Pesto Fettuccini main courses, German chocolate cake and Apple Caramel pastry with fresh vanilla bean ice cream! Can't wait to go back to try other entrees! Beautiful gardens await for an after dinner stroll.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hard to Find ... But Well Worth the Search!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Love, love, loved it the first night I arrived. Went back the last night of my one-week stay. Food is amazing! Service is exceptional! Prices unbelievably reasonable ... "You eat with your eyes first" seems to be a common saying amongst chefs. I've been disappointed one too many times with that analogy. However ... it fits with Rosehill. Feast your eyes ... and then romance your tastebuds! The crab cakes are my favourite. But all the apps are great. Hubby and I always order different apps and share. The entrees are few. But they are fresh and the pasta is made in-house. They do have specials not on the menu. Hangar steak is perfectly braised to medium rare ... served with caramelized onions ... Scallops are golden seared with the palate-pleasing creamy centre ... the lobster macaroni and cheese needs to be renamed! I almost did not order it based on the name alone. What a tasty surprise! Can't wait to revisit in five weeks! We had the pleasure of being served by Kenna both nights. She is southern hospitality personified! It was a perfect evening both times! See you soon ...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdNor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate also viewed

 

Been to The Stables Restaurant at Rose Hill Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing