We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay, but avoid the Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay, but avoid the Restaurant”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I frequently stay at Hilton Hotels. The staff at the Hilton Garden Inn in Aiken, SC were professional, courteous, and eager to assist guests. Overall, we had no complaints about the hotel. The restaurant, however, was another story. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant only once during our stay there. The waitress was not the least bit interested in serving us, never asked if we needed anything else, did not offer refills on coffee, did not explain anything about the menu, and was generally ineffective. The gentleman at the table next to us actually got up and got coffee from the takeout area because the waitress never came to take his order. Mind you, we were the only two tables occupied at the time. We gave the restaurant another try for dinner one evening. Better than breakfast, but not definitely not worth a second visit. I usually find the restaurants at Hilton Hotels to be fairly good; however it is hard to find anything positive about the dining at this hotel. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookcrazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Ower Representative at Hilton Garden Inn Aiken, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to see that you enjoy the staff at the hotel. I am very sorry that you did not have a good experience in our restaurant. I am disappointed to learn that the restaurant staff did not take good care of you. Please let us know if there is anything that we can do for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    113
    43
    18
    15
See reviews for
111
67
24
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tewksbury, ma
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Being a Hilton Honors member I usually stay at Hilton properties. I usually stay at this HGI when I travel to Aiken on business. The HGI in Aiken is your typical HGI, maybe 2 yrs old (?). This hotel is set off the main road which makes it quiet, I get a good nights rest. The front desk staff is always helpful, nice lobby to meet up with co-workers. Rachel at the bar servers up great drinks and good recommendation for local restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennish124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Hilton Garden Inn Aiken, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stays with us. I am happy to know that we are your hotel of choice in Aiken, SC. We really appreciate your loyalty. I appreicate you taking the time to recognize Rachel for her service. We look forward to seeing you agian very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and the location of the property. There was a problem with the TV but they did resolve it. The food was very good and freshly cooked. The bartender was less than friendly but the rest of the staff made up for her.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Hilton Garden Inn Aiken, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Aiken. I am delighted to see that you had a good experience wiith us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. In the meantime, we wish you safe travels and much success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, AL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a Tuesday night in January to attend a family funeral. The hotel was fully booked but the check in was exceptionally quick and easy. The room was very clean and seemed new. When booking I choose to include the breakfast with my room rate ($170.94 for three people). This was the only real disappointment. There were not very many options for someone who doesn't like eggs, waffles or pancakes. Next time I would save the money and go out for breakfast.

The staff was friendly and very helpful. They knew we were in town for a funeral and expressed their sympathy.

The hotel is in a good location with a variety of restaurants and shopping areas nearby. I would consider staying at the Hilton Garden Inn again if I could get a lower rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HylaTreeFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

As a brand spanking new hotel - this property is wonderful. From the customer service end they could use some help.

I couldn't have been happier with the room I was given. New, clean and well appointed. The breakfast in the mornings was well done and the restaurant staff very friendly.

That, however, is where the customer service stopped! My interactions with the front office staff (group sales chiefly and GM) were far from customer focused and very unpleasant at best.

If you can look past the poor training and lack of customer service by the management of this property and quickly get to your room you should be ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ERORl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Hilton Garden Inn Aiken, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your candid review of your experience with us. I am happy to see that you enjoyed the hotel accomodations. I am very disappionted to hear that you did not recieve good service from our GM and DOS. If you have time to share more details we would llike to be able to address your concerns. You can reach me at jrose@sycamoreinvestments.com with your contact information and I will follow up with you directly, offline. Thank you for lettig us know we missed an opporutnity to delver an all around outstanding experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for one evening with family. The hotel is very clean, the staff were very friendly and the rooms seemed new. The wi-fi was free and worked well. The hotel is near a mall, which is somewhat depressing b/c half of the stores are empty. The downtown is only a five minute drive. I also chose the bed and breakfast option bc I was traveling with 2 kids. It's a good value for the money (we were four in total). The eggs weren't the greatest, but it is a good deal given the other items available at breakfast (cereal, coffee, juice, yogurt, etc). While Aiken is short on entertainment, the Hilton Garden Inn, made my stay enjoyable. In the next few years I will likely return to Aiken (for family events) and will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales and Marketing, Owner Representative at Hilton Garden Inn Aiken, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that you had a good experience with us and found us to be a good value. If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay even better, please don't hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family and I stayed one night to visit family in Aiken. The check-in process was quick, and the guy working the front desk was very friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious. I'm not sure when the hotel was built, but it is not dated. The mattress on the beds had adjustments to make it firm or soft. I had mine set to soft and woke up in the middle of the night sinking into the mattress. I adjusted it back to firm, and was comfortable. It is located near a mall with major stores and restaurants. They have free wi-fi. We stayed on the fourth floor and the Internet speeds were fast. I believe this hotel is one of the best places you will find in Aiken. If and when we come back to Aiken my family and I will stay here again.

Room Tip: The fourth floor has fast wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales and Marketing, Owner Representative at Hilton Garden Inn Aiken, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to see that you had a good experience and enjoyed the hotel. An enthusiastic trip advisor review is the best compliment we can get. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#4 of 20 in Aiken
297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
3.3 mi away
The Willcox
The Willcox
#2 of 20 in Aiken
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Aiken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Aiken

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
Address: 350 Eastgate Dr, Aiken, SC 29803-7900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Aiken
#5 Family Hotel in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Aiken 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken Hotel Aiken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing