We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Must Move On”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Estill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We Must Move On”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Sadly, it is time for us to move on. For several years we have enjoyed this property for it's convenience to Highfields, reasonable price and cleanliness. We usually stay 5-6 times a year, so you can understand my disappointment. Since our last visit 6 months ago this property had drastically declined. I think there may be new management because our distressed issues were never addressed by management the entire weekend. The desk clerk did her best to be professional, but she was very limited in what she could do to help us. She kept saying that the management has been informed.
Long story short, after 3 room changes we were satisfied enough to complete our stay. However, the toilet ran, the A/C blew air, but not condensed air, there was not a single ice maker working on the property and the refrigerator soaked the carpet from leaking. If management had responded to us we may consider another try, but I still haven't heard a word from them.

Room Tip: There isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    10
    10
    21
See reviews for
30
17
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

They had a decent breakfast, but unfortunately some not-so-nice guest took a bunch of stuff in bags. I wished they would have gotten on to them or been faster to replace the lack of food.

Otherwise it was fine, there is a Fresh Market, Jimmy John's, and Applebee's within walking distance. They were power washing the concrete, so they were trying to keep it clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCKelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1261118, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
dos155, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review,

Thank you for your review on the Clarion Inn & Suites. Yes we do pride ourselves on service and we are glad you enjoyed our southern hospitality. We are looking into the problem you mentioned at the hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We also look forward to you coming back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This motel needs a total re-do. The carpet was tired and dirty looking, stain on hassock, very small room with two queen beds, mattresses were just okay. Bathroom was clean. Groups of young men/patrons drinking beer and were noisy at night. They tossed chicken bones, beer bottle caps and cigarette buts all over the area. Walkways were dirty.There were two computers for use but, none worked. I will state that the employees were polite and sorry to hear the concerns. And, we had our large dog with us who had been treated with his monthly flea preventative. Good thing because I found a flea in my suitcase when I returned to my very clean home! I was charged an extra fee for my dog, too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aiken hotels

Ripley, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We checked in on Sat excited to be going to The Masters. Late Sat my father was admitted to he hospital and he died. We checked out and it was a 2day reservation with no refund and there was no exception, even death of a father. I understand it was a special weekend but the motel was not full. The rate was already greatly increased $167 a night for a very small and run down room. No Masters for us just grief and lack of compassion by management. AAA even called them trying to get a refund for the second night. Do you really want to give your $ to greedy, heartless owners?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 209Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

1. Pool was unusable, not sure if that was the time of year or it's natural state.
2. The deadbolt on the door did not work. Eek!
3. The room reeked of bleach, from the bathroom to the sheets. At least it was clean, with minimal chances of bedbugs. But it smelled like they were trying to hide a dead body!
4. The vending machine was out of order, and had been for a long time according to the front desk. We were told to go to the hotel behind us. Next time we will just stay there, instead!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1261118, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
We are so sorry you were disappointed with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My reservation for 1 night in January and 1 in February was messed up. They booked me for 2 nights in January on the same night. Desk guy wasn't at the desk when I tried to check in. Had to wait in my car until he returned. Desk guy wasn't able to switch the double reservation for 1 room in January and 1 room in February. He called the manager who was to get back to me the next day. I've called several times but Manager never returned my calls.
Impossible to find rooms in dark as you drive around the building. Can't see room numbers. Have to pull car in and put car lights on high.
Lousy breakfast choices. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos155, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We do apologize you did not enjoy your stay. In response to your reservation, you made the reservation on line through the Choice Reservation System. We did not do it here at the hotel. This was made on November 18, 2013 and you didn't confirm your dates to see if you made them correctly. Our Front Desk Staff was helping another guest at the time of your arrival. He did check you in and your wait was minimal. As for breakfast all other guests seem to love the hot breakfast that we offer daily including bacon and sausage. We have not had any complaints.
As far as a manger getting back to you the next day it was explained to you that you made an Advance Purchase rate and rules clearly state it is nonrefundable. There wasn't anything the manager could do. Again please accept our apologizes but in the future we do hope you confirm your reservations before your arrival at the hotel where possibly something could have been done to help you with the error you made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We've stayed here many times over the years and always had a pleasant experience. We normally check in late and have always been greeted by a friendly clerk and the rooms are always clean and adequate. The parking lot in the back needs better lighting, but other than that I've never had any complaints. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alsabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos155, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review on the Clarion Inn & Suites. Yes we do pride ourselves on service and we are glad you enjoyed our southern hospitality. We are looking into the lighting in the rear of the hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We also look forward to you coming back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Aiken
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 20 in Aiken
136 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#4 of 20 in Aiken
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites
Address: 155 Colony Pkwy, Aiken, SC 29803-7483 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Aiken/Whiskey Road)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Aiken
Holiday Inn Aiken
Holiday Inn Express Aiken
Aiken Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing