We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely service”
Review of The Willcox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Willcox
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Greenwich, CT
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely service”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We were very well treated at the Willcox, and although there was confusion with someone of the same name checking into our room, we were given a lovely suite (an upgrade) without their missing a beat.
The decor is comfortable, but perhaps a little confusing with the variety of different chairs which are around the lobby and halls-- it wasn't clear if they were in the midst of deciding which ones to keep and which ones to move away-- but I would vote for the latter choice.
The decor of our room also very comfortable, if dated.
We were somewhat disappointed with breakfast. The choices were somewhat limited and the toaster was broken so that only one person could toast at once. Things break, but perhaps such a reputable hotel would have an spare ready to go.
In general, the atmosphere and congeniality made up for any deficits, and I would choose the Willcox again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank glenelg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    48
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
127
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Beautiful place to visit. The rooms are very nice and comfortable, the service was very good. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and I really enjoyed the food and the ambience. In the morning I run and in the local park and it was great. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmachaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Two girlfriends and I have just returned from a lovely overnight stay at the gracious, historic Willcox. We plan to return.

We whiled away a rainy Friday afternoon and evening in the welcoming lobby. Cushy couches, over-sized chairs and game tables (there are plenty of puzzles and board games) invite you to linger. A tiny corner bar -- with one of the friendliest bartenders we've ever encountered -- serves interesting cocktails, wines and apps. The bartender was knowledgeable about the menu and made great recommendations.

Many of the guests seemed to be in town for a horse show. This is, after all, horse country. That's reflected in the art throughout the property.

Dinner at the hotel restaurant was stellar: Warm bread, a Caesar salad that was pure artistry and a surprisingly special chicken dish (with the crispy skin left on and with golden raisins). The desserts we shared were sublime. Do NOT leave without trying the fried brownie bites. You'll wonder why they're not served everywhere.

Our small room was elegant, and the bedding was special ordered from Heaven above. Our view (of a mud hole) was unfortunate, but we were hardly in the room and hardly noticed.

The continental breakfast was simple and sufficient. Bagels and muffins, hard-cooked eggs, berries, cereals, juice and coffee were enough to get us started off on a morning of pre-spa shopping.

The spa attendants and services were top-notch. But the spa seems to be very small. There were only three treatment rooms, from what I could tell -- and one of those is meant for two people. My friend and I got our facials and massages in the same room. We are old, dear friends and didn't mind ... but we both said a heads-up would've been nice.

The only other hiccup was at check-out. The front desk checked me out (and charged my credit card) hours before I actually left the property. I was in the spa -- which their records should've indicated -- but they said they assumed we had left and and charged the card on file.

But that's really a small quibble with what was otherwise a delightful stay at a charming property. The food, the warm ambiance and spa services are reason to return -- as is adorable downtown Aiken.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Have_fun_will_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just got back from our 7th or 8th stay at the Willcox and we already want to go back. If you need a break from the kids I highly recommend you stay one night if not a weekend at the Willcox. If it's Fall or Winter get a room with a fireplace and in the spring or summer try the Roosevelt Suite or The Churchill Suite and enjoy the terraces.

The wife and I have hit the spa a couple of times and they are excellent at massaging away your stress. Donna has gotten a couple of Mani/Pedi's from the spa as well and she really liked it because she says it lasted a long time.

The pool is awesome during the summertime and you will feel like you are at a resort when they bring you drinks.

The beds are so good we have replicated them at our home from the featherbeds to the duvet and pillows. Everyone else must have done this because I noticed they are selling signature Willcox bedding stuff in the book now.

Matt the concierge will take care of all of your needs and oftentimes Shannon the owner will be working the front desk and she will bend over backwards for you as well.

Thanks again to Shannon, Matt, and the rest of the staff and we will see y'all in the summer if not sooner.

Room Tip: Get the eggs benedict for room service breakfast or stay for the Sunday Brunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This lovely property in the heart of Aiken, South Carolina is well-prepared for the discerning guest. From arrival to departure, this Inn is pleasing. The staff is very personable, the guest room is inviting, the dining staff is very attentive and the evening meal was delicious. With my preference being a full, gourmet breakfast, the continental fare did not meet my expectation of such a wonderful Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the center of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alleycat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

There really are no words to adequately describe this wonderful hotel. Grace, charm, service - all the accolades one can think of. You truly do feel like you are at home here at the Willcox! Staff was outstanding and treat you like you are royalty and the only one staying there. Good job Willcox. By the way, do not miss eating at the restaurant. Food and service again is outstanding.

Room Tip: Rooms are all different and very beautifully appointed in old southern charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BessieKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our most recent stay, but certainly not our only or by no means our last, simply must be memorialized for others to know. The Willcox is a unique world class boutique hotel located in the horse town of Aiken. It's regal beauty is authentic, thus true to form in all aspects from architecture to attention to detail to supreme service to the finest of dining. Down filled four poster beds with the finest of linens await a tired body and mind. Thoughtful and knowledgeable staff anticipating your every need and there to assist you with all aspects of your visit. The hushed understated elegance just oozes from every corner of this Hotel. Simply wish we could live there...

Room Tip: All are wonderful, but I would recommend the second floor front facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryPatricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aiken
Hotel Aiken
#12 of 20 in Aiken
151 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#4 of 20 in Aiken
296 reviews
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willcox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willcox

Property: The Willcox
Address: 100 Colleton Ave SW, Aiken, SC 29801-4870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aiken
#1 Green Hotel in Aiken
#5 Business Hotel in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Willcox 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning, historic Willcox Hotel cultivates a sophisticated, yet informal glamour amidst America's storied thoroughbred country. Cloud soft beds, an intimate Salon & Spa and one of the South's Best Restaurants - All in a setting of Easy Going Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Willcox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willcox Hotel Aiken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing