We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience. One of the very best small hotels.”
Review of The Willcox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Willcox
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Aiken is a little gem of a town that surprises you with it's beautifully landscaped downtown and the Willcox is its understated miniature grand hotel. Tucked away on a side street it is easy to miss and that would be a mistake. This hotel is a study in how small details and extra effort can create an exceptional experience. The rooms are very comfortable and appointed in a classic, elegant style but with the modern touches you expect - like flat screen HD television with Directv. The staff are eager to please and willing to do whatever they can to enhance your stay. The food is exceptional and a very good value. The hotel features a lovely lobby and nice little sitting areas dotted around the hallways. The pool is salt water, very clean and they have created a pool area that is just a treat to hang out in. The fitness center is well equipped and clean and the spa facilities are good. Every facet is well delivered even down to the "light" continental breakfast which was one of the most interesting, home made and beautifully presented, more like an inn or b&b. This hotel is first class but in a casual, comfortable, easy going way. What a nice surprise to find a hotel this good and a town this cute. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 264 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

The dining room at the Willcox is simply elegant. Dined there last night with visiting northern friends. Ambiance, service , food and drinks were all excellent. The hotel has managed to maintain the elegance of a bygone era, but also be modern and up to date. I know that sounds like an anomaly, but it is true.
If you are visiting Aiken or the area, must stop by The Willcox - at least for a libation in the wood paneled lobby, better yet, treat yourself to a great lunch , brunch or dinner!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queen231c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We came down to the Willcox on a girl's weekend to celebrate an untraditional bachelorette party. We had rented out the two largest suites at the Willcox, which was fantastic and perfect for the occasion. The suites are huge, and well-appointed. The bathrooms are lovely, with their separate tubs and showers. We truly enjoyed our weekend, sitting out on the terrace near the pool (sadly it was still too cold in April to go swimming still), and had a nice brunch in the dining room. We all got spa treatments, which were nice--I had a hot stone massage, which blissfully put me to sleep, although I wouldn't count the small and basic treatment rooms as being a real "spa." The Willcox is a real getaway--it's kind of in the middle of nowhere, and knowing that, dining and drinking options, although within walking distance of the hotel, are somewhat limited.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelrabbit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at The Willcox for business travel in June 2013. My room was very comfortable and quiet - great nights sleep. The staff was always friendly, attentive and accommodating. I will definately stay at The Willcox whenever I'm in town again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennish124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I had my doubts when we got there on a Friday night and the lobby was packed, restaurant was full, and people were everywhere! We were told we could grab a seat anywhere, outside, in the lobby, in our room and they would bring us our food.

But I quickly realized that the casual, laid back atmosphere is what makes this small hotel so great.

The food was really good, the room was nice, the service was excellent. The pool was small, but amazing because most of the time there was only one or two people there.

Breakfast - they have fresh breads, yummy teas, homemade Greek yogurt to die for. But like most hotels if you get there at the very end of breakfast they are out of a lot of stuff.

Lots of great restaurants within walking distance, downtown a few blocks away. Hotel has bikes that make a fun way to see the area. Horse stables within blocks of the hotel.

I don't think there's enough to do to spend a whole week in Aiken, but for a weekend it is a fun getaway.

Also I had a facial and massage at spa by a girl named Amy, both were great.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Willcox Hotel is tucked into the sweetest town in the south, Aiken, SC. I visit Aiken every year and am always anxious to return to the this boutiquey hotel. The amenities are analogous to any Ritz or Four Seasons, and the staff are sweet and "on it".

You can walk everywhere in town from the hotel, to polo, to restaurants or, downstairs to their very popular restaurant.

I can't recommend this hotel enough. It's high end at it's highest, and comfort at it's best. You will genuinely feel like a local in luxury.

Room Tip: Make sure you eat at the restaurant, they have an extraodinary chef from New Zealand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived Thursday and were pleased to find an fantastic Jazz band playing so we cozied up on a big couch, enjoyed some wine and great paté. The room was gorgeous and the bed was so comfortable I had the best night sleep I had had in a long time. The rocking chairs on the front porch made a splendid place to enjoy our coffee the next morning before our walk in the Hitchcock woods. The message in the Willcox spa was just what we needed after our walk. The main street of town was so quaint we spent the day shopping and exploring. We were tired after shopping so for dinner we ordered room service and watched movies in our room, the meal was delicious. The art exhibit in the hotel was amazing as was the staff and the overall ambiance of the Willcox. I will definitely return to the Willcox.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ski-bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aiken
Hotel Aiken
#11 of 20 in Aiken
152 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#4 of 20 in Aiken
305 reviews
2.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willcox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willcox

Address: 100 Colleton Ave SW, Aiken, SC 29801-4870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aiken
#1 Green Hotel in Aiken
#5 Business Hotel in Aiken
Price Range: $210 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Willcox 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning, historic Willcox Hotel cultivates a sophisticated, yet informal glamour amidst America's storied thoroughbred country. Cloud soft beds, an intimate Salon & Spa and one of the South's Best Restaurants - All in a setting of Easy Going Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Willcox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willcox Hotel Aiken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing