We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willcox

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willcox
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
tewksbury, ma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Beautiful fantastic hotel. Completely restored to it's original glory. Stayed there in August 2012 with a large group. The rooms were out of this world, the bathroom was massive. I stayed in the Vanderbilt Suite (sitting room w/ gas fireplace, bedroom w/ gas fireplace, huge walk-in closet, huge bathroom w/ walk-in shower and soaking tub). The lobby was a great area to meet co-workers (I was there on business), as well as grab a drink from the bar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennish124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    37
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
101
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Willcox is a fabulous all around inn/restaurant! They are capable of handling large parties for weddings (inside or outside), and can just as easily serve a table for two with the same great service. The managers and employees work extremely hard to make your visit one you will remember, and want to come back for.

Room Tip: Go with the top of the line Roosevelt room, or a smaller one for a bit of savings. Either way, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
Level Contributor
194 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was a repeat visit but the first under the new owner. The historic (FDR used to stay here as it has a private rail spur) Willcox has become the place to stay, eat and enjoy quality entertainment, from local talent to Juilliard ensembles. The large, recently renovated hotel rooms are nicely decorated and bedding comfortable. Food and drink are reasonably priced but upscale for the area. Will recommend to friends and family and will make it a regular stop. Most class you will find within 100+ miles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritzytopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed here for one night and I so wished it was longer. This place is just sheer quality. The rooms are quaint, immaculate and welcoming. The entrance to the hotel is so pretty as is the reception/ lounge area. Love the cocktails and whilst I didn't eat here on this occasion I have done on a previous trip and it was great.
I look forward to returning and only hope it is soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnanicetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I traveled to The Willcox after seeing the lovely website and reviews online. We were not disappointed. What a lovely historic hotel! Staff was very accommodating, the restaurant was amazing, the bar was great, I highly recommend. The room was very comfortable, clean and the continental breakfast is very nice. My husband and I enjoyed cozying up to the fireplace is the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelmw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickiew
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is our second stay at The Willcox and we have found our second home. Its like stepping into a great big hug. The staff are extraordinarily helpful,the beds are so comfortable that the owners Geoff and Shannon will arrange for you to buy one,the rooms are spacious and well appointed and the food is excellent. What more can we say except see you all next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We came to Aiken to look at potentially moving here. What a wonderful city! The staff of the Wilcox was so helpful to us - any question no matter how trivial. The room was beautiful - and very comfortable. We had drinks at the bar a couple of times and we were treated like old friends. The restaurant was incredible. The location - in downtown Aiken - was so convenient. Just a warm, comfortable and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#2 of 20 in Aiken
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
2.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Aiken Whiskey Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willcox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willcox

Property: The Willcox
Address: 100 Colleton Ave SW, Aiken, SC 29801-4870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aiken
#1 Green Hotel in Aiken
#5 Business Hotel in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willcox 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning, historic Willcox Hotel cultivates a sophisticated, yet informal glamour amidst America's storied thoroughbred country. Cloud soft beds, an intimate Salon & Spa and one of the South's Best Restaurants - All in a setting of Easy Going Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Willcox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willcox Hotel Aiken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing