We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We're Sold!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Willcox

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Willcox to your Saves list
The Willcox
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Colleton Avenue SW, Aiken, SC 29801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We're Sold!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We came to Aiken to look at potentially moving here. What a wonderful city! The staff of the Wilcox was so helpful to us - any question no matter how trivial. The room was beautiful - and very comfortable. We had drinks at the bar a couple of times and we were treated like old friends. The restaurant was incredible. The location - in downtown Aiken - was so convenient. Just a warm, comfortable and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    34
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
95
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had never been to Aiken, SC and I didn't know what to book as there are no familiar hotels I usually stay (Marriott, Hilton). After seeing the reviews on this website, I decided to give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a throwback classic from decades ago but they keep it in good shape. It almost looks like a bed and breakfast but each room has its own hotel feel. The bed was very comfy and bed sheets/lining were top notch. The restaurant is excellent and service was very good overall. Only negative is that the rooms are not really set up for business travelers as the desk had no a/c outlets nearby. My rate also seemed a bit steep $185 per night for a small rural town, but considering the quality of all the other options around, it's reasonable. I'd most likely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayMoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My partner and I have stayed twice at this gorgeous historic hotel. Once in June and again in October. I cannot wait to stay there again.
The entire staff is gracious and attentive.
Both of our rooms and the bathrooms were luxurious & spacious.
The entrance to the hotel is a large living room filled with comfy sofas and little nooks for privacy. A great place for an end of the night cocktail or glass of wine. On some evenings they have entertainment in the front entry room. It is festive without being loud. We enjoyed the entire experience.
The restaurant is amazing as well. We ate there both times and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.The complimentary breakfast in the morning is a treat too.
I loved the pool too. The fountain is beautiful and whole enclosed area's atmosphere is very relaxing.
The hotel also has a small gym and salon.

Room Tip: Every room we've stayed in has been great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billytwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Aiken was my childhood home. The building that houses the Willcox was in complete disrepair when I was growing up, a dilapidated but beautiful exterior and decayed interior.

It has been restored to a place with the grace and elegance I always thought it was meant to have. But still more, it's a place where people can laugh and share timeless moments.

Yes, the rooms are beautiful, the architecture memorable, the food delicious, and the staff hospitable. But at the end of the day, there is something magical about the Willcox that speaks to the fact that the sum is beyond the sum of its parts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank True2True
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a wonderful inn! It felt like a big, really nice bed and breakfast vs. a hotel. The lobby was a cozy living room we didn't want to leave. The continental breakfast was exceptional - yummy home-made muffins, yogurt, granola among other items. The rooms were the perfect size with beds that felt like clouds. The staff was helpful, friendly, and accommodating. And the location is perfectly located for the charm of Aiken. My group truly did not want to depart!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AEGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for a Wedding in September, and it was first rate all the way. From service, to the atmosphere/history, to the food, the Wilcox is an amazing spot. The staff was outstanding and accommodating. The history and atmosphere here are worth the price (FDR and Winston Churchill the among past guests). The lounge/lobby has comfortable chairs and couches...it's a perfect spot for a drink and some of the "petites" appetizer menu. Do yourself a favor, get the poutine with crisp fries and gravy. The rooms were very well kept and the bed was very comfortable. The staff really went out of there way to make sure everyone had a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyL32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at The Willcox while attending an Art Show opening with friends. Everything was outstanding from the room, lobby and dining experience. Staff was very attentive and food/wine was excellent. We would recommend The Willcox to anyone looking for a delightful visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aiken
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#1 of 20 in Aiken
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aiken
Hotel Aiken
#13 of 20 in Aiken
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willcox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willcox

Property: The Willcox
Address: 100 Colleton Avenue SW, Aiken, SC 29801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aiken
#1 Green Hotel in Aiken
#5 Business Hotel in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willcox 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning, historic Willcox Hotel cultivates a sophisticated, yet informal glamour amidst America's storied thoroughbred country. Cloud soft beds, an intimate Salon & Spa and one of the South's Best Restaurants - All in a setting of Easy Going Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Willcox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willcox Hotel Aiken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing