We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauty and Education” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aiken County Historical Museum

Aiken County Historical Museum
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Aiken
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
AIKEN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beauty and Education”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This museum is housed in a magnificent old home (ca. 1930) and it's retained it's architectural integrity so it's gorgeous to walk through. The artifacts housed in this museum are numerous and well displayed. There's even a room where young children can play freely so they don't feel all stifled and bored. I've been here a few times and each time I come I learn something new and see something I didn't see before.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BAILEYG373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    20
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent museum experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

For a small city, the museum has a great many attractions. Kids love to play in the display set up for a hands-on experience. The historical artifacts and displays are great. There is no cost but donations are accepted.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great education of the Aiken, SC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Historical Home is the Museum and is very interesting and detailed. Has lots of great information about the south and of Aiken. We really loved the southern hospitality of the people that worked there and the beautiful surrounding. Well worth the time and it was free, you can leave a donation at the door.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheZonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great small town museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I love visiting the Aiken Historical museum. The house is absolutely gorgeous and the vast collection of local artifacts is great. I love all of the Winter Colony area artifacts and the display on New Ellenton is great. It's a definite must visit!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alsabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“One of the best local museums. Three amazing floors filled with unique educational exhibits.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The museum is located in a former mansion and is filled with treasures. I could have spent all day here and so can you! From Fred Astaire to the Hope diamond to the Civil war...you can learn so much. Each floor is packed with well organized displays. Love the circus? Check out the top floor. FREE but please donate to support this wonderful museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaTraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aiken County Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing