We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Aiken
Nearby Hotels
$84
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Aiken)(Great Value!)
$79
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
30
35
31
21
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
35
31
21
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquaint hotelbars downstairsoldest operatinghistoric feelcan't beat the locationawesome locationhotel staff isolder placehotel is greatold southsome tlca wonderful stayshopping and restaurantsnightlifeschampton
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 158 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel twice, once by myself and last week with my wife. I had some trepidation about staying there a second time as to say the hotel is quirky is an undersatement. But the hotel is so darn convenient and they do have a nice friendly bar, that I couldn't resist. Foolish me.

We were there last week (during the record breaking heat, 100 plus degrees every day), originally booked for 5 nights.

The first night the air conditioning went out in our room. We didn't sleep a wink. The next say, we asked to be moved to another room when they said the A/C compressor was shot in the first room. We packed all of our things and moved to the sevond room. This room's A/C was non functional as well. We asked to be moved again, and we packed again. Being so tired, we decided to take a nap. There was no way to turn off the ceiling fan light! Then THIS a/c unit failed. Enough was enough! We decided to leave the hotel. When we called for the elevator, the elevator got stuck so we had to carry the bags down the three flights of stairs!

The issue is simply this. The two bars are wildly popular particularly on the weekends. Clearly, the place makes ALOT of money off the bars. We think that management has to decide whether they want to a bar or a hotel, as it has problems trying to both. They clearly do not spend the money required on maintenance to keep the hotel in reasonable mechanical shape. BTW, the hotel did not charge us for the stay.

While we are building a house in Aiken and will have the requirement to coming down to Aiken several times while the house is being constructed, we will NEVER stay at Hotel Aiken again!

BTW, we stayed at the Wilcox Inn and loved it! (It is ywice as expensive though so it may not be for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

The garden view rooms were bigger and ok but the view was a run down alley and dumpsters. The location was great. The breakfast room smelled of smoke and stale beer from the bar scene every night. OK for the $60+ price but not something I would like to do again.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank zmiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

I'm out here filming a movie in the town of Aiken. Hotel Aiken, which is right in the heart of downtown is actually a very charming hotel. The rooms are old, but very clean. If you like the 'cookie cutter' hotels, then you won't like Hotel Aiken. The actual rooms are a bit old; however, if you'd like

* great service
* personal & friendly staff
* very helpful staff

then you'll love Aiken. There's a bar attached, which is a lot of fun, and a restaurant right next door called Cuizine...that reminds you of a big city eatery.

The internet hardwiring was not working in my room, and they came out and fixed it immediately. My girlfriend got too much noise from the street (lots of street noise)...they moved her immediately.

Loved the 'old world' charm of this very quaint hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SherryShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
13
Reviewed April 17, 2006

Have just spent a week in Hotel Aiken, SC on vacation - playing Golf and visiting the Masters in Augusta (only 20 miles away). Everything about Hotel Aiken was excellent, from the hospitality received from the staff and the Owner (Kishan), the quality and cleanliness of the rooms, the standard & variety of food at B'fast and Dinner, the lively athmosphere in the various bars etc.
This venue is ideal for visitors to Aiken & surrounds to enjoy Golf, Fishing etc but most importantly if you are visiting the Masters Tournament.
Also need to mention that Downtown Aiken has a number of quality Restaurants - all within easy access & walking distance of Hotel Aiken. The local golf club - Aiken GC will also go out of their way to accommodate you on the 1st Tee & guarantees a fair test of your golfing skills.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ealing, London
17
Reviewed March 8, 2006

On a recent driving tour through the Carolinas we were pleasantly suprised to discover the wonderful town of Aiken. We stayed at the centrally based and wonderful Hotel Aiken.

It has come as a shock to see some bad reviews of such a splendid hotel. Any review other than positive is in my judgement misguided. I say this as a seasoned traveller who lives in Europe and who has travelled America and the world extensively.

Hotel Aiken is full of authentic charm and is very much a welcome change to the almost factory like chain hotels that exist. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the increasingly important internet service was high speed, hard wired and in the room .... again another example of the welcomed change from many hotels that are available.

One of the highlights of Hotel Aiken was the bar which houses some very friendly locals who add to the authenticity. The locality of the hotel added to the sense of being central to the pulse of the town itself.

As for breakfast this was a treat and a great way to greet our day on our travels.

The upshot is: great place, efficient staff, great location and a definate return. As for any negative reviews placed perhaps judge this review and visit Hotel Aiken to see what it's really like.

Andrew Constanti

Lawyer
Businessman
London
England

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews