We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely be staying here again.”
Review of Hotel Aiken

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aiken
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for the weekend while visiting family members.

The staff is wonderful, the young lady at the front desk-Brittany was very helpful and went out of her way to accommodate my daughter and I and point us in the direction of child friendly eating establishments in the area. Anything I had an issue with she worked with me to solve.

The room was good, clean and a decent size. It is a good value for the money.

All in all I was very pleased with my stay and will be coming back to stay in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kitsunefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 154 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Once again, my frineds and I visited the beautiful town of Aiken and stayed at the Hotel Aiken.
The staff is the best. This one of a kind hotel was built over 100 years ago and still has the oldest elevator in SC, and the only one in the building. The staff has to operate it for you so if you have trouble with stairs, be sure to let them know when you are making a reservation so you can get a ground floor room in the annex part of the hotel.

It is so much fun to check in and know it will not be a chain motel experience. The young man at the front desk not only carried my luggage for me, he checked us in our rooms, took us up on the elevator and went and got the ice.

It was getting late and being tired from the busy week we wanted to eat in. Much to my surprise, the bar area served food so downstairs we went. The bar is a large area with more than one room and an outside bar. We sat between the bar and the room with a live band so we could people watch and eat at the same time. The food was better than ever expected in a bar setting. If you like nacho's, they were the best ever and the serving was huge! We ordered some wings and they were awesome too. It was nice to know the food choices were not just the run of the mill mocrowaved bar food. The prices were very reasonable too and there were all kinds of food choices
.
The room was on a corner on the front so we had a nice view of the downtown area and it was not too loud with the band being on the other end of the building. The room was not very large but it did have a king bed in it and I doubt the hotel was build for king size beds over 100 years ago. The bathroom was very modern and the room was nice and clean with new looking furnishings. My favorite part were the windows, they actually opened and the weather was perfect for sleeping with them open.

As I said in my review from last year, if you are looking for new and modern motel, stay at a chain motel along the highway, this is not the place for you. If you want to enjoy a southern experience in a one of a kind charming old hotel, this is the place. The rooms I have stayed in on my two visits have been clean, comfortable and the staff very accommodating and my friends agree with my reviews for their rooms too.

There is music and dancing on the weekends in the rather large bar area downstairs so if you want peace and quiet and an early night, be sure to ask for a room away from the bar area.

There are good restaurants in walking distance of the hotel and we felt safe walking down the main street in the evening to enjoy a couple of them.

There is a real cool deli place about a block away on the main street that had a unique menu of locally grown foods and other choices and home baked breads and goodies. Sorry I can't remember the name of it and you can eat inside or street side. It is very casual and was a good breakfast spot too.

Overall, my experience at the Hotel Aiken has turned me into a fan and I hope to return at least once a year for that special visit to enjoy the Battle of Aiken and the great sutler shopping.

I wish I could remember the young mans name from the front desk, Mark I think. He keep my ice bucket full all weekend and had answers for all of my questions before we would go site seeing and enjoying the Battle of Aiken reenactment.

The Hotel Aiken is a place I would feel very safe to stay alone in and we have enjoyed staying there as a group of friends. The lobby is large and has plenty of seating for visiting and making new friends.

The customer service is awesome and we all know how hard it is to find these days.

If you ever have a chance to visit Aiken you should check out the Hotel Aiken.

Room Tip: Make sure you let them know if you have trouble with stairs and if you want a quiet room and most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deerrivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Fancy website, and if you look at it on Google Street view it looks pretty good, but I think "faded glory" sums it up.

We are in "the courtyard" which is just a strip of standard American motel rooms in the parking lot.

There's nothing *wrong* with it; it's just not what it cracks itself up to be.

Once you know what to expect, it's all right.

Oh, and ... the complimentary drink in the bar? Stick to a beer that you know!

Room Tip: Ermmmm ... who can say if one is better than another?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesHappyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Had a great stay at Hotel Aiken (built in the 1800s) in downtown Historic Aiken South Carolina. It located about 2 hours south of Charlotte Nc and 1 hour east of Augusta Georgia. There are 3 bars including an outdoor bar and a wonderful quaint pub. They have bands and other events planned. Restaurants and shops are all within walking distance. Yes the rooms can be updated but we like them fine just the way they are.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for the feedback, we here at Hotel Aiken are going through some positive changes and will continue to do so. Hopefully we will be complete with all the construction and remodeling soon. Again thank you for staying with us and hopefully will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have been up here several times; it is an easy motorcycle ride, the hotel is centrally located & parking is easy. Hope Brittany is on duty - she goes out of her way to help you out. Today as we checked out she took the time to show us a room she thought we would like more than the one we had after we mentioned room problems we had on this trip. When we came in the fall, she helped us booking the room. Every time she is cheerful & makes coming here a pleasure. She is one of the reasons we stay here while in Aiken.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my high school reunion which was held in one of their banquet spaces. The staff was wonderful; very polite and welcoming. The location is very convenient. I definitely enjoyed my stay at Hotel Aiken. However, the hotel desperately needs to be updated.....they still have the old 90s style tube televisions. This is a historic property and it is quite charming. Even though the sleeping rooms need a fresh coat of paint and updated amenities, I would happily stay at Hotel Aiken again.

Room Tip: Unique and Historic property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Yes - the location of this historic hotel is great for shopping and restaurants - but the facility itself leaves a lot to be desired! The lobby had a bad odor but the girl at the desk was pleasant and welcoming. The carpet was past needing to be replaced and was filthy dirty! The room didn't look very much like the picture they show here - the bed was poorly made - the bathroom was very small although it looked like it had been updated a bit - but the dust and dirt on the baseboards was an inch thick I think - there was mold in the ceiling tiles from the room above.The breakfast in the morning was not great - I had yogurt and some Cheerios - the cereal was stale and the coffee was weak. My husband got some eggs and bacon - but chose not to eat it - we left and found someplace else to eat!

The girl at the desk was there when we arrived - still there when we came back from dinner in the evening and there again this morning at 7:00am! She asked how our experience was and we were very honest with her - she acted like she was not surprised! It's too bad because it's a beautiful old building that needs a lot of TLC! We enjoyed our time in Aiken but will never go back to this hotel unless they fix it up!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheechinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are very sorry for your experience here at Hotel Aiken. We are currently gearing up for a renovation here and would like for you to consider giving us another try in the future. We appreciate your feedback and will correct these problems immediately. Thank you for helping us make improvements here at Hotel Aiken.

Bryan C. Mitchell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
0.3 mi away
The Willcox
The Willcox
#2 of 20 in Aiken
268 reviews
3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 20 in Aiken
144 reviews
5.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#18 of 20 in Aiken
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aiken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aiken

Address: 235 Richland Ave W, Aiken, SC 29801-3865
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Price Range: $57 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aiken 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aiken is the perfect place to "play & stay" in downtown Aiken! Originally built in 1898 the main building of the Hotel Aiken has gone through many changes and a series of major and continuous renovations since 2001, with the accent on retaining the historical feel of this landmark building whilst providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a contemporary Hotel, such as free use of hard-wired HSIA in all rooms. We also offer more moderate accommodations in our courtyard building, where the rooms are basic, standard motel rooms. We have three on site bars, which makes Hotel Aiken one of downtown Aiken’s most popular watering holes. We have live entertainment on Wednesday-Saturday nights until 2AM and are open seven days a week. Hotel Aiken is centrally located and considered "party central" almost every day of the week. Please keep this in mind when making your reservations at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing