We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soccer week end” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aiken

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Aiken
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Soccer week end”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Recently three soccer officials stayed at the Hotel Aiken for two nights in this downtown location.
First the positives;
1. The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of many local taverns and restaurants.
2. The hotel is an easy walk to many downtown shops and many lovely parks.
3. The streets are cobblestone which brings about a southern charm that is a wonderful attribute.
4. The welcoming hostess was Amanda and she was very helpful and charming to all of us. She answered all of our questions in detail. A wonderful first impression.
5. The live music and bar in the hotel was very nice and welcoming with two complementary drinks in the evening.
The negatives;
1. The "warm" breakfast was far from warm and the eggs were chalking tasting. The breakfast was very minimal and the hostess was not ready for us when we came down on both days @ 6:30 am even though they were suppose to be ready by 6:00.
2. We stayed in the complex next to the original hotel and the rooms were clean, but dated. The maid service was very good and each day we found our room properly cleaned and stacked with supplies. The room was simply tired looking, but otherwise ok.
If you want to be downtown and relive a little bit of history in this southern town, this is the place for you. Just be aware that it is dated and some of the rooms will be old.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest(s),

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Aiken! We appreciate your compliments to the front desk staff and our on-site bars. We have addressed the issues you mentioned regarding breakfast and are sorry to hear you were inconvenienced. We have a lot of room updates coming up in the next year in our historic and exterior entry building that should address your concerns about the rooms. We would love to have you as a guest again on your next visit to Aiken!

Sincerely,

Hotel Aiken Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    28
    19
    33
See reviews for
24
35
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
aiken
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Historic hotel in downtown Aiken South Carolina. Great location for shopping and golf. Dinner options in the area were plentiful and the staff was very aware of the menus and hot spots. The architechture of this property is exquisite and I am told it is over a century old. Cant wait to return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddieAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Aiken! We appreciate your compliments to the staff and about the hotel. We look forward to have you as a guest in the future!

Sincerely,
Hotel Aiken Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for an old historic hotel with fun, breakfast, walking distance to shopping, dining and reasonable prices, this is the place.

My friends and I get together a few times a year and enjoy staying in different kinds of places. We liked this one since it is in a very old hotel but they do have a newer addition also. The hotel has an active bar that was fun and we did not hear the music from our rooms.

The rooms we had were small but they had larger rooms and suites. We made the mistake of last minute reservations on a busy week. The rooms were clean, and the view was nice looking over the main street.
Breakfast offered bacon and eggs and had all of the usual free food items.

I loved the old elevator that has to be operated by the staff.
Be sure if you stay here to remember to ask for a room in a quiet part if the fun and music will bother you. Make sure to request a room the size and location that will be what you are expecting. The third floor is nice but remember the elevator has to be operated by a staff person and there is only one elevator.

The parking was very good, well lit, safe, and you can drive up to the front door to check in.
We felt very safe walking to the restaurants after dark and shopping.
Aiken is a nice town, full of history and everything to do with horses.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room in the quiet area if the music will bother you. Also, there is only on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deerrivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments to the hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and in Aiken. It is nice to hear from a guest who enjoys our quaintness! We hope you will choose Hotel Aiken as your home for future visits to Aiken.

Sincerely,

Hotel Aiken Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and it was great. The breakfast was delicious and every one was so nice! I stayed in the main building and absolutely loved the room. The front staff was courteous and professional. My overall stay was great, prices are extremely reasonable and I love the free drink tickets!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkib_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the compliments regarding your hotel stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you again in the future when you visit Aiken!

Sincerely,

Hotel Aiken Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Was here for a conference in summer 2012. Bar staff was very friendly as we frequented it daily. However, the room smelled of must and I found pieces of dead bugs beside the bed. I took a photo and showed the manager who was very apologetic. He said they had just cleaned that entire building and had moved some things around so the bugs had probably been under the bed, out of reach of the vacuum cleaner. He told us that we would not be charged for that nights stay as well as gave us several tickets for free drinks. I would probably not stay here again but I truly appreciated the customer service and hospitality from the manager and staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, Director of Sales at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your compliments to the bar staff and have shared your praise with them! At the time of your stay, we were updating the furniture in our Courtyard building. We were very sorry to have overlooked detailed housekeeping for your guest room which is why we happily offered a complimentary night for your troubles. Our number one priority is customer service and cleanliness of the rooms. With feedback such as yours, this will help Hotel Aiken strive to be better in all areas of hospitality for our guests!

Sincerely,

Lindsey D. Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aiken hotels

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

On Sept. 25, family spent an evening, looking forward to walking through lovely downtown Aiken, enjoying a good meal, and getting a good night's rest before spending the next day attending to elder care concerns. Aiken is lovely, but we were not warned that on a Tues. night, there would be outdoor karoke until 1am, so loud that it was impossible to sleep. We'd already seen a roach in the bathroom, and over all this courtyard room, 108, is definitely showing it's age, READY INDEED for a makeover. The complimentary breakfast was quite satisf actory, however. I considered complaining, and frankly was just mentally and emotionally spent, just wanted to get out of there and on our way taking care of business.

Room Tip: Ask about roaches, karaoke or other events that could interfere with a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, Director of Sales at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear you were inconvenienced during your time at Hotel Aiken.

In regards to the room issues you mentioned, the outdoor karaoke was a new event our bar was trying out. Thank you for bringing it to our attention as we were not aware that the noise carried so much from one building to the other. Upon receiving your review, we have ended that event for Tuesday nights to avoid noise issues in the future. Our downtown hotel can be quite a lively place, which is why we have implemented the “Up All Night” Dates section on our website to warn guests of potentially noisy nights. I do apologize that the front desk staff did not effectively warn you about possible noise at check-in.
As for the other issue mentioned, our guest rooms receive preventative treatment by a licensed pest control company regularly. The room you stayed in is located in our Courtyard building which has exterior entry from the outside into all guest rooms. We offer additional accommodations in our Historic building which is interior corridor and usually less noisy. It is our policy at the hotel that if a guest has issues with their guest room, we are happy to offer an upgrade to another room.

I encourage you to give us another try when you visit Aiken again and we will make sure you enjoy your stay! Thank you for your compliments about breakfast! We are very appreciative for all guest feedback such as yours which helps us improve for future and return guests! Please feel free to contact me directly at sales@hotelaiken.com if you wish to provide further feedback.

Sincerely,

Lindsey D. Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have stayed here many times now .We love the town of Aiken and think it is one of the nicest towns in SC and we absolutely adore Hotel Aiken. We always get treated so well by the staff and it oozes charm. It feels like a quaint hotel from England and it is so much fun.It has best location bar none in the town and the room rates are such good value. We like the fact that the whole place is not polished with granite everywhere and that the guest rooms are each a bit different! With our free drink tickets that we get upon arrival we got to visit the lively different bars all in one friendly hotel. My wife loves 100 Laurens the martini lounge and I like the outside Tike bar where they have a good selection of draft beer. Ask for Erica she is awesome !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyPhipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, Director of Sales at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely compliments and positive feedback! It is always nice to hear from guests who appreciate our quaintness and understand the experience our hotel offers. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,
Lindsey D. Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Aiken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#18 of 20 in Aiken
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#3 of 20 in Aiken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aiken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aiken

Property: Hotel Aiken
Address: 235 Richland Avenue West, Aiken, SC 29801
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aiken 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aiken is the perfect place to "play & stay" in downtown Aiken! Originally built in 1898 the main building of the Hotel Aiken has gone through many changes and a series of major and continuous renovations since 2001, with the accent on retaining the historical feel of this landmark building whilst providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a contemporary Hotel, such as free use of hard-wired HSIA in all rooms. We also offer more moderate accommodations in our courtyard building, where the rooms are basic, standard motel rooms. We have three on site bars, which makes Hotel Aiken one of downtown Aiken’s most popular watering holes. We have live entertainment on Wednesday-Saturday nights until 2AM and are open seven days a week. Hotel Aiken is centrally located and considered "party central" almost every day of the week. Please keep this in mind when making your reservations at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing