We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Not Return”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aiken

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aiken
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
York, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will Not Return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Was here for a conference in summer 2012. Bar staff was very friendly as we frequented it daily. However, the room smelled of must and I found pieces of dead bugs beside the bed. I took a photo and showed the manager who was very apologetic. He said they had just cleaned that entire building and had moved some things around so the bugs had probably been under the bed, out of reach of the vacuum cleaner. He told us that we would not be charged for that nights stay as well as gave us several tickets for free drinks. I would probably not stay here again but I truly appreciated the customer service and hospitality from the manager and staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, Director of Sales at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your compliments to the bar staff and have shared your praise with them! At the time of your stay, we were updating the furniture in our Courtyard building. We were very sorry to have overlooked detailed housekeeping for your guest room which is why we happily offered a complimentary night for your troubles. Our number one priority is customer service and cleanliness of the rooms. With feedback such as yours, this will help Hotel Aiken strive to be better in all areas of hospitality for our guests!

Sincerely,

Lindsey D. Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    28
    21
    34
See reviews for
27
35
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

On Sept. 25, family spent an evening, looking forward to walking through lovely downtown Aiken, enjoying a good meal, and getting a good night's rest before spending the next day attending to elder care concerns. Aiken is lovely, but we were not warned that on a Tues. night, there would be outdoor karoke until 1am, so loud that it was impossible to sleep. We'd already seen a roach in the bathroom, and over all this courtyard room, 108, is definitely showing it's age, READY INDEED for a makeover. The complimentary breakfast was quite satisf actory, however. I considered complaining, and frankly was just mentally and emotionally spent, just wanted to get out of there and on our way taking care of business.

Room Tip: Ask about roaches, karaoke or other events that could interfere with a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, Director of Sales at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear you were inconvenienced during your time at Hotel Aiken.

In regards to the room issues you mentioned, the outdoor karaoke was a new event our bar was trying out. Thank you for bringing it to our attention as we were not aware that the noise carried so much from one building to the other. Upon receiving your review, we have ended that event for Tuesday nights to avoid noise issues in the future. Our downtown hotel can be quite a lively place, which is why we have implemented the “Up All Night” Dates section on our website to warn guests of potentially noisy nights. I do apologize that the front desk staff did not effectively warn you about possible noise at check-in.
As for the other issue mentioned, our guest rooms receive preventative treatment by a licensed pest control company regularly. The room you stayed in is located in our Courtyard building which has exterior entry from the outside into all guest rooms. We offer additional accommodations in our Historic building which is interior corridor and usually less noisy. It is our policy at the hotel that if a guest has issues with their guest room, we are happy to offer an upgrade to another room.

I encourage you to give us another try when you visit Aiken again and we will make sure you enjoy your stay! Thank you for your compliments about breakfast! We are very appreciative for all guest feedback such as yours which helps us improve for future and return guests! Please feel free to contact me directly at sales@hotelaiken.com if you wish to provide further feedback.

Sincerely,

Lindsey D. Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aiken hotels

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have stayed here many times now .We love the town of Aiken and think it is one of the nicest towns in SC and we absolutely adore Hotel Aiken. We always get treated so well by the staff and it oozes charm. It feels like a quaint hotel from England and it is so much fun.It has best location bar none in the town and the room rates are such good value. We like the fact that the whole place is not polished with granite everywhere and that the guest rooms are each a bit different! With our free drink tickets that we get upon arrival we got to visit the lively different bars all in one friendly hotel. My wife loves 100 Laurens the martini lounge and I like the outside Tike bar where they have a good selection of draft beer. Ask for Erica she is awesome !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyPhipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, Director of Sales at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely compliments and positive feedback! It is always nice to hear from guests who appreciate our quaintness and understand the experience our hotel offers. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,
Lindsey D. Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Tired hotel. Staff is generally pleasant. If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs unless you plan to be at the bars until closing. Location Is great for not having to drive, though. Breakfast is standard fare.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobHep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a group tour to the Masters. Was checked into a room away from the main buiding and had the unfortunate pleasure of facing the car park and all its activity each night. The bathroom was filthy with the toilet seat being soiled from the previous guest and not cleaned. When I approached the staff they were apologetic however it seemed to be forgotten as nothing was done and the cleaning was left to myself. On the last day a $25 drink voucher was placed in my room as a token appology? Being Masters week there was no alternaive but to stay in this sad excuse for a hotel. This would have to be the worst hotel that I have ever had the unfortunate experiance to stay in, be warned!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_A255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAikenMgnt, Director of Sales at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is always unfortunate to hear about any of our guests having an unsatisfying experience at our hotel. I am sorry you were not happy with your room accommodations provided. After researching your stay, I found that the rooms were allocated prior to check-in by the tour group you traveled with. If an upgrade had been available, we would have gladly moved you. Unfortunately due to high occupancy during Masters Week, it was not an option. As for the cleanliness issue, the staff member who cleaned your room is no longer with our organization for obvious reasons. An oversight such as that by a housekeeper is absolutely unacceptable. The gift certificate was indeed a gesture of apology and I'm sorry if it added insult to injury.

Since your stay in April, we are under new general management. Your feedback was very helpful in updating housekeeping inspection procedures and guest issue resolution. Because of your feedback, we now have a better system of department accountability which ensures less errors by the staff. Although we are deeply sorry for your negative experience, we do appreciate your comments which have helped us improve overall efficiency at Hotel Aiken.

Sincerely,
Lindsey Wise
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Came from West Palm Beach to visit old friends and couldn't have been more pleased! the Hotel is within walking distance to all shops and restaurants In Aiken. Britney at the desk was awesome and super friendly. the rooms in the main building were beautiful and very comfy!
I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: stay in the main building if you can. It is an old building and has only one elevator that has to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
370 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

First, let me say what is best about this hotel: LOCATION. It is in the heart of Aiken, which has a charming downtown area full of small shops, antiques, cafe's and restaurants. We very much enjoyed the convenience of walking to breakfast and dinner, as well as a little bit of shopping.

The emphasis at the Hotel Aiken is on the nightlife. There is live music every night which brings locals and visitors alike. The hotel also has both an indoor bar & lounge and outdoor "tiki bar." The pool has been filled in though, and traded for a random cement "courtyard" with a large, movie-screen type TV on one wall. The courtyard reminds me more of an outdoor basketball court than a courtyard though.

Our room was not in the main hotel building, which is over 100 years old. We stayed in the adjacent building, which is newer, but only relatively speaking. The rooms had outdoor entries, opening up to the parking and side street. I'm guessing that the rooms have not been renovated since the 1980's? The bathtub had stains that probably won't come off, but the shower curtain was new & clean. The room was very dark without the curtains open. Overall, it was very poorly lit and could have been much cleaner, but you get the sense that there's only so much cleaning you can do with the age of the carpet, bedding, furnishings & fixtures.
We were with a larger group, and we all stayed in the adjacent buildings, and most everyone agreed about the accommodations: very very dated, and questionable cleanliness, but great location.

If someone had loads of money to spend on it, this could be a great hotel with a lot of character and charm, but it needs more work than the owners can afford or want to spend, apparently.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are more subject to the all night noise coming from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KelekeWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Aiken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#19 of 20 in Aiken
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#3 of 20 in Aiken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aiken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aiken

Property: Hotel Aiken
Address: 235 Richland Avenue West, Aiken, SC 29801
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aiken 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aiken is the perfect place to "play & stay" in downtown Aiken! Originally built in 1898 the main building of the Hotel Aiken has gone through many changes and a series of major and continuous renovations since 2001, with the accent on retaining the historical feel of this landmark building whilst providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a contemporary Hotel, such as free use of hard-wired HSIA in all rooms. We also offer more moderate accommodations in our courtyard building, where the rooms are basic, standard motel rooms. We have three on site bars, which makes Hotel Aiken one of downtown Aiken’s most popular watering holes. We have live entertainment on Wednesday-Saturday nights until 2AM and are open seven days a week. Hotel Aiken is centrally located and considered "party central" almost every day of the week. Please keep this in mind when making your reservations at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing