We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool underground.”

Pioneer Tunnel Coal Mine & Steam Train
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour Pennsylvania's mining history at these mines.
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very cool underground.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

A very educational trip underground. You must do this at least once with the kids. Remember that it's always a cool 50 degrees (aprx) underground so it will be chilly if your in shorts. The train above ground is nice, you get a very scenic view of the surrounding area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 75cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    52
    8
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
138 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Cool Experience”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great tour on a hot day! I have been on several different mine tours here in Pennsylvania and I would rate this one tops! The staff was very friendly, the the mine guide gave an excellent presentation!

The train ride rounded out an enjoyable visit and nobody was left at the station! I would recommend stopping by if you are in the area. No better way to bring down the body temperature but by taking an underground mine tour!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steelcityguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“disinterested staff”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Train ride was crowded and conductor did not assist with helping everyone find a seat. my wife had to miss the ride because other patrons wouldn't move over. staff was un helpful and unfriendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnnykal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Need to see once!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I live 10 minutes from here and I must say, everyone should take their children just once! Very good educational experience, especially if your from the coal region!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pupsie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pioneer Tunnel Coal mine, PA”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very Interesting, great tour guides. Also have a little steam train excursion on site. Always a must when we have out of town visitors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Tunnel Coal Mine & Steam Train also viewed

Lansford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Pioneer Tunnel Coal Mine & Steam Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing