We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteless”

Positano Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Positano Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 93 Restaurants in Ardmore
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Havertown
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasteless”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Ordered hot antipasta special (eggplant), pasta special (clams, mussels & shrimp) and NY Strip.
All were tasteless, overly bland and prepared with no garlic. Awful. First and last visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“No rush to go back”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were a party of 12 and ordered a variety of dishes. The whole bronzini was fileted at the table and many bones were missed. This ruined the fish, which was otherwise very good, for the two people who ordered it. We ordered a bottle of wine and the wine list was varied and not all the wines were expensive. We chose a moderately priced pino grigio and it was very nice. My veal piccata was tasty, but there wasn't very much of it. For dessert we ordered the tartuffo which wasn't very good at all. The chef needs a visit to Tre Scalini's in Rome to know what a really good tartuffo is.. It was also very dark in the restaurant..a little more light would have been nice. Our waiter was pleasant, efficient and could have used a little more help from the other staff as it was not at all busy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marian0286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place is a real sleeper”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you didn't rate this as the no. 1 Ardmore restaurant, you have not been there. This is delicious authentic Italian food to due for. They also have amazing wines and the bartender knows how to make a good drink. The owner, Dominic, is always there and he makes sure everyone is happy. I love this place. It is an amazing restaurant that you would find on Mulberry Street in New York years ago. Luckily, it is tucked away in a small town on the mainline in Pennsylvania.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
429 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Very nice Italian”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on a stormy Friday night without a reservation. The place was crowded, not packed but they found a table for us. The staff is friendly and efficient. I drink a lot of water and my glass was constantly being filled. Salads were fine. My wife had a Branzino which the waiter filleted table side. He did an excellent job. I had veal which was very tender. Wine prices were fair. Portions were large and we were too stuffed for desert. We would return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 664 helpful votes
“Positively Positano”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Although the owner's tag line that dining there is just like being on the Amalfi coast may be a bit over the top, this warm and comfortable restaurant on the Main Line does have a Mediterranean feel. The building has an inviting red Italian coastal hue, dining outside is in an attractive courtyard and inside there are similar hues, all very easy on the eyes. Frank Sinatra was singing, maybe a little loudly, when we got there but at least it was Frank and not Wayne Newton. Later, they switched the background music to quieter classical. I'm not sure where the slams on the service came from in recent reviews as the waiter and his assistant server were efficient; pleasant and knowlegable.This bus boy could not have been the one who didn't know what gelato was (Per the previous review) as he comes from a family of Greek restauranteurs and he really knew his stuff. Adding to our experience, the staff was having a wine tasting in the back and we requested the winning wine with our dinner. This was a Mezzana Grande Nero D. Troia 2008 fron Puglia, Italy and as the waiter promised based on the results of the tasting, it had a fine, very long finish. We even got a little lesson on the importance of a good wine lingering on the tongue as you go through a meal as it interacts with the food. And to the food: The bread is baked on premises. It was a hearty peasant bread served with butter, olive oil, parmesan and red pepper (All on the side of course). We had an Asparagus appetizer crusted golden with parmesan and a bit of lemon and not heavy on the garlic. This was served with a wonderful Italian sausage. For this time of year, the Asparagus was in amazingly good shape and this appetizer (As often) was the best part of the meal. For the main course, Barbara had a Fusilli Bolognese and I had Pasta with Veal Meatballs. She thought the Bolgnese was a bit bland but Bolognese usually fails to meet expectations because most chefs think Americans just expect Pasta with a beef meat sauce (Pretty much what we got here). although a true Bolognese combines pork (Usually sausages and pancetta) with the ground beef and along with ingredients like carrots and onions, tomato paste and other seasonings may use cream or creme fraiche and even nutmeg to produce a fine brownish sauce rather than a "gravy". So the Bolognese was good, but not great. The taste of the Pasta and Veal Meatballs was just right though I think both Pasta dishes could hae been more al dente. I understand from other diners there that the sea food is terrific and the chef has a great flair with butterflying fish. Some diners were really dressed to the nines. We were business casual and I think it is a little disrespectful to the place to dress sloppily though the staff and ownership would be too polite to tell you that or make you feel uncomfortable in any way. Paying the check does cause some discomfort as the place is pretty expensive. But at least you get a fine meal, fine wine, good atmosphere and great service for your dollar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Positano Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Positano Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing