We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Positano --Ardmore, PA”

Positano Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Positano Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 92 Restaurants in Ardmore
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Positano --Ardmore, PA”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Terrible service, our "server" claims he was new, just about everything he brought was wrong or placed in front of the wrong person. Our friend who made the reservation ordered a gin martini with olives,there were onions in there instead, she also ordered a mixed seafood dish, she was served shrimp scampi. I could go thought all 6 orders and point out errors.The food was average and lacked taste.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brynmaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Moderate Italian with Lackadaisical Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Standard old fashioned italian fare, though without a lot of flair. Despite pleasant decor and surrounding paintings of the home-town the experience is blunted by inattentive or distracted service. The overly casual waiter absolutely mangled the nicely cooked whole branzini, managing to make sure there were bones distributed through the flesh. We should have asked him to let us do the dissection and distribution. The cook is fine but the front of the house needs a new attitude and some training. Overpriced for the experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Fruit di Mare, and the fish of the day.....Calimari app, everything was perfect. Excellent wait staff, great food, and superb service. The waiter filleted the fish right at the table, not an ounce wasted. I love this place, can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaelc19003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“delightful experiences...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My fiance and I were looking for a place to have our rehearsal dinner, so we stopped by to try it out. The staff is very friendly and professional and the food was fantastic! We decided to book our event and we were so glad that we did! It was wonderful! The food was amazing, the service was great and the private room that was reserved for us was beautiful! I highly recommend to all who are looking for a nice place to have a delicious meal!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nothing was quite right”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Went for dinner on a Friday night and should've been tipped off by the fact that there were hardly any other diners in the restaurant. This place manages to give the appearance of trying hard, without ever actually getting it right. About anything.

Ambiance is fairly typical for the heavily-decorated Italian-style restaurants, with slightly gaudy artwork and lots of stucco and archways. Nothing wrong with it, other than the artwork, which made me want to pluck out my eyes. The waiter had clearly been doing his job for too long. He was helpful enough, but seemed to be doing things by rote. If you're going to charge $30 for a special, make it sound a little special.

The food itself was ok, but not particularly noteworthy. Predictable bread, decent pasta. Our artichoke and mushroom appetizer was very good. The wine selection was completely unremarkable.

One pet peeve, and maybe this tainted the whole experience. The busboy used a cart (a very loud cart, given the very small number of diners, as I mentioned) to clear even the smallest tables. Perhaps they're going for an authentic Italian look and feel, but it just seemed distracting and lazy. Learn how to bus a table!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Positano Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Positano Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing