We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best winery in PA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Galen Glen Winery

Galen Glen Winery
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Andreas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At Galen Glen, we farm wine. Ancient glacial soils atop millions of years old sea fossils form our topography. The land was patiently waiting for us, yielding only scrawny crops for our ancestors. As 6th generation stewards of our farm, we sustainably and respectfully balance nature and science. Our wines reflect a delicate tension of acid and ripeness, punctuated by a powerful sense of location.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Best winery in PA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stumbled across Galen Glen Winery several years ago during a mini vacation in Jim Thorpe. So glad we found it!!! Great wine selection and beautiful scenery. There is never a bad time of the year to visit Galen Glen for an afternoon of wine tasting and to stock up on your favorite wines.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A touch of Napa Valley in the Poconos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We found this winery in a brochure at another area attraction. We were running out of things to do and thought what the heck, how bad could it be? We did not have any expectations and thought even if it was bad, at least there was wine. What a surprise! The winery is beautiful, the vineyards and scenery around it evoke a feeling that you are in the European countryside at an age old family establishment. The views were spectacular, but the wine was even better! We did the tasting menu and each one was better than the last, there was not a bad one in the lot. We ended up buying a case of several of our favorites. We then purchased a few glasses of wine, some cheese and settled on the patio behind the winery to enjoy and relax taking in the spectacular views. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the vintages and pairings. Kathy was particularly friendly and helpful. This was one of the highlights to our trip to the Poconos, we will definitely be back. This is a must do if you like wine and are in the Andreas/Jim Thorpe area. $5.00 per person for the tasting will get you 6 different wines and can be applied to purchase, with the most expensive bottle being $18 this is a can't lose! Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a delightful afternoon at the winery. We enjoyed the tastings and the experience. The Love Hot Dog Truck was there so we enjoyed lunch, the scenery, and most of all the wine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slatington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend a Sunday afternoon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went here on the advice of a friend. We attended the FREE one hour tour of the vineyards, attended the $5 tasting, purchased some wines, then sat out back on their patio to enjoy their wines and snacks we brought. Galen is a great tour guide and answered many questions and took us up close and personal through the vineyards explaining all the processes needed to produce wine. Beware,it is a long walk up the hill at the end of the tour so if you don't have on comfortable, sturdy walking shoes or you are not in shape to walk up a long hill, exit the tour after the vineyard walk and wait up in their tasting room/gift shop. If you leave now, you will miss the equipment and bottling room. There are many wines to taste, you get 6 to try. The $5 charge is deducted off any purchase you make. Wines run from $9 to $18 a bottle. We brought a cooler with grapes, cheese, crackers and subs. They opened our wine and gave us glasses to use. We had our own little picnic and spent about 3 hours there. They have umbrellas to put up to shade yourself if needed or a covered pavilion if you don't want to be in the sun. Our group of six decided we will be returning again. Im sure you will have a great time here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank peachtree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The view is as good as the wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stopped by on a Saturday afternoon and were pleasantly surprised to find a winery reminiscent of the Finger Lakes tucked away in the quiet hills of Pennsylvania. I sampled the wines, (liked all of them) and chatted with the owner, who has developed a high quality business with most affordable wines for all palates. A great stop if you have a wedding party for pictures, or just to have a drink outside and drift into the endless scenery. The hills remind me of traveling Rhine with all the meticulous grape vines lined up as far as the eye can see. It is not tourist trap, it is a family owned winery, proud of it's product.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galen Glen Winery also viewed

 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Lansford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Galen Glen Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing