We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There Is Nothing Wrong With This Place”
Review of Motel 6 Altoona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Altoona
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed here after going to an Altoona Curve game. The rooms were clean. The towels, sheets and pillows were clean. The TV had 2 HBOs and 4 ESPNs. Thats fine. I dont go to hotels to see what stations they have. The pool was great. It was around 82 out and we were the only ones in the pool. Overall, this is the best price for your buck. Also, there is a great Mexican restaurant in walking distance. Dont listen to the bad reviews. You get what you pay for and you are paying for a Motel 6 in Altoona. This is nothing wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laclips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Altoona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 135 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to give this hotel a try on our trip across Penssylvania. All I can say is that the other reviewers either are related to the owners of this Motel 6 or they have never before have been in motel/hotel.
When you pull up to this place and look at it you will see all you need to know. Trust me when I say thet rooms aren't an improvement over the check-in area.T here is a reason that there are no pictures of it available on the internet.
This place is located in an area with several other hotels, all better choices than this one. The room was in desperate need of repair, moldings broken off leaving sharp pieces of wood exposed along the carpet. Carpet stained and mildew smelling. Air conditioning system is laughable. Shower/tub leaks water all over floor. They gave us a crib that was so dirty and disgusting I wouldn't let a puppy sleep in it let alone a small child.
On the positive side, we weren't mauled as we slept by wolves.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

I stayed at the Altoona Motel 6 the last couple nights and it was fantastic. Excellent recommendations by the staff, and exceptional service. The only complaint would be the lack of TV channels, as they only had about 17. Most budget hotels have extended basic cable.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weebs81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

This motel isn't listed on some travel websites, but I'm sure glad we found it for our Altoona visit. We were very pleased with it for the modest price paid. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the location is convenient to the highway and to restaurants and shopping, the rooms are a good size and clean, and you can park directly in front of your room since they're all on the 1st floor. The pool looked nice (although we didn't swim), there was free coffee in the office 24/7, and the WiFi worked just fine in our room. There isn't much in the way of other amenities, but we didn't need any extra stuff anyway. Overall an excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HDtravelerMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Stayed here while out of town on business for several weeks. I picked this location because of the price. The room was always clean and smelled fresh. Housekeeping is EXCELLENT and front desk attendants are great. No complaints here!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snlewis715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2007

I just stayed there 3 weeks (in 2 different rooms). In Altoona, there are either $100 / night motels or $35.00 / night Motel 6. This place is very clean and maintained by a friendly staff. I’d stay there again.

Good Points: The price$. Within walking distance of many restaurants(Japanese Steak House, Hooters, Denny’s, Cracker Barrel, etc.), a movie theater, and grocery store. Two clothes washers and driers, good size room with couch and desk.

Bad Points: No internet (although at the next exit there is a Panera’s Bread Restaurant with excellent wireless and AC outlets), no breakfast (only mud coffee), only 6 TV channels (weather channel, HBO, 4 major networks), small bath towels, low shower heads in the bath. There is a secret "hip check" needed to use the ice machine.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveling_Hector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

We stayed at this property on August 18, 2006 on our way to Cleveland Ohio. On our way back from Cleveland on August 25 we stayed at this Motel again. Excellent for the price. We needed an inexpensive place to shower and sleep to continue on our trip the following day. The staff is nicely trained. They are very helpful and friendly. Nice clean outdoor swiming pool. NO HAIR DRYER, or IRON. Bring your own. All you get is a basic clean room. There is coffee 24/7. Altoona is an excellent town to stay since it offers many choices in terms of restaurants and fast food stablishments. If you need to do some shopping there are all kinds of stores in the area. Target, Wall Mart, JC Penney, Sears and many more. I would come back to this property if I needed a room for the night in Altoona.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sanabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Altoona
451 reviews
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
0.7 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
814 reviews
7.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Altoona

Address: 1500 Sterling St, I-99 at Exit #31, Altoona, PA 16602-2828
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Altoona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: $54 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Altoona 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Altoona PA welcomes our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable, pet friendly environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Altoona Hotel Altoona
Motel Six Altoona
Altoona Motel Six
Altoona Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing